We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JD&HB Australia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Island Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Island Resorts to your Saves list
Sun Island Resorts
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.2588 Shentai Road, Qingpu District, Shanghai 201714, China   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,164 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“JD&HB Australia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed 7 nights at resort. The staff were helpful and obliging but the language barrier was a challenge (we had lots of laughs). They were always friendly and pleasant, which is a credit to management.

Location was good away from the hussel and hectic pace of the city, having just been in Beijing and Xian. However, there is little to no activities at the resort during the week as the resort mainly caters for week end golfers or short term stays of a day or two.

The only option for dinner is the Chinese Resturant if you wanted to eat after 7 pm, which after a day sightseeing was when we wanted to eat. The menu was typically Chinese with no western options. We did not eat the turtle, bull frog or pidgeon and stayed with the beef, duck and pork and rice. I will say what we had was very nice. Additionally, you also had to be finished by 9pm.

Getting a cocktail was a challenge. The bar was either closed, or they did not know how to make what was on the drinks menu.

My husband and I found the beds hard (the concrete floor was softer), my sister and husband found them bearable. I know the harder beds are the norm in Asia, but I thought consideration would have been given for western preference.

Last comment, the location and staff were great. The resort atmosphere was relaxing and it was very clean. The young caddy master was very helpful and patient with the boys when they played golf and they appreciated his advise. The golf course is magnificent and a credit to the management. The spa and massage facility was very good.

Room Tip: The king rooms we stayed in were very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    46
    17
    6
    5
See reviews for
12
15
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Sun Island is a perfect getaway for a group of friends or team building.
They have horse riding, go-karts, golf, swimming (indoor pool and wave pool), numerous restaurants, family friendly and English language karaoke, and quaint villas.
I stayed a night with friends, and was also impressed by the reasonable prices for meals - they remoteness means that they hold a monopoly, so I expected a considerable mark-up. That was not the case.

My only con was that the gym and pool opened at 10 am, so there was no chance to get in some 'wellness' before the kids woke up.

Over all, a reasonably priced getaway only one hour from Shanghai.

Room Tip: Some of the villas have been renovated in 2012, so ask for one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We had a van picking us up from another hotel in Shanghai. It took us directly to the lobby of the resort. We had a member of staff assigned to take care of us - Elaine. She was lovely and very helpful. She changed our accomodation from 2 separte villas for one bigger, because the two smaller ones weren't next to each other. She also went with us to the local store and market to help us with Chinese products, arranged transportation to the city etc.
There's a shuttle that can take you to any part of the resort after you call the reception desk, which is very convenient, coz the resort is huge.
The main drawback of Sun Island is the distance from the city. There a small village nereby but we didn't get a chance to explore it much more than when we went shopping with Elaine.
It is a nice place with really good service considering Chinese standards and good facilities. Villas are well-equipped and clean. However the resort will require renovation pretty soon. There are a lot Chinese guests so it's not very international.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

I made a reservation by e-mail. I ask for a pick up. But nobody showed up at the appointed time. So we need to take a taxe to go there.
This was only the start of really bad experience.
As we arrived, we were informed, the swimming pool is out of service. Furthermore, out of the 6 restaurants, only 2 were in operation.
The room they gave us, was quite ok: nothing special, but everything we need were there. The room was clean, the beds were good.
We took a lunch in the the Western Restaurant. The value for the money was not so good.
We tried out the Go-Karts. THis was okay. I have senn better, but alos worse maintained karts and tracks in Shanghai.
We decided to take a nap and than go to have a massage. They had a good package, what was a bit expensive (300 RMB/2 massages), but the massage was ok.
After that we want go dining and were informed: the restaurant closed at 7pm. They also had no room service. There was another chinese restaurant, closing at 8:30. The food there was compared with the price not acceptable.
Next morning I want to golf, but can't take my gf with me.
After this experience and the ignorance of the staff, we decided to leave as soon as possible.
It was one of my worst service experience in the last years.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed there for the new year in a Sun Villa (3 bedroom) with friends&family.

Pros,
It is a short getaway from Shanghai (about an hr drive) and you are transported into a serene settings with a villas, golf courses and a nice spa.

While there are plentyful of villas (looks like a timeshare) in this huge place they have a good shuttle service which arrives in just about few mins to take you into the activities area...

The front office staff was nice, couple of decent english speaking people and they are very good in accomodating requests..

The spa was wonderful and we took a hot springs blocked for our family alone..Nice touch..

The activities for the kids are limited but it is good enough for couple of days stay i.e Horse Riding, Go Carting, Speed boating and cycling...

Cons
Some of the villas are not refurbished so if you are trying this place go for a new/refurbished villas....

We were hoping a lot in the Mao Pagoda like going up etc, but it was just a old pagoda which was redone..The surrounding spots in the pagoda gives a great feel..

Thanks to the staff in the shanghai (Lay Ling, Nikki) who were very nice and responsive..

Room Tip: Refurbished Rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Company's annual meeting was held at Sun Island. Like the balcony where we get to enjoy the panoramic golf course view. The coffee break selection is very different from what we had at other hotels, asked my leader and she explained that it was a wellness themed coffee break. The place is rather quiet and dark at night. We spent 2D1N there. Did horse riding for the first time, it was fun.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

It was about a year ago since I visit Sun Island. I came back for a relaxing weekend because of the historical and the cultural atmosphere the island has.

I have always been interested in the Chinese history and culture and fell in love with the ancient Mao Pagoda at first sight. It is said that the Mao Pagoda’s existence was dated back to the Tang Dynasty and it is one of the five ancient lighthouses left in China. The Mao Pagoda Square manifests a strong historical atmosphere and gives me a sense of peace and tranquility. I heard from the staff that ancient poets came to the island in search of inner peace and inspiration and now it is used for Taichi and meditation on the island.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Island Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Resorts

Address: No.2588 Shentai Road, Qingpu District, Shanghai 201714, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Shanghai
#111 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#278 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Resorts 4*
Number of rooms: 453
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Island Resorts, Shanghai is a leisure and wellness resort destination, located just outside of Shanghai city, surrounded by lush greenery and the Mao River, upstream of Huangpu River. The resort is a perfect escape from the busy streets of Shanghai with just 50-minute drive from Shanghai city or Pudong International Airport.With two 18-hole international golf courses, a man-made beach with wave pool and wide range of activities such as horse riding, handicraft workshop, yacht cruise and go-kart, the resort is an ideal getaway for the holidaymakers. The Wellness Research Centre on the island integrates Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) into spa treatments coupled with nutrition and wellness programme such as yoga and meditation to further enhance your wellbeing, is a sanctuary for guests to rejuvenate. With its iconic Mao Pagoda overlooking the island, one of the five ancient lighthouses left in China, ancient food streets and plenty of space, Sun Island Resorts, Shanghai offers a unique venue for teambuilding, incentive parties with an Oriental theme and for events and exhibitions. The Sunshine conference center in the resort offers state-of-the-art conference facilities for up to 500 people with ample meeting rooms for break out sessions or intimate high-powered meetings. Sun Island Resorts, Shanghai is an ideal getaway destination for guests looking to rejuvenate from the pressures of the big city and for corporate meetings and retreats to recharge the team for future challenges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sun Island Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Island Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.