We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Royal Meridien Shanghai to your Saves list
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hot Deals - RMB868 Only!
Ranked #44 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,628 Reviews
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good city hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here in November, very impressed with location and rooms. Rooms were super , pretty good value. Views from bar spectacular and well with the effort to visit. Have to say shanghai is the closest thing I have experienced to hong kong , very modern city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear David M.,

We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy some of the most advantageous aspects we have at Le Royal Méridien Shanghai, and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with others. Our location and our view from 789 Nanjing Bar + Lounge are two things of which we are most proud! We look forward to seeing you again in Shanghai in the very near future!

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    599
    141
    41
    21
See reviews for
140
303
122
625
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The hotel is pretty nice. Enough has been said about it.

But the prostitution in the area is absurd. This is my fourth night here, and as a single male, I've already been accosted every single night, most recently 25 feet from the lobby.

Now I haven't seen prostitutes in the hotel, but I think that the management should pressure the city government more to clean up the area. As an aside, I have not been accosted outside the Hyatt properties in Pudong or at Xintiandi.

It's really sad to see this activity as I'm sure the women are not willing participants. Clearly there is a market for their services in this area, so I would avoid Nanjing Xilu if you'd rather not be put in this situation.

Room Tip: Ask the hotel to fix your AC if it's too warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear shellzj,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. Although we are disappointed to learn of these disturbances, we have taken the steps to contact the local authorities so that this situation can be better controlled for future guests. Your review has raised our awareness of the severity of the situation, and for that, we thank you! We are pleased to know that you were happy with the rest of your stay and do hope that your future travels bring you back to Shanghai and Le Royal Meridien.


Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

Rooms with an East-facing view are the best - they afford a great view towards the Bund and of the amazing Pudong skyline. Try to request one of these.

The room was good size, with good lighting, and included both an arm chair with ottoman and a sofa. Comfy bed.

Buffet breakfast and lunch were great, and room service was efficient.

Orienting oneself in the hotel can be challenging as there are so many different elevators (it's really confusing at first), but there's usually someone on hand to show you to the correct elevators.

A mild annoyance are the overwhelming amount of offers for massage by prostitutes and their pimps in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. On a Saturday night, I was confronted by no less than 15 different prostitutes. Some were brazen enough to approach me at the front door of the hotel. Not the hotel's fault, but the area is quite touristy, so it attracts all types of people.

That said, lots of shopping nearby, 3 subway lines below hotel, and easy walking distance to the Bund and museums. Very convenient.

There's a fantastic gym on the lobby level - quite impressive.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking time to write such a positive review on Tripadvisor.com.

We are honored that you had an enjoyable stay with us and you are satisfied with almost all the aspects of our hotel. We are sorry about the annoyance you have encountered. We sincerely hope to see you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padova
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My room was comfy, with amazing views, but there was a constant sewage smell from the drains. Staff were friendly but the service in the restaurant for meals or breakfast was pretty bad. At £7.80 for a cappucino they are really taking the mick. And at the price of these rooms it's a bit much to charge Internet access in your room at £10 per day.

There was a good layer of dust on the shelves in the room too.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

We appreciate your precious feedback of your recent stay with us. Thank you for giving us detailed information, which will help us to make further improvements.

We are sorry to know that our service was not up to your expectations. Having received your feedback, the team and I have since sat down to review your experience with us and are using your experience as part of our ongoing training.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that we can provide for you a memorable stay.

Thanks you,

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I am currently staying at this hotel with three other people from my company. The rooms are nice and the staff are friendly as everyone else has reported. The executive lounge is very nice and the breakfast there is excellent for a lounge.

However, everyone I am traveling with has had the same complaint about the hotel and that is the rooms are too warm and the air conditioning does not cool the rooms or cut the humidity to a sufficient level. The hotel generally does provide decent air conditioning during the day when the sun is out. However, during the night they turn off the AC (or really turn it down) and everyone has mentioned that they are waking up sweating in the middle of the night. By morning, the rooms are usually quite warm and humid, and most Americans who are used to inside conditions that are cool and dry will be somewhat uncomfortable. Hotel management has provided various excuses for this in the past such as Shanghai governmental regulations preclude them from cooling the hotel more than they do, but I have stayed at other hotels in Shanghai where this is NOT a problem. Clearly, the management of this hotel has decided to significantly raise the temperature in the rooms through the night so if you like to sleep in a cold environment (some do and some don't), you might want to stay elsewhere. If you like your room to be somewhat warm and muggy when you wake up, you will love this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but the suites are really special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for choosing Le Royal Meridien Shanghai and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. Please accept our sincerest apology for the air conditioning problem you have encountered. I have shared your precious feedback with my team to see what we can do to make improvements. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future so that we can provide for you a memorable stay.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We used our Starwood points to stay at Le Royal Meridien while in Shanghai for 72 hours. My wife has Lifetime Platinum status so we were upgraded to a beautiful suite on the 39th floor with a view of Nanjing pedestrian mall and the Pudong district across the river with all those tall, mostly beautiful, new buildings. The hotel staff were professional and could not be nicer! English is mostly not a problem. We had access to the Royal Club on the 44th floor with a great breakfast spread and plenty of espresso drinks. Also, decent drinks and nosh for happy hour. Since we were on the 39th floor, we had to go down to the lobby (on 11) and transfer to another elevator to go back up to 44. Certainly a "First world problem" - so no big deal but a bit inconvenient.
Great, convenient location. Not close but a 20 minute walk to the Bund. We were able to go just downstairs to walk the pedestrian mall. Though the first evening I was alone and was approached constantly by sellers of roller skate wheels, "massage", "escort" and "comfort" workers (diplomatically speaking on Trip Advisor) almost every 2 minutes. They left me alone when walking with my wife.

The restaurants in the lobby are mediocre and can be. I decided to have dinner at Allure, which has menu service. The wine by the glass selection was mediocre as was the service and food selection and quality. Yet, they charge New York prices. - If Le Bistro was not buffet only, we would have had more meals in the hotel.

All in all it is a great place to stay if you find yourself in Shanghai. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Try to face east for a view of Pudong district.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear loyal guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Le Royal Meridien Shanghai and for taking the time to share such a detailed review with us.

Your comments are very important for us to know where we could do better. Our Chef team will keep improving our menu and try to delight every guest with a wonderful dining experience. We would also welcome you to our Chinese and Italian Restaurants on 8th floor for more choices for your future stay with us.

Look forward to being of service soon.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed in Le Royan Meridien Shanghai for 3 nights and there's no single bad word about this hotel. We had Le Royal Club floor and the view from our room was incredible! The room was super spacious for 1 person.

Service in Club Floor was top notch, the staff is friendly and helpfull. The hotel is so huge that other than Club Floor services I really don't have an opinion. The breakfast in Club Floor is okay, bit narrow selection but it suited my needs just fine.

One minus we noticed in two mornings was that our rooms were smelling like smoke. That's very uncomfortable smell, especially for non-smoker like us.

I think I'll choose this hotel again when in Shanghai.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

It is always great to know that our guests enjoy their stay with us.
Thank you for your compliments towards our view and the Club floor service, we are more than happy to provide you another memorable stay when your travel brings you back to Shanghai in the near future.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#33 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#233 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 761
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Starwood APAC, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.