We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absoultely the rudest staff - Jinjiang Inn staff are much better” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pudi Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pudi Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Pudi Boutique Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.99 Yandang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China (Huaihai Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #127 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Absoultely the rudest staff - Jinjiang Inn staff are much better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed here on business for 2 nights. Had booked online and had some issues with the room configuration as they had not read the information from Agoda correctly. At approximately midnight whilst desperately wanting to get to bed after a long flight I had to have a heated discussion with the duty manager at the front desk.
I would advise any foreigners staying here who can't speak Chinese to avoid this hotel at all costs. The clerk at the front desk advised me that 400rmb in my own currency is nothing and that I should just pay the extra....
Jinjiang inn staff are far more friendlier which says a lot about this place seeing as it costs a lot more....

The room was ok. Cheesy decor with lots of innuendo - not sure who stays at this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPudiHotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir:

Thank you so much for post your comments here, also please accept our sincerest apologize. In fact it should be a misunderstanding in this case, because we did't communicate well with us and AGODA , that's really bring you and your family a lot of trouble. Of course we have some problem with our communication skill with our clients , so that we have organize a emergancy meeting afterwards about how to contact with agency on website , how to communication with guests , how to do anything with personality and flexibility . At last ,reallly sorry again for your unpleasant expierence and believe we will make a big change in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    62
    25
    12
    3
See reviews for
21
55
25
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were delayed on our flight over to Shanghai and arrived after 11pm at night. We had booked through Agoda and as I was travelling on business with my son, we wanted twin beds in the room and had booked this configuration both on the internet and specified in the special instructions. On arrival, we went to our room and it was one king size bed. As my son speaks Mandarin, he went to speak to the duty manager, who was extremely unhelpful and wanted us to pay extra for a twin bedded room. I would have thought that this is a very reasonable request. Eventually we were put into a twin room, but after a really unpleasant fight. This soured our experience. The duty manager made comments to the effect that the extra amount requested didn't amount to much in our currency, which I think is immensely insulting. The good things about the hotel is that it is in a nice area, close to the subway and the toiletries are L'Occitane. The decor in the rooms is by Western standards completely over the top and kitsch. Not many decent restaurants in the area as well.

Room Tip: Ensure you really get what you are booking else you may be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPudiHotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Madam & Sir:

Thank you so much for post your comments here, also please accept our sincerest apologize. In fact it should be a misunderstanding in this case, because we did't communicate well with us and AGODA , that's really bring you and your family a lot of trouble. Of course we have some problem with our communication skill with our clients , so that we have organize a emergancy meeting afterwards about how to contact with agency on website , how to communication with guests , how to do anything with personality and flexibility . At last ,reallly sorry again for your unpleasant expierence and believe we will make a big change in the near future .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago,illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I adored the location of this hotel. It is in the French Concession next to Fuxing Park. The park was my absolute favorite place in Shanghai. Each morning I could hear music wafting up softly from below and knew that the ballroom dancers, the singing groups, people practicing various forms of ancient martial arts, badminton players, kite fliers, speakers (pro and anti government), water-writers.....were all gathered. It is the most charming place. Women knit and chat and men drink tea and play Mahjong. It is the essence of tranquility. Now...the hotel itself. The rooms are quite lovely and filled with amenities and comfort. John, up in the beautiful restaurant/lounge, is reason enough to stay at the Pudi. He is the sweetest, kindest and most helpful man. He even arranged a visit to the hospital for me. I needed acupuncture and cupping having just been hit by a motorcycle in India. It WORKED! John's brother, Kevin, is absolutely wonderful. He has a tour company, mostly for Chinese tourists traveling abroad, but he can help organize your travel within China too. I adored these brothers.

