We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location great....food not so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Location great....food not so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

As with most other reviews, I can concur that the location for this hotel cannot be faulted, although with such a good metro system, any hotel near a station would be equally as good. My room was not ready when I arrived, and initially I was advised I would have to wait, however the senior desk clerk intervened and I was offered a room right away on the 34th floor. Initially I was disappointed to discover I had been given 2 single beds instead of the double bed I had booked but I was so tired by then I really didn't care. In any case the beds were really comfortable and the bed linen was of good quality. The bed was slightly wider than a regular single anyway. Rooms are a bit bizarre in that the wall between the toilet and the rest of the room is a glass window with a venetian blind! Heaven only knows why? View from my own room was rubbish. Cleaning staff were fine although during my 6 night stay I arrived home one day at 15.30 to find that my room had still not been serviced. I met a supervisor on the floor who prmised my room would be cleaned right away and it was...I actually think it was an oversight! Chocolates from the turn down service were delicious!
I did not have breakfast but ate in the 24hr restaurant on the first floor on my first night. At the time I thought it was just okay..but later felt robbed to find out it cost approx £40. So..... not worth it! Selection of food choice in the buffet was average at best.
The swimming pool and jacuzzi was great although it was not made clear....and I'm still not sure....what the changing room arrangements were meant to be.
Yes, the hotel reception all spoke English but some were far better than others. Many Chinese people's English is very heavily accented and you really have to listen carefully to catch what is being said. No major problem though. The concierge, although unable to sort out my late travel arrangements was great and really went out of his way to assist. I would stay here again. Overall it ws good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room with a view over the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    457
    104
    20
    17
See reviews for
142
256
88
463
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
132 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed in Radisson Blu Shanghai New World for 3 nights. The hotel is beautiful and nicely done with great amenities and facilities for the residents. I and my wife enjoyed staying in the hotel. The location of the hotel is wonderful and the vicinity of the hotel is lovely and enjoying. The view from the room on the upper floors is extremely magnificent and one can see most of the landmark buildings during daylight or in night when the city is well lit and illuminated. It is close to the People's Square, Pedestrian Street and the short walking distance from the Bund. It is in the heart of the Shanghai city, and is in walking distance from several tourist places. The restaurants in the hotel offer excellent food. The revolving restaurant on the 45th floor is the unique restaurant in Shanghai. We enjoyed dining in the restaurant where I celebrated my wife's birthday. The pub in the hotel on the top floor dome is also very nice and enjoyable, which offers a live music till very late in the night. I happily recommend tourists and people traveling on business to stay in the hotel and enjoy the pleasure.

Room Tip: Preference for a room on the upper floors, from where one can have a wonderful city view during dayl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Höhenkirchen-Siegertsbrunn, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

You can not get a much more central location then this. Easy access to the subway system of Shanghai, if you need to go further.
Hotel has a very nice gym and swimming pool. This is above average. Breakfast, is what you expect but not more. All over the hotel there is free wifi, with a decent speed.
The restaurant on the 45 floor is expensive with average food. The bar on the 47 is nice to relax in, but the beer is expensive. If I remember correctly 60 RMB for a local beer. In a normal convenience store you pay 1/10 of that for a can...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Easy access, right dowtown Shanghai, 20 minutes from river. just off major pedestrian mall. Great breakfast buffet

Room Tip: get a high floor great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Location is good for inner city with good access to mall and park.
Staff are good and friendly and speak good english.Breakfast is good with a great selection of options. Finding the bar on the top floor is tricky, but a good view over Shanghai when you find it.
Safe central and well appointed so worth the stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the new building, much bigger and well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Nice hotel, good service. Very clean. It looks like they have a lot of staff. Even the ashtrays on every floor (around 35 floors) next to elevator are clean with the Hotel Logo in the Sand.

The hotel is very big and therefore maybe not very personal, but the service was very good. No complaints at all! Breakfast is expensive but good!
Nice restaurant at the 45th floor, but not spectacular food. The Swimming pool/ Sauna is nice!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great clean rooms.

Close to attractions and safe area.

Staff can speak pretty good english.

Room Tip: Ask to be high up in the hotel - better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World

Address: No.88 Nanjing West Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200003, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#17 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#26 Romantic Hotel in Shanghai
#36 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#44 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#200 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World 4.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience stylish accommodation in the heart of China's largest city at the Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World. Visit this centrally located hotel for excellent shopping at the world-famous Nanjing Road mall and immerse yourself in Chinese culture at People's Park. Unwind in the hotel's Vita Spa, one of the finest spa's in Shanghai, indulge in a wide range of delicacies at one of the five food and beverage outlets and host professional events in the 953-square-meter meeting space. With its unique 208-meter tower that features a revolving restaurant and sky bar, Radisson Blu is an icon in the city's skyline. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Shanghai
Shanghai Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Hotel Shanghai New World, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.