We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star hotel in Shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao to your Saves list
Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2588 Yan'an West Road, Shanghai 201103, China (Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Sales from CNY600++
Ranked #79 of 4,068 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“5 star hotel in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed in this hotel several times and I have to admit the service is simply excellent and the hotel staff is hospitable. Lobby is grand upon check in and staff were polite and quick in delivering the room keys. Lobby bar serves a good mix of alcoholic drinks as Chinese singers in cheongsam keep guests entertained. The hotel restaurant also serve a good buffet spread of international cuisines. Overall, rooms are clean with decent amenities provided for guests basic needs. Bed is comfortable and rooms are well maintained. Location wise, there is a mall beside the hotel with a big Carrefour supermarket and a decent food court serving Chinese food. Apart from that, getting to the main shopping district at Huai Hai Road and the city center by the famous bund is quite a distance. However, taxis are abundant in Shanghai and pose no problems zipping around this busy city.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LarryEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear LarryEng, many thanks for your kind comments in regards to your recent stay at our Hotel. We are happy to read that you found your way round Shanghai easily with Taxis to the various points of interest, as well as our Bar "Chatz". There is also Metro Line 10, which is a mere 5 min walk from the Hotel which is a direct access to HuaHuai Road, Xintiandi and East Nanjing Road.
Many thanks for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back,
with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I happen to chance upon this hotel and find that the bed is actually a wooden board place on springs n top with a thick mattress protector.

I had a sleepless night due to the hard bed and to think that this is a top hotel in Shanghai.
I guess someone must have pocketed $$ from the mattress purchase and provided an inferior quality mattress in such a good hotel.

The last time I had such a mattress was 10 years ago in Shenzhen RMB100/night cheap motel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Michael C, many thanks for taking your time out and for letting us know of your unsatisfactory sleep experience. Rest assured that we are focused on the satisfaction and a positive experience from our Guests. Steps are being taken to rectify this situation.
Despite this we trust that you enjoyed your stay in Shanghai and we look forward to welcome you soon.
with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, MI
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This was my first stay at the Millennium and would certainly stay here again when in Shanghai. A little disappointed that the hotel did not have a shop to purchase tissues and otc allergy medication, but was able to get what I needed at the Carrefour next door. Other than that I have no complaints about the room or the property in general.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Bob B,
many thanks for staying with us and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

For our Souvenir Shop we are currently sourcing a new Tenant, while they will be able to sell daily necessities, such as Tissues etc. it is however as per Government regulations not permitted to sell OTC medicines, these can only be sold at Pharmacies.

However am happy to read that you found the items at Carrefour right next door.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future, with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

the room is very nice and clean, providing bathrobe and dental kits everything. however it is really far away from airport and they do not provide shuttle bus. the staff over there should have show more about customer service. No free wifi in the room, you should pay for it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessywen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Jessywen, many thanks for staying with us and sharing your experiences during your stay.
Pudong Airport is 45mins by direct highway and HonQiao Airport is 15mins also by direct highway. No Hotels in Shanghai offer currently a Shuttle Service at this time, although this is being evaluated.
For convenience we offer various room rates, some including WiFi and some with Breakfast which are advantageous and this still can be arranged upon check-in.
Rest assured that we dedicate ourselves to continuously improve our services and we would be pleased to welcome you back in the not too distant future, with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Had a small billing error when I left. My firm had pre-paid the room but, upon checkout they did not have a record of payment and had me charge the stay to a personal credit card. The issue was resolved after I returned home. Otherwise a nice clean hotel, convenient to the metro. Breakfast was good, TV had american channels.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank easyman1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear easyman1211, many thanks for your stay and please accept our apologies for not crediting your account for the pre-payment which was received by us, however due to a miss-communication, this was not handled correctly. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of the Hotels easy access location to the Metro. We look forward to welcome you back soon.
with best regards, Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore City, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Nice well set up rooms with desk, good comfortable beds, made it a good hotel and me a happy camper. Breakfast is much improved in variety and quality since my last visit. Impressed with the hotel and my stay there, strongly recommended

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrike2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Shrike2747, thanks for staying with us again and it is a pleasure to note that you noticed improvements and that we met your expectations. We all look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future. With best regards, Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

The room was clean and very big. It had both a shower and a big bath.
The location for my purpose was great.
The service was very very good, the concierge had helped me with all my questions every time.
There's a beautiful garden behind the hotel

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Oded S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MillenniumHQShanghai, General Manager at Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Oded S, many thanks for your kind comments in regards to your recent stay with us.
All of us here look forward to welcome you back in the not too distant future, with best regards
Rene Teuscher, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
Hilton Shanghai Hongqiao
#61 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 642 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
Grand Mercure Shanghai Hongqiao
#124 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Renaissance Shanghai Yangtze Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
Hong Qiao State Guest Hotel
#127 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel
Sheraton Shanghai Hongqiao Hotel
#141 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 679 reviews
Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
Shanghai Marriott Hotel Hongqiao
#105 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao

Address: No.2588 Yan'an West Road, Shanghai 201103, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Gubei / Hongqiao / Minhang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#76 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#80 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#160 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 368
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Grand Millennium Shanghai HongQiao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Hongqiao Shanghai
Shanghai Millennium Hongqiao Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing