We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good locations for business in pduong, Dutch staff !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1000 Yanggao North Road, Pudong New District | Near China (Shanghai) Pilot Free Trade Zone Gate 3, Shanghai 200137, China (Waigaoqiao)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #85 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good locations for business in pduong, Dutch staff !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Nice location for doing business near Pudong.English speaking Dutch staff ( named Malou) who is in fully control of the front office. Not many Chinese staff is able to sepak evglish so this is big plus!

Room Tip: Nice room, nice swimming pool, breakfats is excellent. value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Senga104,

Thank you for sharing your comments about hotel on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate it very much and have shared your comments with Malou and her supervisor. It is great to hear such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel, thank you again.


Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    104
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
8
12
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I would just like to say that I really enjoyed my stay at the Crowne Plaza Pudong. The experience of fine dining and spectacular hospitality made my stay even more enjoyable and of course the stay in china just a little more special. If by chance my future endeavours lead me back to Shanghai, China I hope to re-visit the Crowne Plaza Pudong.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear 2UNDAScrolls,

Thank you for sharing such a favorable comment about our hotel on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate it very much and have shared your comments with all appropriate departments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and make your stay more enjoyable.



Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Worst part: Came back to our room to find the door wide open as if cleaning room forgot to close it. Our dinner in the Restaurant took 1.5 hours til we received the one Hamburger we shared and there were only two other tables. Their reason "There's a lot of people calling room service". I was surprised not one person in the entire restaurant knew what Mayonnaise or Mustard was. I doubt we were the first people to ask for it in the years it's been open, but maybe? We took a shot at the bar and never got service there either for just a drink. When we went down the next day for lunch they said the restaurant was closed so only the Tour Groups could eat there. Not sure where they had in mind for us to eat then? Our two breakfasts tasted like grease. I also had just come from 2 other 5 star hotels on this same trip, so maybe I expected more...... But I would never recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Kindra Z,

Thank you for taking the time to give feedback on your stay. It was upsetting to hear that your stay failed to meet your expectation and we already shared your comments with all appropriate departments to improve our service.

Thank you again for your comments, and it will help us to make our hotel better in the future.


Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The quality of the service was excellent. The hotel staff spoke very good English and were friendly and helpful. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The gym was very well equipped. Overall a great experience...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear John C,

Thank you for sharing your favorable comments about our facilities and service on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate it very much and have shared your comments with all appropriate departments and staff. We look forward to exceeding your expectations again sometime soon.



Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had a really great stay at the Crowne Plaza Pudong recently. The bedroom was large and the bed was very comfortable, the gym and spa were excellent and the breakfast was outstanding - so much choice, all fresh. The wifi in the room was quick too. The staff were very helpful, particularly the front desk and concierge staff. And they all had great English. I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Maririgirl,

Thank you for sharing your favorable comments about our facilities and service on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate it very much and have shared your comments with all appropriate departments and staff.

Thanks again for the detailed commentary, that should inspire us, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.



Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

I had a very comfortable stay at the Crowne Plaza Pudong. Lovely spacious, clean and fresh rooms and excellent Hotel amenities. Friendly staff that understand english well. The buffet breakfast was excellent too - most enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear Justine Cormack,

Thank you for sharing your favorable comments about our facilities and service on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate it very much and have shared your comments with all appropriate departments and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great friendly staff especially at the front desk. Hotel is in a good location, easy to get around from there. Pleasant executive lounge with a good breakfast. Rooms are well appointed and clean, beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front seem the most pleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SHGCP, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Bruce M W,

Thank you for sharing your favorable comments about our hotel’s staff and facilities on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate it very much and have also shared your comments with all appropriate departments.

You may be interested to know that the hotel launched a New Zealand Food & Wine Promotion on 6th Sept running through to 15th Oct, we look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy it.


Michael Beechey
General Manager | Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong
Michael.beechey@ihg.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong

Address: No.1000 Yanggao North Road, Pudong New District | Near China (Shanghai) Pilot Free Trade Zone Gate 3, Shanghai 200137, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Waigaoqiao
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#79 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
#149 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong 4.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong is an upscale business hotel that truly understands and fulfills the needs of the frequent traveler. Located in the CBD of China (Shanghai) Pilot Free Trade Zone in the New Area of Pudong, east of Shanghai. The hotel is easy access to the Pilot Free Trade Zone Administration, Waigaoqiao International Exhibition and Trading Center for Wine & Beverage, SUNLAND Waigaoqiao International Ecological Port City. Enjoying the stunning views of whole Pilot Free Trade Zone with our extensive Club Lounge. Just 35 minutes drive from Shanghai Pudong International Airport and Shanghai Hongqiao International Airport, we are an excellent support base for business travelers. Hangjin Road subway station is 10 minutes' walk away, with easy connections into Shanghai city centre. Also just 10 minutes by driving to Golf Course, Rugby Club and Bingjiang River ParkWe offer not only a comprehensive range of meeting services and comfortable rooms, but also attractive leisure and entertainment facilities to refresh yourself after a hard day’s work. To ensure your event is a success, we offer on and off-site catering and a fully professional meetings support team. Whether on business or pleasure, Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong is the right choice when TRAVELING FOR SUCCESS. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong Hotel Shanghai
Shanghai Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Shanghai Pudong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.