We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I now think of it as home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 986 Reviews
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I now think of it as home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I have stayed here for years during visits to Shanghai and it never disappoints. The staff is friendly, helpful and competent. The rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable. The breakfast is excellent - lots of variety. The location is spectacular - right across from People's Square and the metro stop.

If I could make one suggestion, I would ask that the wifi be speeded up. It's free, so cannot complain too much but during this latest visit, it was so slow that it really didn't matter that it was free or even available.

Otherwise, I think of this hotel as home in Shanghai.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good - never have had a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    382
    89
    18
    14
See reviews for
121
213
83
369
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Japan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent two nights at Radisson Blu Shanghai during at the beginning of March. Overall our stay was very good and we would definitly recommend this hotel to anyone (if we go back to Shanghai we would go to this hotel again).

We arrived at 2AM at the hotel and we had no issue finding people at the reception to check in our room. Rooms were quite spacious and the batchroom itself was huge as well. The mattress was just perfect, very comfortable (may be the best mattress we had so far).

Breakfast was nice, with lots of choices, but we were a bit disappointed, everything was not good, like the fruit selection for instance.

The indoor Swimming pool is great, on the 8th floor of the Hotel. There is also a gym, a steaming room...

If you are looking for a nice place, ideally located in Shanghai (just beside the People's Square), don't hesitate Radisson Blu is worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

GREAT location, near (walking distance) to everything and everywhere. Rooms are nice with comfy beds. The hotel is a bit old (There are soooo many new constructions in Shanghai), but very well kept, super clean and efficient. Great value! You just can´t beat the cost/benefit ratio... Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Higher floors are much quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed for 4 days in October and booked this hotel on-line. Location was central. It is close to everything. Rooms were very well appointed. Service was good and the buffet breakfast was plentiful. We would come back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel, very clean rooms, beautiful swimming pool, lot of activities. It just looks a bit old, but I would recommend it for its great location, in front of the subway, next to a giant mall (you can enter the mall directly into the hotel ! Amazing!), situated on a very active street !

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Udaipur, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent property, very near to heart of Old City, Markets, Nanjing walking street, every thing was excellent, met GM a Srilankan cant remember his name very polite gentleman. The upkeep of the hotel is very efficient. I think it has been refurbished recently. The massage parlour behind the hotel is very nice and half the price of hotel spa.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This Radisson is very comfortable and well maintained and It is also in a great location, metro right across the street in People's square (lines 1, 2, 8) and within a short walk to the pedestrian shopping area on Nanjing Rd W and just a little farther to the Bund and the Huangpu riverfront across from the Pearl Tower.
You can take the Maglev train from airport to Longyang Rd and then the metro line 2 right to People's Square so you don't have to deal with taxi and traffic. One of my favorite hotels.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#24 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#39 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#57 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#248 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 4.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.