We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, would have preferred to stay on the other side of the river” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel to your Saves list
Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.386 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #409 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 153 Reviews
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Good hotel, would have preferred to stay on the other side of the river”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights on our Trip to Shanghai. Rooms are very clean and tidy, bed is also comfortable, my only issue was that the air con appeared to do very little, due to illness a lot of time was spent in the room and this proved to be a real problem.

From a tourism aspect the hotel location is good as it is right on The Bund, however, after exploring I wish we had chosen a hotel on the other side of the river as it is like stepping into another country. The hotel is situated is in a very run down smelly, busy-traffic area whereas across the river it is very modern and cosmopolitan.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    81
    36
    12
    5
See reviews for
20
36
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

I stayed at this hotel for several days. Luckily my travel companion had been to China several times so we didn't need much tourist help from the front desk. This is a Chinese business hotel and the staff barely speak English at all. One of the bell hops was really helpful in trying to get a taxi for us. The rooms and bathrooms are clean. Its in a great location by Old Shanghai, near the Yuyuan Gardens, shops and the metro. Shanghai has a great metro system! There are a few English speaking stations on the flat screen TV. I didn't go to the restaurants, but their room service is limited. There are a lot of outlets in the room. If you are familiar with China, traveling with or visiting friends who are, then you should stay at this hotel. We got a great deal on price. If you need tourist hand-holding and do not speak Chinese, do not stay here.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mlada Boleslav, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

I've spent there only 1 night, but I liked the place a lot.
Hotel is at a good location - walking distance to the Bund, Yuyuan gardens. You might get a room with riverside view. The room is well equiped and I personaly have to say that I like the furnishings.
The hotel has an interesting atrium which you'll see at least at the time of breakfast, which was by the way also really good.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011

We stayed at the Oriental Bund Hotel for a couple of nights at the end of a 6 week trip.

Took a while for the Taxi driver to actually find it - so make sure you've got the address written down in Chinese - cost 160rmb from Pudong Airport. We booked the day before through Agoda and got a deluxe double room for £36 per night.

Check in was fast, if a little confusing. The room was really nice, similar in style and quality to more well known brands like Hyatt. Loads of toiletries, standard robe and slippers, big TV, sofa, internet and more buttons, knobs and switches than you'll need. Didn't eat there but there we're 3 restaurants and a bar which all looked nice. TV stations didn't work particularly well, but then I wasn't there to watch TV. Aircon and the heating worked pretty well and I liked being able to actually open my own window for a bit of fresh air.

The staff were helpful and courteous where possible but there was the inevitable language barrier - it is in China after all, but there's nothing that can't be sorted with a bit of patience. We checked out about 7:30am, took about 5 mins and the taxi we ordered the night before was already waiting there.

The location is really good for a few night stay. A lot of the major sights and shopping are within a few minutes walk. Bars and restaurants are a little bit further but there's always a cheap Taxi somewhere close buy.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

While the basics were all okay, the place is not geared to foreign visitors and the service is poor. There was a paint smell in the room; the air-con control is apparently there only for decoration since I was told that the temperature was centrally controlled and I should go and open the window.

The check-out procedure took an unacceptable 50 minutes. While standing in line, I observed a ridiculous Fawlty Towers style exchange in which one of the staff accused a European guest who was checking out of stealing a towel from his room. Neither he nor I could quite believe it was happening. The staff member spent minutes checking and returned to insist that she couldn't find the towel and that the guest should "go and find it". Bizarre.

The staff simply didn't appear to know what they were doing. If anyone in the queue had a flight to catch, they would have been in trouble.

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2010

Its a very good hotel in overall. The location is Great , its near Yu Garden , Near the Bund , and the Yu garden Metro station is 3 minutes walk. so its near enough to Nanjing Lu.
The rooms are Renovated , but a little small for that standard , but clean enough and modern. The breakfast Buffet is good at chinese standard and the staffs are helpfull.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010 via mobile

verey good hotel very near to old city of shanghai and its near the rever and the garden

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel

Address: No.386 Renmin Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#87 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#204 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donglai Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Xingyu Oriental Bund Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.