We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on Nanjing Road” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Save Saved
You added Le Royal Meridien Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights with Us!
Ranked #44 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Right on Nanjing Road”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, right on Nanjing Road, close to the Bund (walkable) and the Shanghai Art Museum. There also is a nice little Chinese foot massage place across the street, which is open past midnight, and there is a Starbucks nearby on Nanjing Road. I scored some great porcelain soups bowls with lids in a little shop nearby for about $8 each.

The hotel rooms themselves are a bit tired. Sockets in the bathroom were loose and hard to use for the hairdryers. The bed was very comfortable and the hotel was quiet. The breakfast was ample and the selection was varied.

Quirk: The check-in lobby is on the 11th floor.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Welcome to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai and thanks for taking time to share your comments with us- it’s always great to hear that our spectacular location impressed our guests.
As a five-star hotel, we are willing to take any advice we may acquire from our guests and make necessary improvement accordingly. I will definitely pass your comments to our team for improvement. Looking forward to welcoming you back to Shanghai in the near future.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    759
    558
    129
    36
    20
See reviews for
126
285
116
555
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed here for business but as the location was very central and close to the subway exploring the city in a limited time was simple.

The hotel staff are keen to help you navigate the sometimes disorientating lift system.

One major highlight has to be the breakfast buffet. So many options available. You can even opt for ice cream at 7am! I stuck to a traditional full English.

I fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for sharing your recent feedback with our friends at tripadvisor.com. We are grateful that you noticed the essence of our service: We take more steps to gratify our respectful guests. We look forward to having you back soon and providing you a memorable Le Meridien journey in Shanghai.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

After reading nearly all positive revievs I had great expectations about this hotel . I have been to several top hotels in Shanghai , Le Royal Meridien may be one of them once but now the hotel is tired . The reception staff was friendly and welcoming and although the check in was a bit slow we got no complaints. The rooms are quite old , I think they will have to be refurbished very soon . Of course it might be very difficult for the owners and management to give that decision because because of the very good location of the hotel i think they are working at a very high occupancy rate. After check in we had dinner in the Italian restaurant of the hotel, the dishes were below standard for a 5 star hotel in Shanghai and the restaurant staff seemed too tired to serve , same like the Hotel itself, and that is something what we all could not understand because the restaurant was nearly empty. The hotel is in some 10 min approximity of the bund , and you will find yourself in the hassle of famous Nanjing road .
Overall rating of the hotel is : Not Bad. Because we have no big complaints about anything in the hotel , but also nothing special at all. The amenities and view of the rooms are quite OK . But once again the rooms and of course the main areas of the hotels need a renovation very soon if they want to be in the competition.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet the expectations that we have provided for you previously. One of our major purposes of online reviews is to highlight areas for improvement and your feedback provides our hotel with valuable information that we can review to improve in the future. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing service that you have experienced in our Italian restaurant. I will look deeply into this matter and will ensure improvements will be made.
Should your travels bring you back through our exciting city, please do not hesitate in reaching out to me personally and I will promise that you will have a more restful stay.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

They picked us up from the airport - do this... It makes the arrival into China much easier, especially of a long flight from Italy.

The hotel is located right in the hear of Nanjing Road shopping area. Beware of approaches from locals to go to bars, buy this, or buy that. ignore them at your peril... Advice we had already received...

The hotel room was spacious, and the bathroom was nice.

Staff went out of their way to make our stay very pleasurable.

Certainly will stay their again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments and we are pleased to have received a full score. It’s always great to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels. The team and I do hope to be of service again in the future when your travels bring you back through Shanghai.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for 5 weeks.

Rooms:The rooms are smaller than usual but are good.

The location is great. Located right at one end of the famous Nanjing street, the main walking street. All the main shopping areas are well connected to the hotel location through Metro/subway.

Service: The staff is friendly and efficient

Good gym, sauna and pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,
We appreciate you taking the time to post such positive comments - it’s always rewarding to hear that our guests enjoy themselves during their travels, especially having an extended 5-week stay at the hotel. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My favourite hotel in Shanghai, I stay here every time I come to China, my last visit was in October, I will be there again on Business from this Friday, Hotel is stunning, and Staff is really helpful.
Rooms are beautiful, I’ve been lucky my last 4 stays this year to be in a Jr Suite.
Location is spot on, whole place is clean, food great, Club lounge is Fab, I’ve always been able to upgrade at a reasonable cost, as I travel alone other than the staff from our China office, and the lounge is a safe place to sit have a coffee or a glass of Wine. Breakfast is excellent, they will even give you a doggy bag so you can eat on the run.
This hotel has become a home away from home for me, as much as I miss home when away, this hotel feels safe.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are Great, to upgrade to Royal club at an extra cost, lounge is great especally when trave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for sharing your recent feedback with our friends at tripadvisor.com. Thank you for your great review on almost all aspects of Le Royal Meridien Shanghai. The team and I are truly glad to read that our service and hotel amenities have left you with positive memories following your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back and providing you with another memorable journey of discovery.



Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here for 6 nights a while back and it was a great stay.

Very classy rooms with all one can ask for at a Le Meridien. Very good beds, nice pool area and excellent location in the end of a busy shopping avenue in the middle of eveything.

Breakfast was good and the 5 course set menue we had at the french restaurant was superb.

Would come back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leroyalmeridien_sh, General Manager at Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for sharing such a positive feedback with us on Tripadvisor.com. The team and I are truly glad to read that our location and hotel amenities have left you with impressive memories during your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back through our exciting city.

Daniel Aylmer
General Manager
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Royal Meridien Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Royal Meridien Shanghai

Address: No.789 Nanjing East Road, Shanghai 200001, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#38 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#242 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Royal Meridien Shanghai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish and sophisticated with an ultra-modern design, Le Royal Meridien Shanghai is one of Shanghai's tallest landmarks, and its location at the centre of Shanghai on the historic Nanjing Road East, opposite the People's Square and overlooking the Shanghai Museum and Shanghai Grand Theater, puts guests at the heart of one of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao, Otel and Venere so you can book your Le Royal Meridien Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai Hotel Shanghai
Meridien Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Royal Meridien Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.