We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street to your Saves list
Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   No.680 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #567 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2008

I stayed in three different hotels in China and this one was the worst one by far. The concierge was unwilling to answer any questions most of the time. The wall in the room was strained and dirty. there was no safe in the room and felt unsafe to leave important belongings in the hotel. Also, at night it was very noisy due to ongoing construction at night. I was going to stay 5 nights but I left on the 3rd day for a better hotel for the same price.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    88
    24
    11
    11
See reviews for
9
22
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2008

The Hotel is currently undergoing renovation on the third floor.

We ended up in a twin room on the floor with the most construction (including exposed live wires all over the place ) - having to walk though a building site to get from Reception to our room....no attempt made by staff to move us to another room. Also found a cockroach had decided to pay us a visit

The staff are surly and unhelpful - we asked about acrobatic shows and they just shrugged their shoulders, said didn't know and then continued chatting amongst themselves

Only redeeming thing about this Hotel is the location

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2008

Thank you to the previous reviewer for putting us on to this small chinese business hotel on Nanjing Road. We booked this hotel for four nights through expedia.com. We picked the cheapest room at the time which was a twin. It cost us $US 47 per night although you may be able to negotiate a cheaper rate if you showed up at the desk and asked. It is situated at 680 Nanjing Road in an older buliding with a clock tower. Actual hotel is on the second floor. Access is through an arcade/mall selling mens clothing, about half way down the building on the Nanjing street side. there is a large sign posted on the street, but you may get somewhat distracted by many people shouting "dvd,shoes,t shirts! You want buy" as you maneuver your luggage up the street. When you finally find the arcarde/mall, walk in and catch the elevator on right to second floor hotel reception.

Check in took about 15 minutes and desk staff spoke sufficent english to transact the deal. Stayed in room 410. It faced onto the street with great views of the action. There is a constant faint background street noise coming into the room from about 7.00am to 11.00pm and also ocassional bursts of music from the street during the day. It is kind of exciting to be in the middle of it all. After 11.00pm the sound dies away and because the street is for pedestrians only, you get a peaceful nights sleep.

Rooms are modern and compact. Bathroom is small but perfectly acceptable. Loads of hot water and no plumbing/drainage problems. Rooms are warm and beds are hard but we slept very well with nice duvet/comforter provided. TV in room with no english channels. Small bar fridge and a chaise lounger squeezed in one corner. Small work desk with plug in ethernet connection at 100 MBITS. Internet usage was free and speed not too bad.

Hotel provides a train ticket/tour booking service off to the right side of the reception desk in a small room/office. The woman who handles this service speaks some english, is very helpful and amusing and will charge a very small commission to arrange train tickets in one day. She will also arrange a taxi to your next port of call if need be.

The hotels central location on Nanjing Rd puts you closer to the usual tourist sites. On foot the Bund is 10 minutes, Yuyuan Gardens 20 minutes, Museum 15 minutes. Beginning of French Concession about 30 minutes. Starbucks is across street and a choice selection of quick food choices are within five minutes.

Taxis are cheap and plentiful on Central Zhejiang street outside hotel or Xiang Rd 5 minutes west. Just make sure to get someone at reception to write down your destination on a piece of paper because taxi drivers will not speak english. Don't forget to take your hotel business card and address with you or it will be a long walk back.

I didn't give this hotel an excellent rating because of the daytime street noise which some may find annoying but we would definately stay there again, when back in Shanghai. If your interested in an alternative hotel, check out my review for The Astor House Hotel.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Street noise
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

We really enjoyed our stay at the East Asia Hotel. It was really affordable at 380 RMB for a double room facing Nanjing Road. Some people found the road side to be a bit noisy but the noise always died down by 10pm. Besides, you're in a big city not the country so we found it tolerable.

The location was perfect as it was in one of the central shopping areas of Shanghai and one of the more touristy areas if that is what you are looking for. It is also only a 10 minute walk to the Shanghai Museum and 5 minute walk from the Metro. The metro is only 1 or 2 stops away from both the Shanghai North Train station as well as the French Concession.

The rooms were very clean with a nice hot shower. Everything was modern and nothing was dingy or outdated. The hotel staff was very accommodating and they even have a ticket booking agency for train and plane tickets (something that a 4 star hotel that we had previously stayed at didn't have).

We would definitely recommend this place and stay here again.

  • Liked — Great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

Good Location - located along the famous Nanjing Dong Road. Near People's Park, the Museum, Shopping Malls, loads of eating establishments and near the subway!

For its price,the room ain't too bad. Its not very big, but with enough space to move around. However, the cupboard was small though - with insufficient space to hang coats and clothes, for 2 staying 6 nts. The rooms smelt a little damp and the walls were thin, i could hear the service staff chatting in a service room located next to my room & other hotel guests talking (but thankfully this did not happen too often). The window in my room was sealed shut, but overlooked that service area.

However, the room was clean and bedlinen and towels were changed daily (despite the note left on the beds informing the staff not to change the linen and towels) The toilet was clean, spacious and came with soap dispensers and toothbrushes. TV had >20+ Chinese Channels.

Would stay there again for a return visit.

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

This hotel was recommended by a friend. For the price, the hotel is a great bargain. It's located right on the center of Nanjing road inside a row of clothing shops. The Bund is easily walkable from this hotel. The room I stayed in was big and clean. Unfortunately, loud karoake music blasts during mid-afternoon and lasts past midnight. Fortunately the music stopped when I was getting ready for bed. The internet computer is slow but works. All in all a decent property especially for such a low price tag.

  • Liked — cheap rates and free internet
  • Disliked — noisy karoake music late into the night
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2007

I thought of booking this hotel because of it's location - Nanjing road. Big mistake! Hotel is old and room is small and dirty. Paper-thin walls and floors! You can hear the voices,movements from rooms above, beside and opposite. We didn't get any sleep at all in our 3 nights stay there. The karaoke joint in the next building or wherever (didn't bother to check where the sound was coming from) blared from mid-evening to dawn. Breakfast buffet was unappetizing, cold, and limited. The bread were stale! It didn't help that the staff were unapproachable and uncommunicative. I can only commend the Bell Hop who can got us a taxi for the airport. When you step out of the hotel, wham!, you breathe the smoke-filled air. The air really stunk of smoke! My allergic rhinitis acted up in Shanghai.
The only good thing about this hotel was that it was cheap. But on hindsight, it was not at all worth it.
If you would still like to be near Nanjing road, I recommend Ramada Hotel as the back of the hotel is off Nanjing.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street

Address: No.680 Nanjing East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #567 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street 2*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest and most famous hotels in Shanghai, China, Jin Jiang East Asia has been offering comfort to traveling businessmen and tourists since 1914. Located in the Nanjing East Road shopping district, it promises guests a convenient stay in this 164-room hotel in Shanghai while being close to many of the city's business and leisure centers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Jin Jiang East Asia
East Asia Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jinjiang Inn Shanghai Nanjing Road Pedestrian Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.