We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.199 Handan Road, Shanghai, China, Shanghai 200433, China (Jiangwan / Wujiaochang)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #84 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel. It had the best buffet breakfast we experienced in our month long stay around China. The room was fine, clean and spacious, with an above average bathroom. Beds were not too hard.... Excellent fitness facilities, and the most lovely indoor pool! We found the location fine, in a quiet, safe and interesting neighborhood, a short walk from the wonderfully convenient and easy to use Shanghai subway. We found service to be excellent and attentive. We would definitely go back there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Recently Retired 2012, thank you very much for taking time to provide us the positive comments. We were pleased to read of your feed back regarding our hotel room, facilities and breakfast. Looking forward to welcome you back to experience the travelling for success with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    175
    27
    5
    0
See reviews for
26
36
12
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Very convenient hotel location if you are visiting Fudan University, it is just across the university. It has a nice pool and bar. Internet however has to pay extra. Clean and big room, breakfast has good variety and selection.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear C T, thank you very much for taking time to provide us the positive comments. We were pleased to read of your feed back regarding our hotel facilities and breakfast. Looking forward to welcome you back to experience the travelling for success with us in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great location if you are attending a course/conference at nearby Fudan University but a long drive in gridlock traffic from the Bund, Old Shanghai and other tourist spots. My room #1406 was large with a king size bed, flat screen TV, desk, coffee/tea service and bathroom with whirlpool tub, separate shower enclosure and toiletries but we wasted hours being driven through dense traffic to get to temples, gardens, markets and an evening acrobatic performance. This is too far out for tourists. There has to be a better location for tour groups. The hotel provided two bottles of water per person per day for drinking and brushing teeth since we were told it was not advisable to drink the tap water without boiling it first. The Crowne Plaza buffet breakfast was served in a sunny, ground-floor cafeteria with hot and cold Western and Chinese selections which included an omelet station and fresh pastries but coffee was a problem. Staff insisted in brewing and serving one cup at a time from a Nespresso coffee machine. It was painfully slow. Impatient diners got up and stood in line with an empty cup hoping to get in on the next dribble of caffeine. This could have turned real nasty real fast. Finally, a few coffee pots were distributed around the room but this bottleneck was almost as bad as the traffic jams on the roads. Stay here if you have an event at the university but tourists will find there is no easy access for sightseeing.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear xygb7dklt, thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan and taking time to provide us the valuable comments, we are glad to see that you were satisfied with our room and room facilities but we feel sorry that our coffee service in the morning left you an unpleasant experience in our hotel.

As part of our hotel standards, we try our best to ensure that your first coffee of the day is a freshly brewed coffee. Due to your comments, we will rethink our operational procedure and increase our speed of coffee service.

Furthermore, from now on we will prepare some coffee pots in advance in order to resolve this bottleneck during peak hours.

We will definitely take this opportunity to reinforce our training approach with the restaurant employees, in order to be more efficient and friendly as well to our customers.

Again, thank you for your loyalty to our group and we look forward to welcoming you arrive to our hotel next time you visit Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I would have given this hotel a 4 if it wasn't for the service. We arrived after midnight after a long day of excursions and traveling. When we checked in, it took a long time and then we were given 3 different rooms on 3 separate floors even though we are part of a group tour and all family! To make thing worse, the desk clerk wanted us to wait longer so that she can send someone up to the rooms to take all the beverages out of the mini-refrigerators so that our kids do not take them! How rude and insulting! They definitely do not have any consideration for travelers arriving so late at night. The rooms were nice enough and overall very clean and with good size bathrooms. The breakfast buffet was very extensive and had a decent selection. The only thing is the water tastes disgusting! Even the tea and coffee has the weird taste, almost like dirt. We stuck to our bottle waters and the juices. A very nice hotel marred by its service. Will probably not be my first choice if I ever get the chance to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear spunkymom2, thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan and taking time to provide us valuable comments.

We’re very sorry to know your unpleasant experience upon check in. we take it very seriously and We are now working our best to correct issues which could impact guest’s staying experience. Your comment is really helpful for us.

As for your experience in our restaurant, from my understanding of the problem, the water we use for our teas or coffees are coming from a separate purified water pipeline. The water is being inspected regularly a year by a quality controlling company and our filtration system in always in good condition. We will definitely take this opportunity to review all machines status again and try to understand better "the weird taste" you mentioned and fix it.

