We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, clean and well located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Save Saved
You added Hotel Equatorial Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.65 Yan'an West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #168 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, clean and well located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed for 7 nights on recent business trip. Check in/out was fast and efficient.
Good centrally located accommodation here, with clean rooms, comfortable bed and nicely fitted out bathroom facilities. The breakfast buffet was very good, nicely presented and with a wide selection of asian and western foods on offer, Restaurant was clean clean and well staffed by friendly staff, most of whom have some english speaking capability. There are some very good restaurants located within walking distance (5 - 10 minutes walk), and it is only a short taxi ride into the main city/river front precinct (a visit here is recommended).

Room Tip: good views if you get up high, as it is not too 'surrounded' by other buildings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    136
    51
    9
    4
See reviews for
6
18
29
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ordway, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Breakfast buffet average but nice.......room very comfy.....Hotel close to shops and few other restaurants.......Staff friendly and helpful.....laundry done well...Because the Lounge was so smoky (and got worse as the evening progressed)...we sat in the dining room (main floor restaurant) and the wait staff brought us our drinks there.....much appreciated!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Equatorial for four nights with a team of young Canadian athletes. The rooms, location, service and the excellent breakfast made this a very pleasant part of our trip. While the boys were training the parents took advantage of the opportunity to explore the area on foot. It was a delightful experience and I always felt very safe even at night which I haven't always been able to say in some of the cities I have visited. I would definitely recommend this hotel for Western travelers looking for mix of familiar comforts and local colour. As an added bonus I was able to get some custom shirts and jackets made at the shop in the lobby and was very pleased with the final product.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay. To provide the perfect and personalized services to every guest of ours and ensure their complete comfort and total enjoyment is always the aim that every staff of Hotel Equatorial Shanghai are trying to achieve. Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The club amenities are great. Room can be updated a little a bit small but cozy. Our favorite part was going to the club for snacks. Exercise room is OK but a little outdated. The staff are very friendly. Overall good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay. To provide the perfect and personalized services to every guest of ours and ensure their complete comfort and total enjoyment is always the aim that every staff of Hotel Equatorial Shanghai are trying to achieve. Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent a night for business at early June.

The check in is a disaster. Kept we waiting for nearly 30mins.
I ask and re-ask for a smoking room and I been wondering would they be so stupid to give me a non-smoking room.
AND HEY, IT JUST CAME TRUE.

I mean cmon, wake up, it already wasnt because of language barrier since I speak Mandarin.
It just give u an impression the staff dont care.

The room is okay. Nothing wrong with bed and bathroom.
HBO is a plus but internet needing extra charge is a big no-no.
Not saying I am not willing to pay for it.(My company is paying so who cares?)
But this is just SO basic nowadays.
Spent my whole night working so I didn't check out the gym nor pool.

The only good thing about this hotel is the breakfast, which is not bad in China and HBO.
That's all. I will definitely stay else where if I come to Shanghai again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice hotel with awesome common areas and great staff. The rooms are a decent size for china and a cool eclectic mix of classic asian and modern but are a bit in disrepair especially the bathrooms could use some freashening and updating but overall a nice room. The food is excellent and the continental breakfast is world class. The lobby, lounge and all common areas are second to none. The staff is very friendly speak pretty good english and are helpful, with the exception of the fact that everyone smokes everywhere but that is China wide so nothing you can do about that this was a great stay oh and the veiws are incredible!!! Happy traveling everyone

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our group of 20 stayed at the Hotel Equatorial for 6 nights at the end of April/early May. We were more than satisfied with the rooms, service and breakfasts. Staff were friendly and helpful and we would have no hesitation in staying there again. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Jing An Temple MRT. There are several bars just around the corner and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Address: No.65 Yan'an West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Shanghai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is ideally located in the central business district of Puxi. A superior first class hotel fully renovated from top to bottom. 507 guest rooms and suites, a wide range of food and beverage outlets, extensive recreational, meetings and convention facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Ctrip DaoDao, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.