We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three nights in Shanghai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Equatorial Shanghai to your Saves list
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.65 Yan'an West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #149 of 4,068 Hotels in Shanghai
Ordway, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Three nights in Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Breakfast buffet average but nice.......room very comfy.....Hotel close to shops and few other restaurants.......Staff friendly and helpful.....laundry done well...Because the Lounge was so smoky (and got worse as the evening progressed)...we sat in the dining room (main floor restaurant) and the wait staff brought us our drinks there.....much appreciated!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 058Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Hotel Equatorial for four nights with a team of young Canadian athletes. The rooms, location, service and the excellent breakfast made this a very pleasant part of our trip. While the boys were training the parents took advantage of the opportunity to explore the area on foot. It was a delightful experience and I always felt very safe even at night which I haven't always been able to say in some of the cities I have visited. I would definitely recommend this hotel for Western travelers looking for mix of familiar comforts and local colour. As an added bonus I was able to get some custom shirts and jackets made at the shop in the lobby and was very pleased with the final product.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay. To provide the perfect and personalized services to every guest of ours and ensure their complete comfort and total enjoyment is always the aim that every staff of Hotel Equatorial Shanghai are trying to achieve. Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The club amenities are great. Room can be updated a little a bit small but cozy. Our favorite part was going to the club for snacks. Exercise room is OK but a little outdated. The staff are very friendly. Overall good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Activestate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay. To provide the perfect and personalized services to every guest of ours and ensure their complete comfort and total enjoyment is always the aim that every staff of Hotel Equatorial Shanghai are trying to achieve. Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Spent a night for business at early June.

The check in is a disaster. Kept we waiting for nearly 30mins.
I ask and re-ask for a smoking room and I been wondering would they be so stupid to give me a non-smoking room.
AND HEY, IT JUST CAME TRUE.

I mean cmon, wake up, it already wasnt because of language barrier since I speak Mandarin.
It just give u an impression the staff dont care.

The room is okay. Nothing wrong with bed and bathroom.
HBO is a plus but internet needing extra charge is a big no-no.
Not saying I am not willing to pay for it.(My company is paying so who cares?)
But this is just SO basic nowadays.
Spent my whole night working so I didn't check out the gym nor pool.

The only good thing about this hotel is the breakfast, which is not bad in China and HBO.
That's all. I will definitely stay else where if I come to Shanghai again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinW797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel with awesome common areas and great staff. The rooms are a decent size for china and a cool eclectic mix of classic asian and modern but are a bit in disrepair especially the bathrooms could use some freashening and updating but overall a nice room. The food is excellent and the continental breakfast is world class. The lobby, lounge and all common areas are second to none. The staff is very friendly speak pretty good english and are helpful, with the exception of the fact that everyone smokes everywhere but that is China wide so nothing you can do about that this was a great stay oh and the veiws are incredible!!! Happy traveling everyone

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spearwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Our group of 20 stayed at the Hotel Equatorial for 6 nights at the end of April/early May. We were more than satisfied with the rooms, service and breakfasts. Staff were friendly and helpful and we would have no hesitation in staying there again. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Jing An Temple MRT. There are several bars just around the corner and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

OK, first things first, this isn't the best hotel in Shanghai, however I was pleasantly surprised by it. I was travelling with a colleague who stays there regularly and I was expecting something a bit seedy based on the other reviews here and what he was telling me, but in reality it was nothing like that. Yes the rooms are dated, but they are clean and comfortable and a good size. The Cafe serves food which is edible and a good mix of western dishes. Something does go a bit wrong with room service though so I wouldn't recommend that. Also, the hotel is in a great location, over the road from Jing an temple and the shopping Mall, close to the park, and right next door to the much more expensive Hilton. Personally for value for money you would struggle to beat this hotel in Shanghai!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WallabyGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shanghai hotels
Jing'an
Hilton Shanghai
Hilton Shanghai
#65 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 1,919 reviews
Jing'an
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
Swissotel Grand Shanghai
#49 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 871 reviews
Zhongshan Park
New World Shanghai Hotel
New World Shanghai Hotel
#15 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jing'an
Paramount Gallery Hotel
Paramount Gallery Hotel
#147 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Old Town
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
Shanghai Narada Boutique Bund
#46 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Jing'an
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
The PuLi Hotel and Spa
#5 of 4,068 in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Equatorial Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Address: No.65 Yan'an West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 4,068 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Equatorial Shanghai 4.5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is ideally located in the central business district of Puxi. A superior first class hotel fully renovated from top to bottom. 506 guest rooms and suites, a wide range of food and beverage outlets, extensive recreational, meetings and convention facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing