We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK, but pay a little bit more for something a lot nicer” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Haode Wanyuan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Haode Wanyuan Hotel to your Saves list
Haode Wanyuan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.599 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200120, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,084 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“OK, but pay a little bit more for something a lot nicer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip in July 2012. Check in was quick although no one on reception spoke any English. Fortunately a Chinese colleague had booked my room so after handing over my passport my details were quickly found. Was able to check in at 9am which was nice after an overnight flight from UK.

Room was very large with super-king bed. Very firm bed but clean bedding and duvet rather than sheets & blankets. Carpet on floor had a lot of stains which was a bit off putting. Small bathroom, no bath, but shower was fine. Small fridge in room and strange seperate kitchen area which I didn't use but had gas hob, microwave & sink.

Large old TV in room but didn't use, wired Internet access worked but was very slow. No WIFI.

The 3rd floor should have gym, steam rooms, library, bar etc but all locked up and clearly not been open in months - very dissapointing.

2nd floor restaurant was OK. Had breakfast a couple of times but nothing to write home about - buffet style attempt at western fused with Chinese! Dinner was pleasant enough and reasonably priced by western standards, but not cheap by Chinese.

Air conditioning in room was very noisy. Options are no sleep because of the noise or no sleep because of the heat.

All in all not a bad experience but should have paid £30 a night more for better or £50 a night more for really quite nice hotel in much nicer area. I paid £52 per night for upgraded room (apparently!)

I took English tea bags, coffee, sugar and porridge pots which were a God send. Bought milk from little shop opposite hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    34
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shenzhen, China
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We ended up here as no other hotel rooms available at a decent price due to some conference. The entree, lobby and corridors are not looking that fresh anymore but the room is very good. We booked a business room, it was spacy and also had a separate kitchen. Free wired Internet with reasonable speed. Very good beds. Didn't try the food or the gym. Overall a good room for a decent price, around $75 per night and 5 minutes walk from the subway station. I will consider staying here again. Be aware of all the spicy girl bars across the hotel.
Note the hotel entry is NOT at Pudong Avenue.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2009

We stayed there one night. Checked in, took a hot shower, ordered room service - the meal was terrific. The bed was fine, the room was large enough, - really a pleasant surprise. The buffet breakfast in the morning was not impressive. But a short walk down the street are plenty of restaurants. We are planning on staying there again. I think we paid $66 USD for one night.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Location of hotel is quite good for crossing over by taxi to Puxi or going to Lujiajui. Unfortunately, its ambience and accessibility is somewhat spoilt by ongoing Metro construction work on Pudong Avenue. Neighbourhood is a little dusty but not unduly noisy. Room offers good size and comfort, without any unnecessary features or over-intrusive service. Another plus is the convenience of dining at the 2 wonderful Chinese restaurants on either side of the Pudong Avenue entrance. One is a popular Sichuan restaurant; the other a newly opened "Fusion" place featuring interesting dishes like Foie Gras done Chinese-style and Prime Mutton sourced from Hainan.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haode Wanyuan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haode Wanyuan Hotel

Address: No.599 Pudong Avenue, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200120, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,084 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haode Wanyuan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Haode Wanyuan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haode Wanyuan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.