We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair deal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #31 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fair deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Good location!
Lady at check-in is impolite, not friendly & poor in English. But the boy is very nice & speak very good English on the day i check-out.
Breakfast variety & taste are so-so. Area for breakfast is a bit hot for me.
Room is okay (separate working & bed area) just, a armchair placed just in front of the mirror which i have to move it away!
Swimming pool is great! Maintenance of windows during my stay & the workers just open the door which links the swimming pool area & the balcony causes heavy wind gets in the swimming pool area. Besides, the workers are more concentrate on the bikini's girl instead of work!
Changing room in the swimming pool level is old furnish, prefer back to the hotel room for shower & change.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear esy_ypp,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    440
    331
    74
    16
    10
See reviews for
103
180
74
309
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel offers very good value in an extremely central location in Shanghai. It probably doesn't quite merit a 5 star rating in every respect, but taking price into account this is still a very good hotel.

My room (I was in the tower section) was slightly unusual, having a separate office area and bedroom, and was of a good size overall. Furnishings were slightly old-fashioned, but the bed was very comfortable, and clearly the mattress was reasonably new. The bathroom was OK, but for me not of the standard of the best 5 star hotels - with some evidence of rather rushed maintenance in places.

Breakfast was good, without being outstanding. The buffet selection was slightly limited compared to other hotels I have visited. The pool and fitness centre are very good (pool, especially - and most welcome when it was 42 degrees outside!

My only slight reservation on returning would be the location. In one respect it is outstanding: right opposite Peoples' Park, with excellent MRT connections to nearly anyone (and every taxi driver knows where Peoples' Park is).

However, travelling alone, I strongly did not appreciate getting hassled about every 10 meters when I walked anywhere near Nanjing Road (other parts of Shanghai did not seem to have the same problem) - I had no need of a watch or a 'beautiful lady'.

I'm not usually too bothered by touts, but the sheer number here took things to a level not seen in Manilla, Bangkok, Phnom Penh, ...). I wish the Shanghai police would clear this up, as it gives a very poor impression to a first-time visitor to China. I should also say that the hotel itself was 100% clear of touts - it's just that they descend the moment you leave the front door.

The area is quite safe though, and likely if you were travelling as a couple you would not have the same issue.

Room Tip: High floor rooms have excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Jeremy,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Sorry about the touts on Nanjing Road, beyond the hotel control...I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khalkis, Greece
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We had a business suite at the top floor so the view was very good and the room was spacious. I didn't like the location though, the hotel is in Nanjing road which is the main shopping street so it was packed with people and chinese products. I would prefer a hotel in a more classy area of the city. I loved the spinning restaurant at the top floor, it gives you 360 degrees view of the city.

Room Tip: High floor rooms and suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Maria,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Any central location such as ours in any part of the world is naturally crowded as everyone loves to congregate in the heart of the city where all the attractions and conveniences are within a walking distance. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is in People Square, 100 meters away from the pedestrian street and the metro. You can walk to the Shanghai Museum, to the Bund and to the old town and there is a great food street at the back of the Hotel. The Hotel itself is clean, the rooms are great and modern and the prices are competitive. The pool is one of the best I have ever seen in a hotel: spacious, great light, quiet. Get a room on a high floor because the night view is beautiful!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Marco,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us a 5 star rating, much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia, Ipoh, Perak
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This stay was perfect. 5 star hotel and service. It starts from the great service and immediate confirmation of our booking from hotelsclick.com from the website service team in perfect English.

Rooms are new, spacious and very clean. We had some problems with the air-conditioning when we checked in but it was fixed immediately while we went out for sightseeing. However, water is not hot enough for the bath and shower. I switched it to maximum and it is still only lukewarm.

Internet connection is great. I can even log into Facebook which I can't log in elsewhere in China. TV channels are great. Beds are so soft and comfy. I love the city view overlooking a highway out from my window on the 34th floor.

Service is perfect, even though I can speak fluent Mandarin, I must praise the great English command of their staffs. Their staffs are fully trained in English and this is particularly rare in China. Even the house keeping talked to me in English on the phone. Concierge and front desk are forever helpful. They introduced the best Shanghai Xiao Long Bao restaurant to us and it is just remarkable.

Location is great. Right opposite exit No.7 of People's Square Station. Madame Trussaud is just next door.

The only let down is the swimming pool. Even though it is stated on their website that the swimming pool is newly renovated, there are loose tiles and left over rubbish from the renovation works laying around.

The price that we booked this amazing hotel for 3 nights is amazingly low for a hotel of this quality. Maybe its a promotion for 3 nights because I find the price per night is much higher for 2 days or 4 days relatively. We coincidentally met another tourist from Taiwan in Suzhou who stayed at this Hotel and she paid 900rmb per night for the same room we stayed. It only cost us 527rmb per night. What a steal!

In conclusion, GREAT!!

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors. Great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Seeyumi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us a 5 star rating, much appreciated. I do apologize for the repair work at the poolside, this work was on-going and remnants are generally the norm. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I've stayed in many hotels in my visits to Beijing and Shanghai, but this one however trumps all of them. Very modern facilities and comfortable room. The restaurant and bar on the top levels are lovely places to grab a meal / drink whilst enjoying a lovely view of the city.
The only negative I have to say about this hotel, is that they charge 207 yuan / person / night extra for breakfast, which I think is much to much.

Room Tip: Rooms with river view have a far better than those with a city view. Generally you want a room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mathman89,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for giving us a 5 star rating, much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Great central location on nanjing Rd - opposite underground metro station and on main shopping street. Also opposite People's Park. Next door is Madame Tussauds and various banks. Spacious room with 2 good sized beds and medium sized bathroom. Very clean . Free wifi throughout hotel and I appreciated the complimentary bottles of mineral water in the bathroom and the tea making facilities . The breakfast buffet was excellent with a mixture of western and chinese food and on view eggs/ ommelette chef on demand. Excellent service and relaxing atmosphere with views of People's Park. The free indoor swimming pool in the gym area was great too! The concierge was most helpful and all reception staff including the doorman spoke good English. I'd definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maurice C, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Dear Caroljonmo,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor with regards to your recent stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for all your nice comments about the hotel and staff and for giving us a full 5 star rating, much appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back should your travels bring you back to Shanghai.

Kind regards,

Maurice

Maurice Cook
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#16 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#30 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#266 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.