We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service- Comfort- Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splendid Weekend: 30% off
Ranked #44 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Service- Comfort- Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I love this hotel and have stayed here ten times. The service is top notch and the rooms are very comfortable. I love the pillows, comforter and bed and must say I rest really well here. The location works really well for me and when I bring clients from the US they love to be near the walking street. There is a nice workout area and a pool where I can do laps so it is perfect for my life style. They are very consistent every stay in all aspects of service. One of my favorite hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a deluxe room. They are two room suites with a desk. It is everything I could ever want fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Don,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice
Maurice Cook
General Manager
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    435
    99
    19
    16
See reviews for
137
240
86
429
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

The staff was able to communicate in English and the concierge was very helpful with restaurant recommendations and taxis. The rooms were very clean, in good condition, and extra towels, tissue, and bath amenities were available. The heating was great and the room temperature was always comfortable. The cleaning staff did a good job except for one night when they were doing turndown service and I did not answer the door quick enough and they opened it with their key. I wish they would realize that if the key card for the power is still in the slot then they should not enter the premises. But other than that one minor thing the hotel is a very good value and an extremely convenient location to the connecting mall, metro station, and Nanjing Road.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Lance,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comment on the turndown service attendant entering your room after knocking, please use the "do not disturb" electronic sign if you don't want to be disturbed, keeping the key in the slot at the main entrance is only to keep the electricity power on whilst you are in the room. I apologize for any inconvenience. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very nice hotel in the heart of Shanghai.
Staff very warm, nice rooms and bathroom.
Breakfast really remarkable.
If you are looking for a place every taxi driver knows without getting lost, this place is the solution as located in People's square.
Nanjing Road is at 50 m.
Metro is just downstairs (you do not even have to go out).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear mascigab,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have noted your comment on the bathroom amenities, coincidentally, we are in the process of changing the range by June this year. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Great place to be definately. Location, access, neighbourhood all great. We had a suite room, well furnished could be a tad bit better but never the less would love to go back and stay here. Breakfast was good.
I have to mention the service- Its excellent. Helped us in every way possible.
Need to improve on their bath products, felt let down using their bath products. All in all would stay again and again...
I say job well done for the Hotel GM.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear akavandi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The location is perfect. The pool is really good for swimming. Though when you get thirsty you have to buy water from the bar or minibar for 10$ pr liter. Normal price in shop is 0,5$ pr 1,5 liter. The rooms are great and feels classic even though it is modern and new. I cant complain on anything else by the way. Its a great place.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Iniesta 10,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked our hotel and location. I have noted your comment on the price of a bottle of water from the mini bar, yes it is $ 10 for a one litre bottle of Evian water, that is good value. As you would be aware, we do provide 2 complimentary bottles of mineral water in the room that is replenished on demand, we cannot run a 5 star hotel at mineral water prices on free standing shops on the street. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stayed at this hotel almost a week around Christmas. Was very good value for money as I booked through a booking website paying less than a 100 US $ for a room (breakfast not included). The room was big, nice bathroom and amazing view over the city. Location is very good as well. Reception, room service all very good. Do not expect a hip trendy décor or a state of the art design like the Park Hyatt of the Andaz in Xintiandi. It is a good chain hotel.
However this hotel has a serious problem with the heating and the room temperature as the other readers remarked. When I came to the room after a long day of sightseeing the room temperature was 27 degrees Celsius (80 Fahrenheit).I complained to the reception and apparently the manager visited my room and called later to explain what I should do in order to lower the temperature.
Indeed, it appears that when I was in the room the temperatures dropped gradually to 25. (still very warm) and at night it sometimes dropped to 24. Whatever I did (stopping the heater, alternating the heater settings, turning the ventilator option on, opening the window, and closing the window…) I could not lower the temperature further. As I come from a warm country, 24 degrees was not too uncomfortable for me. And again, the room was big and nice and I didn’t feel like moving so I remained there.
All in all a positive experience. Just know what to expect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear FusionX,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am sorry to hear that you found the heating excessive and I am sure that the Duty Manager made amends to ensure your comfort, since we are in the middle of winter, we are only running the heating system. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The concierge was the best part of this hotel, very helpful with tracing my parcel and in terms of providing advises/ suggestion, although the business centre isn’t really that useful. The room (too dark), service and meal are average. The breakfast experience was quiet disappointing as the hotel is too big so always had to queue up for things such as omelet, soup…not really ideal when I had to run for meeting soon after breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear ShirlzH,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Sorry to hear that the hotel is "not your type" for reasons at breakfast that are only normal in a busy hotel in a central location. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#19 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#41 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#47 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#228 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 4.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.