We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, close to the River and shopping. Nice breakfast.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel to your Saves list
Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.386 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #381 of 3,971 Hotels in Shanghai
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel, close to the River and shopping. Nice breakfast.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel is a great example of a chinese hotel. Good service, the price is very nice compared to back home in Canada.
They serve a western style breakfast which comes included in the hotel price.
Across the road is a cool area for shopping packed with tourists, a very nice garden area. Walking distance to the boardwalk that runs along the River Bund.

Whenever i am in Shanghai i stay at this hotel.
The front desk staff can speak English, so be very nice to them, as you will have many questions i am sure..haha

Room Tip: I like to get a suite, bigger rooms make a longer stay more enjoyable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    82
    36
    12
    5
See reviews for
20
36
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suwon, South Korea
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Location is very good. very close bund and Yu garden and metro station.
but, staff's service is awful.
I requested one extra bed but it is not ready.
Wireless Internet is NOT available in the room.
If i visit shanghai again, I will stay other hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel near the Bund and Yuyuan Garden. From the lobby in the night it is possible to watch the great spectacle of lights from skyscrapers.
The breakfast is abundant and very good. The rooms are very nice and comfortable. Recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is indeed really near Yuyuan Gardens (less than 5 mins, about 1-2 streets away)

However, the hotel main lobby is on a small road called renmin road which I took a really longggg time to locate at first!

It is in the same building as a wholesale mall selling beads, threads, embroidery and sewing equipment, but on the opposite side.

As for the room, it is clean and big, with a study table, chairs, and a balcony too.
I suppose if u dun want ur room to smell foul, do request for a non-smoking room..!

Early check-in is possible too for no additional charge as I managed to check-in at about 8am in the morning :)

Overall, I had a good stay at the oriental bund..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location is good by Yu Garden and the Bund, but this is not a 4-star hotel as advertised. Please take seriously other reviews that mention how hard the bed is -- it is truly liking sleeping on concrete. Both check-in and check-out were not handled very professionally -- customer service not strong suit of hotel. English of staff is limited. Rooms are a bit cramped, bathroom small but newly renovated. For me, the uncomfortable bed and the fact that the room temp could not be adjusted negatively impacted my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh, scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The hotel's biggest selling point is it's location, within easy walking distance of the Yuyuan gardens (keep off the grass or face the wrath of a park attendant armed with a whistle) and the Bund's traditional shopping area. The views (from room 1221 etc) are fantastic, both during the day and at night .Rooms are very well equipped, down to including important items like free bottled water as well as things like a stapler, glue, matches etc. Whilst a hair drier is provided an adjacent mirror isn't, requiring one to kneel in front of the minibar ( perhaps whilst also consuming one of it's cans of Tsing Tao beer at approx £1.50) to use the mirror above it. The rooms are kept very clean. However the same cannot be said of the restaurant, with no evidence of floor and tables being cleaned on any regular basis. Breakfast is somewhat shambolic as you have to collect your own cutlery and pour your own tea/coffee, and the lack of any European dishes apart from fried eggs (which the chef expertly uses chopsticks to turn), ham and beans. English is not widely spoken, but universal sign language works well and we found all the staff very helpful and, with encouragement, visibly cheerful. Getting around Shanghai by taxi is both extremely inexpensive and entertaining, if not a little scary. Almost as scary as crossing the road via a pedestrian crossing, which is probably as risky as crossing on a red light thanks to motorcycles, bicycles and, to be honest, anything on wheels.

Room Tip: The hotel warns that it will not accept responsibility for the loss of valuables, which should be se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

For well under $100., this place had it all, from the location to the fuzzy bathrobe and slippers, great rooms. Taxi drivers, however, just looked at us when we gave the name, because the Chinese name has nothing to do with the English one, and it seems to be called by two different English ones. The entrance doesn't actually face Renmin Road, and the map on the website is about 6 blocks off (not the first time a Google map has led us astray). The hotel is actually in a great location: about 1 block from the Bund and the river cruise docks, about 2 blocks from the famous Yu Garden and zigzag bridge shopping area, 3 blocks from the subway, 1/2 block from a Big Bus (double-decker tour) stop. Older hotel on the outside, nice inside. Lobby on the 8th floor, nice restaurant and bar facilities (we chose to eat at the smaller stands and restaurants in the Yu Garden area--don't miss the famous dumplings and the Kobayashi Cookie Company's hot fresh filled cookies). However, and this is a big however, something seems to be going on with this hotel. The beautiful, big bar was almost always empty, the enormous dining room not crowded, the lobby almost always empty. When we arrived, they seemed startled down at the entrance on the first floor, and a couple of managers scurried up and down and around while we waited about 10 minutes until escorted upstairs. Our Chinese friends got some inside information that the hotel had been sold and the new owners hadn't decided what to do with it--which in Shanghai probably means it'll be torn down soon and replaced with some fabulous new office building, which would be a shame, given the location for travelers. The rooms were well taken care of, but the staff as well as the number of guests seemed to be minimal, as did the English-speaking ability of the staff. We'd stay here again in a minute if we could be sure that after booking, the hotel would actually exist at the time of our visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel

Address: No.386 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#203 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#360 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donglai Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.