We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a top end hotel, no doubt about it. It is indeed pricey, but worth every penny. Breakfasts are luxurious as the breakfast room. The SkyBar is not to be missed, and the rooms have every amenity possible, to make your stay as pampered as it can get. WOW

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    458
    105
    20
    17
See reviews for
142
256
88
466
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is perfectly situated. It overlooks People’s Square and is right at the top of the main shopping street. A 15 minute walk gets you to The Bund. There is a metro station opposite giving you access to the whole city. It was never any problem getting a taxi from right outside the front door.
The hotel itself is not ultra-modern but not as tired as other reports had me believe. It’s not top of the tree luxury but perfectly adequate without being over the top. My room was like many business hotels I have stayed in, loads of space and the bed was huge and comfortable with loads of pillows. Everything in the room worked fine. Bathroom was also spacious and functional with a shower in the bath. The whole room was kept immaculately clean by the team.
The bar on the top floor was amazing with few across Shanghai. It was a little pricey but you have to think for the views it was probably worth it. The band was excellent and not as cheesey as others make out (although I’m told the regular band were on holiday the week we stayed there).
The revolving restaurant was a highlight, not only the views but the service and the food was top notch. There again so was the price! Ideal for a special occasion.
Breakfast was plentiful with so many different choices it was hard to know what to have. Here again the price was quite expensive although if you eat as much as we did you can get your money’s worth and skip lunch!!
All the staff were utterly charming, helpful and friendly, be it reception at the door or in the bars and restaurant.
Will definitely go back there and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend it to anyone because of its location. The price we paid for the room alone was definitely good value and you don’t have to eat and drink there as there are plenty of other options nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Really nice hotel, reasonably priced in the middle of Shanghai. If this is your first visit to China, the staff are fantastic, it is a slightly older hotel, but well maintained with really good facilities. I visited during Chinese New Year, being on the 36th floor gave an amazing view of the fireworks, although, the noise and all the flashes is what I would imagine it would be like being in a major war zone.

During the day there is lots of easily walkable shopping, although, the prices are even more ridiculous than the hotel! All the standard places like starbucks are sensibly priced though.

The drinks prices in the hotel are bonkers, although we were given 2 small bottles of water and there is tea and coffee in the rooms. I had an iron and ironing board in the room, just as well as the ironing service again was really expensive.

The view from the top floor is great, excellent service, again pricey for the drinks and food.

There is a massive shopping centre next door that you get to from the hotel, or for further afield and you need a cab, the doormen will get you a taxi and tell the driver where to take you, it is a few minutes to the bund and was priced at about 15 – 20 yuan.

Just around the corner is an amazing dumpling restaurant, have a look on trip advisor for Yang’s fried dumplings, they are at 97 Huanghe Road, Shanghai, China. Make sure you read the reviews on how the system works and how to eat them!

Room Tip: We asked for a room with a bath and were upgraded, not sure if this was because I was a carlton club...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ok , my first time staying at this hotel . It is about my 20th or so visit to shanghai and I found tithe perfect location . The hotel was abuzz with the run up to Chinese New Year. And the facilities in and very close by are great . If you stay here you must have a cocktail up in the bar on the to floor .it's a great view. The rooms are comfortable with a surprisingly comfortable bed ( unusual for shanghai they are normally extremely hard ) although compact , there is a fridge and kettle and complimentary water. The rooms are fairly well decorated . Mine was on the 8th floor with no view whatsoever of shanghai itself just a flat roof outside. The upside was that I was only steps away from the pool and gym . Unfortunately the housekeeping staff were extremely noisy directly outside my room and the dnd electronic sign in my room seemed to switch itself off and I was disturbed a few times during my 3 night stay . On arrival I discovered a clump of long dark matted hair in my bed ( not mine) to sum up I would hope that next time I would encounter better attention to detail and I must say that all staff members I spoke to were very helpful and polite. My shoes were polished, my shirt was washed and ironed and the hotel even put a DVD player in my room for me on request . All in all its a good ,central hotel

Room Tip: Not the 8th floor . No view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Once again on my most recent stay in Shanghai I stay here at the Radisson.
4th time and still can't beat the value and location.
Booked my whole trip through Expedia and thus couldn't use my Club Carlson for points, my only disappointment.
The restaurants service is still very slow but housekeeping still does a incredible job and is very quick.
Hint: for transfers to and from the airport use Shanghai Taxi Service, they're rates can't be beat and the service is always top notch.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
272 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in February. Already before we arrived, the hotel helped us with arranging tickets etc. The service was excellent all the time, and as non-chinese speaking, the help is invaluab

The rooms were clean and spacious, and complementary water and chocolate was provided every day. The view from the room was very nice - the Pearl tower.

We would definitely come back,

Room Tip: 2002 was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Salvador
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Best location possible, across the street from People´s Park a must visit for morning walks, among beautiful gardens, lakes and people doing tai chi, martial arts etc. The hotel is located on right in the middle of east Nanjing Rd. (the old and traditional part) and west Nanjing Rd. the new and premium part, so if you wanna see the capitalism taking place in China, and enjoy some grate shopping, stay at this hotel. Our room was on floor 34 with a great view and great comfort, first class beds, pillows, big modern bathroom with bathtub, plenty of towels and bodycare products. The hotel is very modern, has a lot luxury details, the breakfast buffet is huge, with all kinds of west and east choices, is in fact a brunch. We did not have the time to eat at the top revolving restaurant, which looked so cool, we´ll do it the next trip to Shanghai, certainly the same hotel...

Room Tip: everybody smokes in China, so make sure to ask for a non-smoking room if you hate the smoke smell. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#18 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#190 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 4.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA and Priceline so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.