Again, thank you for bringing these up and helping us on improving our service quality in the hotel. Looking forward to welcome you back and see the improvement of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Let me start by saying that I am not a fan of large, impersonal business hotels, so this review may be a tad severe. I stayed at the Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan while attending a course at Fudan University, it was the obvious choice of accomodation given the purpose of my trip.
Positive notes:
- comfortable beds
- large, well appointed rooms
- clean bathrooms
- good breakfast, both the buffet and the room service
- helpful front-desk staff
- ideal location for Fudan U.
However, a few areas need more work:
- my room smelled damp for the entire duration of the stay. I don't know if it's because the room hasdn't been used in awhile or because the AC needed cleaning, but it was a very strong and ennoying smell.
- in order to cover the smell, I requested an aromatherapy burner as offered on the pillow menu, and each day I requested a refill. Communicating in English with Express Service on the phone was a real challenge; most days I ended up asking Reception to convey my request to the relevant people.
- communication problems also occured with some of the people working at the concierge desk.
- the Chinese food at the restaurant (a la carte & buffet) was disappointingly bland. Where are the tasty local specialities?
- I'm always somewhat disappointed when I have to pay for internet access in a business hotel, but I understand that opinions differ on that subject.

Overall an ok stay, but I wouldn't go back unless I had something to do in the Fudan U. area.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Dear Andreanne 75, thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan for your business trip and taking time to provide us valuable comments. As for the room smell you mentioned, we take it seriously and have asked our room attendants to pay attention, but if possible, we want to know the room number you stayed so we can check it in time.

About the communication issue, we will take more action with our training manager to improve staff's English skill, deeply sorry for any inconvenience we may cause for you.

For your food and beverage experience in our restaurant, we apologize if the food was not your taste. We have discussed with our chef and kitchen staffs undergo a consistent training program to ensure that the quality of the food remains high. Our menu does feature local delicacies such as Xiao Long Bao. Furthermore, if there is any thing else that you would like that is not on the menu, please let us know and we will do our utmost to prepare it for you.

Hope you could see our improvement in your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenyang, China
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I stayed here 4 days for my business trip last week and have good experience in Fudan Crown Plaza. Staff is nice and have good foresight, , breakfast is good, hotel room size is good enough and clean, but WIFI access via iPAD in room is slow.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Byron L, Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan and taking time to provide us the positive comments. We were pleased to read of your feed back regarding our rooms and breakfast. For the Wifi, actually we have taken some actions to raise the internet speed, hope you could feel the improvement in your next stay. Looking forward to welcome you back to experience the travelling for success with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here a cuple of days for my business trip. Since I travelling a lot and stayed in a lot of hotels, this hotel is highly recommend for business trip. Firstly, the price is reasonable, compared with many five star hotels in downtown, it's much cheaper, i mean you are on a business trip a comfortble room and good enviornment, that's enough, plus it's not that far away, about 20 minutes by taxi you may reach the bund. Secondly the sfaff i met are all very friendly, especially the housekeeping staff, they are always smile. Last but not the least, their breakfast is good, fresh squeezed juice, fired egg, fresh baked Croissant , that's all the energy element i need for a great start of a day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe Jean... L, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Carmen P, Thank you very much for staying at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan and taking time to provide us the positive comments. We were pleased to read of your feed back regarding our rooms and service and breakfast. Looking forward to welcome you back to experience the travelling for success with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan

Address: No.199 Handan Road, Shanghai, China, Shanghai 200433, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jiangwan / Wujiaochang
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#74 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#78 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#181 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 309
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Fudan Shanghai officially opened on the 12th June 2006Crowne Plaza Fudan is situated in the Yangpu district, opposite the prestigious Fudan University on Handan Road, the new opened Wanda commercial centre with Shopping Mall and Wal-Mart; easy access to Shanghai's CBD district, the Bund, Pudong and tourist attractions.At the Crowne Plaza Fudan, you'll enjoy a comfortable stay with attentive, courteous service and an impressive offering of business facilities and leisure venues. Crowne Plaza Fudan offers 309 elegantly appointed guest rooms with 34 suites each designed in a contemporary style. From our Standard, Premier and Crowne Plaza Club rooms to our spacious suites, each selection is sure to meet your needs.Committed to meeting the needs of the business traveler, Crowne Plaza Fudan offers an extended range of business services. From meeting venues featuring state-of-the-art audio-visual and communications systems to our Meeting Success program, we've got all your needs covered. What's more, we offer a host of leisure venues and concierge-arranged tours, adding additional enjoyment to your stay In bustling Shanghai, you'll agree The Place to Meet is Crowne Plaza Fudan Shanghai ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Shanghai Fudan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.