We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anting Villa Hotel - Our first taste of China” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anting Villa Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anting Villa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anting Villa Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.46 Anting Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China (Hengshan Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #137 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Anting Villa Hotel - Our first taste of China”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent two nights at the Anting Villa Hotel, Shanghai at the start of our two week sightseeing trip with Wendy Wu Tours. As first time visitors to mainland China, arriving in Shanghai was a bit of an eye opener - despite having read about it and seen images of the futuristic cityscape with its glass skyscrapers, monorails and motorways, we were completely blown away by the sheer scale and contemporary feel of the place. So we were surprised when we arrived at the Anting Villa Hotel, looking quaint and colonial, standing elegantly in its own gardens amongst the surrounding hustle and bustle of Shanghai.
As access to the hotel is via a side street there was no disturbance from traffic and it was just a couple of minutes walk to the local bars, restaurants and convenience stores - as we enjoy a bit of the local nightlife we found it to be ideal. Service within the hotel was efficient and helpful even though very little English is spoken by anyone with the exception of front line staff.
Our room was fairly large with all the usual mod-cons including fridge, safe, internet access, tea/coffee and TV (only CNN in English). There is a large balcony to the room although access to it was locked - it looked as though it was shared with the neighbouring room. The bathroom was modern and very clean.
Breakfast was a selection of Chinese dishes and one or two more familiar western style foods such as scrambled eggs or fresh fruit. Seating was arranged around several large circular tables so it was always necessary to just find a couple of seats amongst the other guests, a lot of whom were also on a tour as well, so it wasn't too bad.
The Anting Villa Hotel turned out to be a good base for our stay in Shanghai but as our daytime excursions were already organised as part of our tour, we couldn't really comment on its location for access to public transport.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    48
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
22
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liphook, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were on our first visit to China and arrived in Shanghai, after a delayed flight, to be greeted at Pudong Airport with rain, fog, smog and darkness although it was only about 6:00 pm. This made us think "what are we doing here?"

We were transferred by taxi to the Anting Villa Hotel, where we were staying. On arrival after about an hour, we were made to feel very welcome and our opinion of Shanghai quickly changed. The hotel is situated in a quiet area and we were given a large room which had every facility often lacking in some hotels. These included free Internet access from our room and electric sockets to suit seemingly any appliance without the use of adaptors, even a UK socket that I have seen only rarely in hotels overseas.

Despite our late arrival, we were able to get a hot meal in the hotel's restaurant and all the staff were charming. We had a good night's sleep in a bed that did not seem to be as hard as those we had been warned about in China.

The breakfast offered was a mixture of western and Chinese. On reflection after we had returned to the UK, that in the Anting Villa was better for the western palate than the other hotels we stayed in during our tour of China.

The hotel was situated in pleasant gardens and was generally clean, comfortable and well looked after. We were happy that we stayed here for our first days in China.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bright, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Anting Villa Hotel was the best Hotel on our 28 day tour of China. Rooms are very modern for Chinese standards very comfortable beds nice views of the surrounding area would be nice if you had access to the verandah but they will not open them for you, beautiful gardens to enjoy 5 minute walk to a few local pubs which is a great way to finish the trip with the rest of your family, only gripe is only one coffee machine in the morning which means a long line for that morning fix.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A month in China and this was a little gem at the end of the trip. With a touch of colonial 'class' throughout from the fountains with their own sound and light show to the small 'touches' in the bathroom. Even the shirts got an iron! Free and good WiFi and large 'soft' (for China) beds! Buffet breakfast more than adequate for we westerners. Two bars though we only used the lobby bar once as someone discovered the local friendly bars 5 minutes away (left and left from the hotel). There was a wedding taking place in the grounds on one evening which made the grounds look very special. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was a great base from which to explore Shanghai. It was clean, comfortable and well cared for. The rooms were large and with a balcony, although access was difficult as the doors were locked and we never got round to getting a key! Set in the old French quarter of the city it was a world away from the lights and sky scrapers mof the newer developments. Just around the corner from the hotel, next to the Polish Embassy, was a great bar with good music (jazz), a friendly atmosphere and a pleasant garden in which to while away an evening hour.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights as part of an organized tour of China. Located in pleasant, well-tended grounds on a quiet street on the fringe of the city centre, the Anting Villa provides a good night's sleep in a comfortable environment. The room was well-equipped and, in many ways, could have been in any modern mid-range hotel in a city suburb anywhere in the world, Breakfast in the restaurant provided an eclectic and slightly eccentric mix of European and Oriental choices, but gave a good start to the day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

First hotel in China where we were welcomed by all the staff with a friendly smile including the gardeners. Lovely setting with courtyard and gardens. Spacious public spaces with free internet access room. Bedrooms spacious with all facilities including iron and ironing board, sewing kits etc. Multiple choice of TV programmes including live Sky Sports coverage of Premier League matches. Breakfast facilities good with waffle machine.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the gardens. Balconies not accessible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anting Villa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anting Villa Hotel

Address: No.46 Anting Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Location: China > Shanghai > Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#147 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anting Villa Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a commanding facade and lush green lawns, Anting Villa Hotel in Shanghai, China, blends perfectly with Hengshan Road's magnificent buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Anting Villa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
An Ting Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anting Villa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.