We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel in Shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao to your Saves list
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2588 Yan'an West Road, Shanghai 201103, China (Hongqiao)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #92 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“5 star hotel in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel several times and I have to admit the service is simply excellent and the hotel staff is hospitable. Lobby is grand upon check in and staff were polite and quick in delivering the room keys. Lobby bar serves a good mix of alcoholic drinks as Chinese singers in cheongsam keep guests entertained. The hotel restaurant also serve a good buffet spread of international cuisines. Overall, rooms are clean with decent amenities provided for guests basic needs. Bed is comfortable and rooms are well maintained. Location wise, there is a mall beside the hotel with a big Carrefour supermarket and a decent food court serving Chinese food. Apart from that, getting to the main shopping district at Huai Hai Road and the city center by the famous bund is quite a distance. However, taxis are abundant in Shanghai and pose no problems zipping around this busy city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear LarryEng, many thanks for your kind comments in regards to your recent stay at our Hotel. We are happy to read that you found your way round Shanghai easily with Taxis to the various points of interest, as well as our Bar "Chatz". There is also Metro Line 10, which is a mere 5 min walk from the Hotel which is a direct access to HuaHuai Road, Xintiandi and East Nanjing Road.
Many thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back,
with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    138
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
10
14
20
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I happen to chance upon this hotel and find that the bed is actually a wooden board place on springs n top with a thick mattress protector.

I had a sleepless night due to the hard bed and to think that this is a top hotel in Shanghai.
I guess someone must have pocketed $$ from the mattress purchase and provided an inferior quality mattress in such a good hotel.

The last time I had such a mattress was 10 years ago in Shenzhen RMB100/night cheap motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Michael C, many thanks for taking your time out and for letting us know of your unsatisfactory sleep experience. Rest assured that we are focused on the satisfaction and a positive experience from our Guests. Steps are being taken to rectify this situation.
Despite this we trust that you enjoyed your stay in Shanghai and we look forward to welcome you soon.
with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, MI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was my first stay at the Millennium and would certainly stay here again when in Shanghai. A little disappointed that the hotel did not have a shop to purchase tissues and otc allergy medication, but was able to get what I needed at the Carrefour next door. Other than that I have no complaints about the room or the property in general.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Bob B,
many thanks for staying with us and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

For our Souvenir Shop we are currently sourcing a new Tenant, while they will be able to sell daily necessities, such as Tissues etc. it is however as per Government regulations not permitted to sell OTC medicines, these can only be sold at Pharmacies.

However am happy to read that you found the items at Carrefour right next door.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future, with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

the room is very nice and clean, providing bathrobe and dental kits everything. however it is really far away from airport and they do not provide shuttle bus. the staff over there should have show more about customer service. No free wifi in the room, you should pay for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Jessywen, many thanks for staying with us and sharing your experiences during your stay.
Pudong Airport is 45mins by direct highway and HonQiao Airport is 15mins also by direct highway. No Hotels in Shanghai offer currently a Shuttle Service at this time, although this is being evaluated.
For convenience we offer various room rates, some including WiFi and some with Breakfast which are advantageous and this still can be arranged upon check-in.
Rest assured that we dedicate ourselves to continuously improve our services and we would be pleased to welcome you back in the not too distant future, with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had a small billing error when I left. My firm had pre-paid the room but, upon checkout they did not have a record of payment and had me charge the stay to a personal credit card. The issue was resolved after I returned home. Otherwise a nice clean hotel, convenient to the metro. Breakfast was good, TV had american channels.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear easyman1211, many thanks for your stay and please accept our apologies for not crediting your account for the pre-payment which was received by us, however due to a miss-communication, this was not handled correctly. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the Hotels easy access location to the Metro. We look forward to welcome you back soon.
with best regards, Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Nice well set up rooms with desk, good comfortable beds, made it a good hotel and me a happy camper. Breakfast is much improved in variety and quality since my last visit. Impressed with the hotel and my stay there, strongly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Shrike2747, thanks for staying with us again and it is a pleasure to note that you noticed improvements and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future. With best regards, Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and very big. It had both a shower and a big bath.
The location for my purpose was great.
The service was very very good, the concierge had helped me with all my questions every time.
There's a beautiful garden behind the hotel

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Oded S, many thanks for your kind comments in regards to your recent stay with us.
All of us here look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future, with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao

Address: No.2588 Yan'an West Road, Shanghai 201103, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Hongqiao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#80 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#268 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hongqiao Shanghai
Shanghai Millennium Hongqiao Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.