We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a major renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Splendid Weekend: 30% off
Ranked #43 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“In need of a major renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is the fifth time I've stayed here, and not much has changed - for better and (mostly) worse.

First of all, the positives: the Radisson is in an unbeatable location, right just across from People's Square (and the subway station) on Nanjing Road and a few blocks away from from the touristy pedestrian street (for those that are into that kind of thing.) It's convenient enough that a taxi or train to the Pudong (new) side of the city is a stone's throw away, while being close to many of the nightlife and cultural hot spots on the old (Puxi) side. The Radisson is also a tremendous value. For the price, it's hard to beat.

Unfortunately, all of my past gripes have still not been addressed. Internet speeds are agonizingly slow.... anyone looking to Skype or VPN should stay elsewhere. Room service is surprisingly bad given how nice the cafe is (breakfast is particularly nice.) And, most of all, while the building is a historic one and has a lot of character, the rooms are very dated, cheaply built and worn. The carpets badly need to be replaced, as do much of the room furniture (not to mention them being very flimsy.)

I continue to stay here for the location and price. Unfortunately, the Radisson Shanghai is a place I book out of necessity and it's not exactly a place I relish staying each time I visit Shanghai for work.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    436
    99
    19
    16
See reviews for
137
240
86
430
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Well located next to many shops and shopping centres, a big subway interchange point, the peoples park and museum. It is also a reasonable enough walk down to the iconic Bund area. The hotel was very busy when we were there, there was a lot of traffic noise in the first room we were given so we asked to be relocated and the next room although higher up had the same issue. From our experience in two rooms, it appears that the window seals are of a poor quality and let the noise in - it was like having your window open ajar all night. Other than that, it was your standard hotel room with the expected amenities and good complimentary wifi. The sky bar was lovely at night and they made an effort with a band playing cover songs and a good atmosphere. Breakfast was busy and chaotic with a huge selection of food although there are enough Starbucks and the like near by as a cheap alternative. We tried their moving restaurant one night and it was really disappointing, the place was dead and the food was bland and tasteless, at least the view was good or we would have left! I wouldn't recommend eating there at all. Try M and the bund - great restaurant!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Radisson Blu in Shanghai is located a few blocks from the Shanghai Museum, and at the beginning of the Nanjing Road shopping street. There is a huge selection of restaurants and shops nearby as well. It is a short taxi ride to the Bund, the Oriental Pearl Tower, Shanghai Aquarium and Old Shanghai.
The hotel is what you would expect of a Radisson with fabulous beds and comfortable seating in the rooms. The staff at the front desk and the Concierge all spoke English and were very helpful with suggestions for food and entertainment. The Sky Bar at the top has a wonderful view of Shanghai. The restaurants and buffet were a bit pricey.
One word of warning, if you get a room with two beds, the beds are more like a size between a twin and a double.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The location is great - on the beat of Nanjing Road with convenient access to the metro, a short walk to the Bund, shopping and other attractions.

We were upgraded to suite room on a very high floor that offered fantastic views of Shanghai. Unfortunately, the room faced north and in September, turned the room into an oven. Adding to this problem, the hotel air conditioning was centrally controlled which meant that even though we modified the temperature setting of our in-room air conditioner to 21 deg C (the lowest thermostat setting), we only ever saw was 23 - 24deg C through the entire week. The room itself was in excellent condition. Not brand-spanking new, but all aspects were well maintained (except for the air con). The maintenance staff did try to help us, but there wasn't much they could do.

The staff was super. Breakfast had variety, as with the restuarant's buffet lunch.

Would I stay here again on the Puxi side? Yes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having stayed at the Radisson New world over 25 times this will be my last stay and my last review on this hotel. From the time I last wrote about this hotel things have gone downhill and fast. There is almost no internet service. It is erratic and slow. Staying at this hotel for business only, the internet is an essential part of my stay. Though the rooms are big and comfortable, they are dated and need a refit. Some of the rooms that they have redone are for the worse with extremely uncomfortable sofa's and chairs. One minor point that is totally irritating is that the turndown service is done at 5:00pm which is a totally ridiculous time. Another point is that never once in the times I have checked in was I acknowledged as a returning guest. I'll find another hotel in Shanghai that at least appreciate a returning customer.

Room Tip: If you want any kind of internet service do not stay on the high floors of the city tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Outstanding service, super clean and comfortable room, and excellent location for hopping on the metro to anywhere. Love the pool/jacuzzi area which is hardly used, and riding the elevator to the Sky Dome bar for a nightcap overlooking city lights is a big plus. Epicure revolving restaurant was also very special. Nice dark chocolates for turn down service and complimentary fresh fruit left in room every day. Awesome! I've stayed at Marriott Tomorrow Square and Grand Hyatt Pudong and would pick Raddison Blu over those properties because of location, skydome bar, and pool (and the room rate is lower)...not to mention the unpretentious but elegant service. Stayed 4th night free on Raddison special deal, making this property very affordable compared to similar properties of its caliber. I had no problem with wi-fi and it's free without any login hassle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great location...just opposite shopping malls and the underground train and 15mins walk to the Bund. The service was excellent...as soon as I arrived, checked in and to my room...it was quick and with a smile. A great place to stay and being close to the elevated expressways, the trip to and from the airport, even in peak times, was under an hour from Pudong.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#19 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#28 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#40 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#48 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#223 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 4.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.