We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite hotel in a quiet and beautiful corner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pudi Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Pudi Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Pudi Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.99 Yandang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China (Huaihai Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #114 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exquisite hotel in a quiet and beautiful corner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Awesome hotel in a great location. The hotel is nicely tucked away from the bustling street yet within walking distance to the Huaihai shopping belt. You can walk along the quiet, shading and picturesque Nanchang Road, and discover the many exquisite shops and cafe.

The hotel reception staff are very friendly and helpful, and they speak English. On our arrival, we were surprised that they upgraded our (business) deluxe room to a business suite! (I suspect it's because I'm staying for a night and they have a spare room). The suite is on its top-most 7 floor and it has a awesome panoramic view of the old French concession residences from our super-king size bed. The toilet is as large as the bedroom and there's a small kitchenette (with sink and microwave) along the doorway corridor.

Definitely a great hotel for couples and travelers who would love the quiet and scenic surroundings of the hotel, and within walking distance to Huaihai luxury goods shopping belt, scenic Nanchang Road, Fuxing Park and the XinTiandi (restaurants and cafes).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    59
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
20
53
24
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Family of 4 stayed here in a studio suite for 4 nights.
The hotel is very arty and the rooms are big and very well fitted out. The location within the French concession is fantastic and the current ongoing renovations are hardly noticeable
The only issues here come down to the level of staff service.
Eg room booked for family a 4 only had one bed in it. After discussing with staff got an extra trundle bed and made up a day bed. Initially wanted RMB300 a night but waived this after discussion.
Receptionist tried to overly complicate our airport check in by suggesting emailing details to her. First gave wrong hotel email address and then was unable to process check-in. If she had listened to her customer, who knew what they were doing, it would have saved an hour of holiday time and a lot of angst.
Concierge invariably gave a general impression of a "can't do" attitude. Ie do it yourself. This was unexpected in a hotel of this price.
Overall a lovely hotel with great location but kinks in customer service need ironing out.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during June 2013 and where very surprised about this beautiful "design" style hotel at these prices. We where upgraded to a suite which was huge, I thing the bathroom alone was approx 40 square meters! Nicely situated next to Fuxing Park and only 100m from one of the main shopping districts of Shanghai! Unfortunately te restaurant was being rebuilt during our stay, so I can not share any comments on the restaurant, but if the quality is in expectation with the actual hotel I am convinced that you will enjoy your stay @ this "boutique/design" hotel

Room Tip: Corner suites are huge, I think about 90 square meters in total
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WGC - Hertfordshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Firstly do not be put off by the current hotel reception area which is small, it’s while the front of the hotel is being renovated. Due to delayed flights I arrived at 5am but the even then the check in was quick and simple.
This is probably one of the biggest rooms I have ever had in a hotel. On top of that, the bathroom was even bigger. Lovely rain fall shower and a big bath which can be a jacuzzi also. There is also a fish tank outside your room!
The bedroom is spacious with a big TV at the end of the bed and on the reverse side there is a selection of bottled spirits. There is an enclosed balcony with a long settee to lie on. But what really made this room different was the office area. There was a big desk, good WiFi access, a desk draw filled with all those little accessories, but to top it all there was also a printer!
Location wise it’s a short 5 minute walk to the restaurants and bars in Xintiandi. If you are a European guy on your own walking around this area in the evening you will be approached, so be aware.
I did not use the bar at night but did get breakfast. Good selection, but leave yourself time because its cooked to order and not quick. The waiters will push their French toast which is extremely good, but filling so don’t have with other food as well.
Only slight negative is that the rooms are quite dark, even with all the lights on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I think the word Boutique hotel is sometimes interpreted in the wrong way. Some hotels have taken that as permission to come up with themed decor that for most people seems odd but wait, its "boutique". Well, as a business traveller, 3 things I look for in a place I have to stay in, service, location and amenities.

Service
It is almost non-existent. There is someone to check you in, someone that delivers food to your room and someone that checks-you out. I had to kick the door of the hotel open to enter the lobby as I had both my hands full with my luggage. I also had to use my elbow to press the button to the elevator as I went up with my bags.There was only 1 concierge staff who actually greeted me in the 5 days I was there.

Location
The location is excellent. Its in a part of Shanghai where you can see nice old French architecture. There many restaurants to eat ant Fuxing Park is an invigorating place I could walk through to get to the office on Sinan road.

Amenities
The room was comfortably large with nice a spacious bathroom and a leather chaise placed near the window to lie down and read a book. Well reading would have been a nice thing to do but it was almost impossible with the bad lighting in the rooms, corridors and everywhere else I guess. When you're travelling for work, nights are when you're most productive with your emails, reading and preps for your next day. The darkened room made it very lethargic and hard to do any form of cognitive work. The lack of lighting also made the issue of cleanliness quite questionable as you think that every shadow on the ground is a stain. After a long day at work you always always look forward to a long warm shower. This was not a consistent occasion in my stay there as some nights the water was warm for the first 5 minutes than it was cold. Totally unacceptable.

I will probably end up staying here again in my next visit to Shanghai as its a 5-minute walk to the office. I hope things would have been improved if not I'll have to come better prepared with lower expectations.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you don't have to
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had two delightful nights here - most of it was excellent .

Location : super for business and enetertainment walking distance to Xintiandi and lovely to walk around the French concession - right next to a park.

Rooms: beautifully appointed & decorated - Very very spacious - in fact huge rooms - the bathrooms itself was the size of several HK/China rooms. Loved he funky digital 3D clock which throws the image on the ceiling. - very interesting to see a different fish tank outside every room.

Ate food twice - strangely both times the restauarnt was completely empty 9I wonder why) but the foods was pretty decent (had the Thai curry once which was delicious) , breakfast was ample .

The reception was helpful.

the only minor niggle was restaurant and bar close really early, reception feels empty like they are short staffed, even the restaurant seemed short staffed (maybe they manage with fewer people) but this was only my perception not that the service suffered in any way.

Would love to stay here again and definitely will.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The rooms: Yes, the rooms are cute, and are decently sized but that is all. You hear your neighbors walk on either side of you and above you... The walls and so thin and vents so big that you can hear your neighbors snoring and... well you get the point, lol. Not cool after a long day of negotiating... My shower didn't work at all and it took 4x for them to fix it (one time they were there for over an hour) and then all I had was steaming hot water in my whole room, making me go to other rooms to shower.
The food: As far as meals, the food really had little taste. And the staff tries to con you into buying cheaper meals by asking for cash and pocketing the money for themselves, not too cool when you are meeting with customers over a meal and have to negotiate the supposedly price fix meal. I preferred to walk around the corner and get local soup dumplings for 7rmb, but you should do what you think is right.

As far as the staff, the housekeeping people are quick and do a good job leaving the room clean, but that is it. The hotel staff can hardly speak English (except the GM who works like 2 days a week for 3 hours each day), and they try any chance they can to do little odd jobs for cash all while overcharging people...

I stayed 9 nights, and at checkout there were questionable things on my bill, so BE CAREFUL... overall I WOULD NOT RETURN, AND YOU SHOULD SPEND YOUR MONEY SOMEWHERE ELSE...

Room Tip: The staff seems to like bribes and cash...so bring ya money they are crooks here...lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pudi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudi Boutique Hotel

Address: No.99 Yandang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#98 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#135 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#247 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pudi Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pudi Boutique Hotel Shanghai is located near Fuxing Park, in the heart of the former French Concession area. The deluxe 8-storey hotel features 52 spacious European-style rooms, an executive lounge, cigar bar, meeting room and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Pudi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudi Boutique Shanghai
Shanghai Pudi Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pudi Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.