We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highest service ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Save Saved
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off
Ranked #35 of 3,741 hotels in Shanghai
Corpus Christi, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Highest service ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

First trip to Shanghai and I lost track of time flying from Texas to China. Missed a dose of blood pressure medicine. Concierge took me to the hospital. Found the Dr. Translated for me. Helped me get my medicine to rebalance my blood pressure. I didn't ask for them to come they just took me by the hand since the hotel Dr. was gone for the night. It was after 10pm. I also did some shopping and had some clothes delivered to the hotel why I was in business in Ningbo for several days. I got back to the hotel a week later. The concierge staff new who I was and called me by name. Delivered the packages to my room along with my bags. TOP Notch people!
Hotel was also top notch. Swimming pool area was clean and peacefull. Nothing like a little excersize and spa treament. Hotel restaurants were high quality for my western tastes. They spoiled me! Also seemed to located in the center of everything and very helpfull getting me around. I will only stay here in Shanghai.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    330
    77
    16
    11
See reviews for
103
184
75
314
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Upgraded to a suite with Carlson membership. This is my first time to stay in this Shanghai hotel for business purpose.
Room is very spacious for this room type. Don't know how big for superior or deluxe rooms... Could be ideal to accommodate a whole family. Bed is very comfortable compared to other Radisson Blu hotels. Good city view both from the living room and from the bedroom. Bath tub is however small, pity. Very quiet for a good quality of sleep.
Yes, the location is very central, with one metro station just at the front door (Renmin Square) and just short distance to the Bund. Could be a perfect choice both for business travelers and vacationers.
Used the swimming pool in the morning, with only few people around 8 o'clock. Quite decent size pool with jacuzzi. I really enjoyed the water temperature and the sunlight roof. Didn't check other health facilities.
There is wide choice of breakfast, both Chinese and western specialities. Service in the restaurant needs to be improved however. The empty dishes are removed slowly and the omelette is just so so.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room if you want to have a better city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Great clean rooms and attention to detail. Nice bath with glass screen in to room. Fab location for markets, 5 min walk. Close to the Bund, easy to get around, near lots of underground stations, great gym an spa area. Plenty if new equipment, variety of cardio and weights for good workout.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I stayed there with a group of 50 and the service was superb. I am always concerned about lodging when traveling abroad. This Radisson property puts all your concerns at ease. Centrally located near attractions and transportion.

Room Tip: Higher flows have the better views. Request a high room that faces the TV tower in order to take adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kocaeli, Kocaeli, Turkey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Radisson Shanghai is at the center of Shaghai and you can make a nice trip by walk or with little travel train.
Hotel is sign of luxury and at the top you can have dinner while watching the Shanghai while turning ...
The top restaurant turning and it is nice memory.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler, Texas
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and were very impressed. We were upgraded to a beautiful room with a nice soft bed. We also had an office type area, which was a bit odd, but it had a door which gave us two rooms and two tvs. The hotel is attached to a wonderful 9 story mall! In the basement floor of the mall there are fast food restaurants like KFC and McDonalds.
The Radisson's staff were excellent. One night we ordered room service - our $18 hamburger was actually worth it in my opinion! The food came within 30 minutes and was piping hot. Another time I called for an electrical adapter and they delivered it in less than 15 minutes.
I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent excellent

Nice rooms, some are odd shaped (mine had a weird lobby/work area)
Excellent transport connections, and super helpful staff within all areas.

It is a bit weird as there are 2 towers, so can feel rather anonymous.

The only downside was arriving from a 12 hour flight and being bombarded with deals so I could access a room which was ready. It felt a bit like I was being scammed and to be honest, this approach was just annoying especially as I had booked a hotel car- they knew I was coming, they knew I was coming from a long flight and STILL couldn't have my room ready(?). I found it really unpleasant and annoying, I didn't feel like I was being treated with the greatest hospitality possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#21 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#31 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#45 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#264 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.