My biggest criticism is the smoke in the lobby. It's horrible. The air quality in Shanghai is bad enough without employees smoking and filling the entire lobby. The front desk staff could use some training in customer service. All in all, I would stay there again because of John, the quality of the rooms and the location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We decided to stay in Pudi in resistance to going to the massive hotel chains on the Bund (don't listen to people telling you to stay on the Bund!). It was the best idea we could have. The hotel is in an excellent location close to (actually in) the french concession, Xiantandi, Tanzifang and walking distance to the People's Park. The hotel itself is modern, luxurious (for someone who doesn't normally stay in posh hotels) and we had the studio room, which was huge and had a little kitchenette and an amazing bathroom. The staff were all very helpful and spoke good english. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My wife an I found out we were pregnent here - so it's special to us. But, it will special to you for other reasons. The room and all its attributes are easy to find in photos and on their site. So, no need to repeat (aside from the fact they can make Eggs Benedict on order!). The key though is the LOCATION is the key. It's walking distance to 4 or 5 of the personalities of this amazing city...

i) the Park- and what a park. Morning and evenings are glorious for people watching, and all the other times are just peaceful and REAL as well. Flutes and lakes also dot parts of it.

ii) The winding neighbourhood road of Nanchang leads West to more little streets and more residential wanders.... it's on your doorstep.

iii) just North a 90 second walk is the beginning of a very international shopping street (uber odd supermarkets, nike, H&M, censored cinames) HuaiHai that has tentacles which span to number 4 below...

iv) The tentacles drip perpendicularly North to many little lanes of boutique shopping paradise for those looking to get something unique...

v) South through the park to another great neighbourhood are some stunning tea shops, book huts, and antique 'hoods....

All within walking distance.

Oh, I didn't mention the stratospherically chic Xintiandi area which is 5 mins East, or the efficient metro which is also a good 6-7 minute walk away.

Best. Location. Fathomable. And when you want the feeling of a completely other city, pop on the metro, go to the People's Park and the great museums, then the Bund for all that classic vs ostentatious business melange of the past century....

Room Tip: Look at them first... they have different styles. All bathrooms are amazing. Get one looking north s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

If you want to experience great service and be in a great location without having to pay excessive amounts this if the place.
It's not boutique. It does not have the exclusivity that the"superclass" might expect, but for the price you pay it represents great value. It's not 5 star but I have paid a lot more for a lot less. So relax and enjoy. Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

After two (excellent) "big hotel" experiences I was ready for a boutique hotel, and boutique hotel I did find in Pudi. It's actually on the bigger size of the usual BH I go to, more of a small hotel with a touch of luxury.

After lots of looking around I decided to go with it, an opted for a corner suite. We stayed there for 3 days in September 2010 and absolutely loved it! Very spacious, VERY big (long long hallway inside the suite), 3 different "areas" in the apartment: Bedroom, desk and sitting area (by the window) and a small table where you can have breakfast, grab a snack etc. The way the TV/Bar separates the suite is very clever and does create separate spaces. The bathroom is big as well, and gorgeous. The tub will take forever to fill. The only slight negative I remember about the room is that it looked a bit dark (lack of natural light) but then again it was raining pretty much every day. Can't think of a reason why it would be dark with windows from two sides but that still the memory I have.One advice for the room: book a high floor! I read about noise from the Karaoke bar downstairs and asked for a high floor room, which they accommodated (6th). We were fine, but could hear a fain noise (which didn't bother). We didn't try the restaurant do I can't comment. But it did look beautiful. And expensive.

The reception staff was nice, helped me with recommendation to a clinic as well as with directions, restaurants etc. There are a few places around where you can eat. But most of the time we just hopped to the French Quarters and tries wonderful little places there. Also had brunch twice at Kommune. Beautiful little place worth a stop. Or a rest if you are exploring the lanes nearby (an absolute must IMHO)

Would highly recommend it and stay there again. But shop around, the most interesting price wasn't directly with the hotel. I did book mine through hotels.com

Room Tip: Corner Suite was great. Ask for a high floor to avoid noise from the Karaoke Club downstairs. And sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TimPudiHotel, Front Office Manager at Pudi Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sir

We really appreciate you post comments and looking forward to see you soon in the near future. By the way, the Karaoke club has been moved away for almost 2 years, please don't worry about the noise. Thank you.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pudi Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pudi Boutique Hotel

Address: No.99 Yandang Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200020, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Huaihai Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#115 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#238 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pudi Boutique Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pudi Boutique Hotel Shanghai is located near Fuxing Park, in the heart of the former French Concession area. The deluxe 8-storey hotel features 52 spacious European-style rooms, an executive lounge, cigar bar, meeting room and business center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Pudi Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pudi Boutique Shanghai
Shanghai Pudi Boutique Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pudi Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.