We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 3,985 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This will be a boring review, mainly as I have nilch critical comments to make about my stay here.

Key location on Nanjing Road literally across from People's Square and hence a major subway stop. Minutes away from Nanjing Road shopping center. The hotel is gorgeous and cannot be missed with its revolving restaurant at the top and flashing blue lights. The room was spotless and tastefully furnished. The bathroom also felt perpetually clean and comes with a strange window facing the rest of the room, along with-get this!-buttons that control the opening/closing of these window blinds. Yea. I hear this type of window is typical of asian hotels and I guess it makes sense if you want to have a nice bath with at least a fighting chance at a view to the outside. Anyhow. I didn't make use of this window on this trip, but it will continue to be an aspiration of mine to do so one day in a similar hotel with a similar bathroom and similar window.

The gym facility was air-conditioned and each treadmill/elliptical equipped with its own screen so one can workout and keep informed about the happenings of the world through the BBC. Pool and jacuzzi available daily, as well as a sauna and spa room... and all for no extra charge! I couldn't get over how great I felt, being able to maintain my exercise regimen while on vacation, and especially considering how we stuffed our faces with scrumptious locale Shanghai dumplings and snacks and drinks.

Ok, the television selection was a bit sparse (I'm guessing for guests who don't want to pay for extra channels).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    469
    107
    20
    17
See reviews for
147
261
89
483
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Good hoel, perfect location, well connected to the main nanjing street. Convinient to move around. Clean and good western breakfast in the restaurant. The bar on the 47th floor was fantastic with live band playing. Great View of shanghai from the 47th floor. Arrived late evening and found very comfortable to stay. Will stay again in the same hotel when going again to shanghai next month.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Just returned last night from 8 night stay in this hotel....clean, friendly service, great location directly across from People's Park and metro station. Convenient to the Bund, shopping, small local restaurants. Did not eat there..preferred to try small, local dumpling, dim sum, etc places...all of which were great. People are very helpful...I had allergic reaction to something and they directed me to a nearby pharmacy to get medications..

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping, ask for a room that does not face the park as it is noisy...but it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Beware ewen though this central located is well maintained, it is more expensive than most other in the naigbourhood, and you are scarged 160 juan for breakfast, also the barprices is well above normal / outside the hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great hotel, perfect location. People's park was across the way. You had a splendid stroll in all directions. A mall was attached to the hotel if you didn't want to wander afar. Nanjing Road with all of its energy led down to the Bund. I faced the Pearl Tower and found the view of the skyline perfect from this vantage point

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 1 week for business in Shanghai. First this hotel is located in an excellent position. With many shops, parks, sights and night spots located only a short walk away. Staff were friendly on arrival, and the room was clean with a comfortable bed. No noise was noticed from any adjacent rooms during the entire stay. I had breakfast included in the deal, which was a fair spread of international and local cuisine, only complaint being the juice was sugar filled cordial and nothing freshly squeezed. Transport was readily available around the hotel, be sure to take a hotel card before leaving so you can get a cab back as most taxi drivers do not speak English. The gym was equipped with a decent amount of equipment, and inside pool looked ok. The rotating restaurant food was really tasty, and top floor bar had a good setup with great view. Overall an above average stay, and would be happy to stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
535 reviews
169 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived from the airport and the underground station is just in front of the hotel (if you take the correct exit!).
The hotel is very elegant and there are a lot of facilities, we used the concierge for all train reservations in China. To have this service there is a reasonable fee so it is convenient to buy the tickets without going to the railways station, make the queue, etc.
Another service we used was the money exchange at the reception. The exchange rate was correct.
The room was nice and we got a free upgrade. Some amenities we found: slippers, toothpaste, razor, etc.
Our rate didn't included the breakfast and so we didn't have it at the hotel. One time we left early in the morning and another day we went to the Starbucks located in the shopping center located next to the hotel.
We booked the hotel via a travel aggregator and not directly with the hotel because the price was cheaper.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
People’s Square
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
#24 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 727 reviews
People’s Square
Marriott Hotel City Centre
Marriott Hotel City Centre
#18 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
People’s Square
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
Le Royal Meridien Shanghai
#48 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
People’s Square
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
Sofitel Shanghai Hyland
#67 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 502 reviews
People’s Square
Renaissance Shanghai Yu Garden Hotel
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#17 of 3,985 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#42 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#183 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 4.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and EasyToBook so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.