We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Topped my expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splendid Weekend: 30% off
Ranked #43 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Aalborg, Denmark
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Topped my expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

In this hotel everything works according to expectations. Without listing all the thing I like (2-room suite, tub, giant bathroom etc.) I will just mention a single thing that shows this staffs commitment to service: they noticed that I left my wireless optical computer mouse on the glass table and when I arrived in the evening they had placed a proper mouse mat at my desk! This might seem diminutive but for me it ment greater work effeciency when I came home late in the evening and needed to get some work done. Thumbs up!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World!

We are so glad that you give the "Thumbs up!". This is the best encouragement to us. We will continue our effort and focus on providing high standard of service for every guest. I have personally shared your great comments with our entire team.

We are also pleased you enjoyed the stay and thank you again for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    435
    99
    19
    16
See reviews for
137
240
86
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delhi, India
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed here for the Chinese New Year, even though I live in Shanghai, and it was a wonderful vacation! The fitness facilities are outstanding; the breakfast was fit for royalty; and the room, view, and location were excellent. I sat at breakfast by the window overlooking People's Square Park. It was easy to walk around the central part of the city without the hassle of taking the metro or a taxi. Lots of opportunity to see the old neighborhoods even amidst the high-rises.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World! We are so glad that you found the hotel to your liking and you enjoy the hotel fitness center and breakfast, your good comments is the best encouragement to us. We will continue our effort and focus on providing high standard of service for every guest. I have personally shared your great comments with our entire team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. And thank you again for your positive review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This hotel is excellent in every way,comfort ,location and value for money this hotel as it all.The hotel is situated right in the heart of the city and a walk away to everything.The rooms were exceptionally comfortable modern and clean so was the bathroom.Very help and friendly staff guide you to where ever you want to go.The swimming pool is great and very large for an indoor pool.Breakfast was plentiful and a large choice but a little on the cold side as the dining area was open and above the lobby where the cold air kept blowing in.The subway station Peoples Square is directly under the hotel which is on the green line number 2 which is ideal If you fly into Shanghai airport and take the maglev to the city it terminates on the green line 2 so one change and your at the hotel all for £8 each Bargain!!!The maglev is the fastest train in the world we got up to 431 kmph and takes 8minutes, so don't bother with a taxi far more expensive and can take 2
hours.

Room Tip: High floor room to enjoy the spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World!

We are glad you are found the hotel to your liking. As you have highlighted, we are in the heart Shanghai. The hotel is adjacent with Nanjing road which is the great shopping street. Take a 20 minute walk on Nanjing road, you can find The Bund. Along the Bund waterfront there are beautiful buildings dedicated to various architectural periods.

We are also pleased you enjoyed the stay and thank you again for your positive review.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

For the price we paid for 3 nights, this hotel proved that luxurious accommodation can be reasonable with the right travel dates. It was post Chinese New Year and so the rates were great. The hotel is located on Nanjing Road so it was centrally located and easy for a non Chinese speaking person to get to after a day of touring or shopping. The rooms are GREAT, nicely decorated and well appointed with big bathrooms. My family of 10 stayed here and luckily my room was on the Business Class floor, the 35th so the view was fantastic day and night. The pool area was another pleasant surprise as it was designed well for an indoor pool. And on a cold winter night, the heated pool was a welcome treat to end the night. The only thing that was odd is that they don't credit each night stayed in your membership if your stay was booked with a travel agency. They only credit nights stay with direct bookings which was really annoying considering you are paying for it, but through an Agent. The sky dome lounge and bar and the rotating restaurant at the top of the hotel are other winning reasons why the radisson blu was the best. Highly recommended for sure.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and got to experience not only this amazing city but our great facilities. The hotel is located on Nanjing Road, right at the top of the pedestrian mall, amongst the best shopping, dining and entertainment in Shanghai. With views over People's Park and the Bund and directly above Metro Lines 1, 2 and 8, this is an amazing place to base yourself. As you mentioned in your review, our Sky Dome Bar is located on our 47th floor with live music 7 days per week, with views across Shanghai that will amaze you. I am glad you could wind down at the end of the day with a nice dip in our heated pool.

Again, thank you for your positive review and recommend.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Being a very frequent traveller, I can be quite critical with accomodations, but honestly this one was close to perfection:

- The room was nice, clean and big. Having a separate office just gives that extra comfort
- The gym opens at 6 AM and the treadmills are of very good quality and the staff there is always friendly
- The breakfast was good, not fantastic, but good enough
- The laundry service was overefficient. I gave some underwear late morning and by late afternoon it was ready, no extra charge
- the place is of course next to perfection, close to People's park .. and 100 m. from the office
- The concierge "team" is very efficient organising transports
So, pretty good ! Next time in Shanghai, I'll definitely stay there !!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am extremely pleased that you will definitely stay here when you return to Shanghai. There is no greater reward in hospitality than welcoming back our loyal guests! Our Concierge team are always receiving praise for their knowledge and dedication and I am happy that have helped you as well/

I have personally shared your great comments with our entire team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon and thank you again for your positive review.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surabaya
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

My good opinion :Big and clean room , Nice bathroom , free wifi , nice breakfast ,Next to shopping mall and shanghai madame tussaud , close to nanjing road , close to MRT

sure will be back if i go to shanghai again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased to hear you found our rooms to your liking as well as the breakfast and great location. As far as hotels in Shanghai are concerned, this is the best place to base yourself. As you have mentioned in your review, we have a direction connection with the New World Shopping Mall and we are directly located above 3 subway lines. A true convenience.

Again, thank you for your positive review and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to Shanghai.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeitlarn, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My room was very spacious and featured the biggest hotel bathroom I have ever seen.
The spaceship-like bar at the top of the building is worth a visit.
Several tourist attractions are at a walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive M, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World.

I am very pleased your experience with us was memorable and you enjoyed the spacious bathroom. Our building as you have highlighted is iconic and the spaceship-like bar on the rooftop is called Sky Dome Bar. With amazing views and live bands 7 days per week, it’s a wonderful place to enjoy an evening cocktail whilst taking in the Shanghai skyline. The hotel is located on Nanjing Road, directly opposite the People’s Square and only a short walk to the Bund. This is truly the heart of Shanghai.

Again, thank you for your positive review.

Warmest regards

Clive Murray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#19 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#223 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 4.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.