We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Salvo Hotel Shanghai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Salvo Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Salvo Hotel Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.339 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China (People's Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #146 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 743 Reviews
Durham, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Weird hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel on first glance appears very grand. It is a high rise building with a large lobby. All of the rooms are suites, with a bedroom with window and tv, then a living room with wardrobes, tv, sofa, and desk, and a bathroom with bath and shower. Breakfast in on the 31st floor so the view is good. The general location of the hotel is great, next to East Nanjing station, which links with both airports, within easy reach of Pudong, and a short walk from the Bund.

It is upon closer inspection however when the hotel starts to fall down. The staff are unfriendly andthere is only a tiny part of the lobby where you can sit without having to buy something for the priviledge. Wifi is apparently available in the lobby but logging on was very difficult and we never managed it. Our room also smelled horrible (the smell seemed on and off so I don't know where it was coming from), but it was on the side of the hotel that looked over the Bund and I didn't want to lose that if we complained and had to move rooms. The decor is a little shabby and random, and to be honest I would have preferred the option of a bigger room rather than a suite, as we never had any use for a living room. The bathroom has a very strange shower in the corner of a sectioned off part of the bathroom, that is mainly taken with a large corner bath. Like I said - random. The breakfast also isn;t anything to write home about.

Given the weirdness of the place though, the rooms are quite comfortable and the price and location mean that it's probably worth it and I certainly wouldn't rule out staying there again.

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    409
    118
    33
    24
See reviews for
77
162
61
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

it was an excellent experience for me. I got a room on the 15th floor facing the River with wonderful views. The room was very large – actually divided into a bedroom and a working/living room, very convenient, and with the most comfortable beds.Breakfast is adequate but a little tough getting sit to eat. the location is great just 10 minute walk from the bund and subway and river area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldcoast
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

recently stayed at the salvo for five nights and had a great time..

the location is great just 10 minute walk from the bund and subway ..

there are great eateries nearby and the hotel breakfast is fantastic , I really enjoyed it..

the room was out dated though
with old tv and the bed was to hard for me...

an only wi-fi in the lobby

but overall the staff where great and will stay again

Room Tip: get an upper level room as the views are great..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We spent our first night in China at this hotel, and it was an excellent experience for us. We got a room on the 20th floor facing the Bund with wonderful views. The room was very large – actually divided into a bedroom and a working/living room, very convenient, and with the most comfortable beds we had in China. Bathroom was clean with separate Jacuzzi and shower.
The hotel is located right in the middle and with walking distance to the Bund, East Nanjing Road, People’s Square, and the Old Town with the Yuyan Garden. This was very convenient.

Breakfast was excellent with lots of Chinese and western items. We also had one dinner at the hotel, and we liked it very much. The service at the restaurant was good, however the people at the front desk were not so friendly. However, if we ever get back to Shanghai no doubt we will stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 20th floor facing the Bund, and had wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Ok Where does one start. I have been to China twice before, so we can't make the excuse" its china what do you expect!" This hotel is the worst hotel I have ever stayed out. Arrived late at night. Emailed them twice before we arrived to ask them a question and they never got back to me. That should have been a hint. The receptionist was more than rude. She was insulting. There was no excuse. Can't use the language barrier on this one. She was just a mean person. The hotel room was tidy but not clean 4* for china clean. Its was ok. Next morning went for breakfast. It was the worst experience I have ever had in a hotel. Just don't go here. It is like a pigs trough. The people are horrible, the food discusting. The food area filthy and tables dishes and cutlery really bad. There was a conceirge just picking a pimple until it bleed speaking to us. We just couldn't believe it. We ended up going to another hotel for breakfast and would not obviously eat there for any other meals. Went to other hotels to eat dinnner. Yes the location is good. Yes the view is ok but guys go to another 4* the views are just as good if not better. This hotel wrecked our holiday, gave a terrible impression of china and their people. Again don't go here!!!!!!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights, the room suite very comfortable with big Chinese modern bathroom... Clean, comfort bedding, 2 LCD tv, no wifi. The location just along canton street, plenty of Canton food speaks cantonese, just 10mins walk to Nanjing pedestrian shopping...the price for this suite room very reasonable....very busy with universal tourists...the helpful concierge arrange and guided us very well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Got the room with the Bund view at 27th floor. It was wonderful to fall asleep and wake up with this beautiful view. The location is not bad, in a walking distance to the Bund and Nanjing road. The taxis we took know the hotel by just showing the Chinese-writing Name. Check-in was slow without any smile from the staff. The number of staff at the reception is not enough to serve lots of people at check-out time. The room is over-decorated for me. There are 2 TVs, one in the bed room section, another one in the working/living room section. There is big massaging bath tab and small area for shower. The choices of breakfast are so-so. There are Asian style like boiled rice set, Chinese bun, a kind of sushi and western style food with small choices. A choice of 8 fruits but they are not fresh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Salvo Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salvo Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.339 Guangdong Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200001, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > People's Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#127 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#127 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Salvo Hotel Shanghai 4*
Number of rooms: 594
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Salvo Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salvo Hotel Zhongfu Shifuhui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salvo Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.