We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views from top floor rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanxi Business Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Shanxi Business Hotel to your Saves list
Shanxi Business Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.658 Yan'an Middle Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200000, China (Nanjing West Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #281 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing views from top floor rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

This was our first stop on a Wendy Wu tour. Upon arrival we were originally given a smoking room on the 9th floor- smelt like an ash tray and was small and gloomy. After speaking to reception we were upgraded to an executive non smoking room on the 13th floor. Amazing views of the city from huge windows full length of the room. Well worth paying for an upgrade if you dont get allocated one. Only problem was that the room was noisy due to the traffic, but ear plugs did the trick. We discovered from other wendy wu guests, that if u had a room even higher, the windows had a second layer of double glazing, which shut out any noise.
Very comfortable kingsize bed and modern bathroom,with lots of complimentary items. Tea and coffee facilities and mini bar( all chargeable but very reasonably priced.
As i was waiting on my lost luggage from Air China, we chose to eat in the hotel restaurant, as we had booked an extra night before our tour started.
There was no english menu but pictures of every dish , so easy to order. We chose 4 dishes plus rice and 2 large bottled beers. The bill was aprox £20, and the food was tasty and generous portion sizes.Staff used google translator to communicate with us, which we appreciated.
The restaurant and bar closes at 10pm, which is typical throughout China. The guy behind the bar was not particularly friendly, but it had good wi fi reception and prices werent bad. Dont expect to get wine in China, its not common, mostly bottled beers and spirits on offer at bars and restaurants, with a few exceptions.
Breakfast room was nice, cornflakes,fruit,yoghurt,croissants and jams. Bacon,boiled eggs, beans,frankfurter sausages. Huge selection of chinese dishes if u fancy that for breakfast.Also there was a station for fried eggs and omelete and a toast machine.Fresh orange,coffee and tea, although i couldnt find a decent coffee anywhere but international coffee shops throughout China.
Dry cleaning service available . Tv was large flat screen but only CNN in english.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on 13th floor and upwards to avoid smoking rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    51
    27
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
15
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Good value for money, I have been in some better but defiantly been in a lot worse (even in Australia). The bed was the best so far in China. Good locality close to the CBD and tourist attractions and the room was very quiet considering on a main road.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

First stop on our China Wendy Wu Tour. This was a high standard hotel for our stay in Shanghai. We had a good clean room with a comfortable, soft mattress. Apparently unusual in China. Breakfast was good, buffet style. Chinese or western food. Eggs to order.
Only negative. Tea and coffee facilities available in the room. But if you use the coffee bags, you will be charged as a mini-bar item. If you look very closely on the container you will see tiny faded price for the coffee bags only. Staff helpful. But not as good as the two Wendy Wu Tour guides, WeiWei, the National guide and Alison the local representative. Both were excellent and worked very hard, even chasing up our luggage which arrived 24 hours later from Qatar Airways.

Room Tip: Beware mini-bar charge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Perfectly located at Yan'an Middle Road. 15 minutes walk to Subway Line 2. Several Restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Quiet Hotel as no KTV (regular visitors to China know what I mean) Best price/service in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The room we had for the first two night was very tired and the carpet was disgusting. All fitments were very old fashioned. The keys did not work in the doors on both days. On the third day the room would not lock. After some debate at the desk we were moved - rather we had to take our bags etc - to another room. However this was an infinitely superior executive room. Result! This was more like what we had expected from conversation with other guests. Breakfast was 'of its type' but a fresh omelette gave us a good start and waiting staff in the restaurant were very pleasant. We discovered a few small shops nearby for fruit, beer and also an excellent bakery with delicious fruit bread. Overall it was OK.

Room Tip: Get an exec room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here S part of a Wendy Wu tour. I paid for the first night separately and for a higher class hotel room which I didn't get. The hotel was pretty good for basic amenities. I paid for a business room, but because I was joining a tour group was given an inferior room. The reception staff on arrival at the hotel was rude and unhelpful. Most of the staff seemed to have limited English. My room was supposed to have internet access at least for the first night, but that didn't happen. Decided it wasn't worth the hassle of trying to communicate the problem. I did discover the next day that internet access is available in the lobby, but they don't give that information away freely either. Apart, from that the room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom a little on the small side, but ok. The food was ok in the breakfast room, but a little more research on what is expected for westerners might be a good idea.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel twice and I like it for several reasons: First, the rooms are great. They are clean and the carpet did not seem dirty. The shower had good water pressure with plenty of hot water. Most importantly, they have comfortable western style mattresses. Most Chinese hotel beds are very hard (actually, most Chinese beds are hard) and I like to sleep in a good bed when I am traveling. Second, there is a nice selection of western and Chinese dishes for breakfast. I particularly like the coffee. There was also a lot of fresh fruit. Third, there is now free wifi on the first four floors of the hotel, which was nice after our long flight from the United States. I think you could pay more and get wifi from the rooms. There is an ATM right in the lobby and the reception staff was happy to change dollars if you needed to. The biggest negative of this hotel is its location. There is nothing nearby but the subway it a 10 minute walk away. For the price (around 600 RMB), I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Request a high floor to have a nice view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanxi Business Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanxi Business Hotel

Address: No.658 Yan'an Middle Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200000, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Nanjing West Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 3,933 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shanxi Business Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shanxi Business Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanxi Business Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.