We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Execellent value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Save Saved
You added Hotel Equatorial Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.65 Yan'an West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #169 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Arcata, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Execellent value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The club amenities are great. Room can be updated a little a bit small but cozy. Our favorite part was going to the club for snacks. Exercise room is OK but a little outdated. The staff are very friendly. Overall good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay. To provide the perfect and personalized services to every guest of ours and ensure their complete comfort and total enjoyment is always the aim that every staff of Hotel Equatorial Shanghai are trying to achieve. Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible. Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    136
    51
    9
    4
See reviews for
6
18
29
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent a night for business at early June.

The check in is a disaster. Kept we waiting for nearly 30mins.
I ask and re-ask for a smoking room and I been wondering would they be so stupid to give me a non-smoking room.
AND HEY, IT JUST CAME TRUE.

I mean cmon, wake up, it already wasnt because of language barrier since I speak Mandarin.
It just give u an impression the staff dont care.

The room is okay. Nothing wrong with bed and bathroom.
HBO is a plus but internet needing extra charge is a big no-no.
Not saying I am not willing to pay for it.(My company is paying so who cares?)
But this is just SO basic nowadays.
Spent my whole night working so I didn't check out the gym nor pool.

The only good thing about this hotel is the breakfast, which is not bad in China and HBO.
That's all. I will definitely stay else where if I come to Shanghai again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice hotel with awesome common areas and great staff. The rooms are a decent size for china and a cool eclectic mix of classic asian and modern but are a bit in disrepair especially the bathrooms could use some freashening and updating but overall a nice room. The food is excellent and the continental breakfast is world class. The lobby, lounge and all common areas are second to none. The staff is very friendly speak pretty good english and are helpful, with the exception of the fact that everyone smokes everywhere but that is China wide so nothing you can do about that this was a great stay oh and the veiws are incredible!!! Happy traveling everyone

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Our group of 20 stayed at the Hotel Equatorial for 6 nights at the end of April/early May. We were more than satisfied with the rooms, service and breakfasts. Staff were friendly and helpful and we would have no hesitation in staying there again. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the Jing An Temple MRT. There are several bars just around the corner and restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie in London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

OK, first things first, this isn't the best hotel in Shanghai, however I was pleasantly surprised by it. I was travelling with a colleague who stays there regularly and I was expecting something a bit seedy based on the other reviews here and what he was telling me, but in reality it was nothing like that. Yes the rooms are dated, but they are clean and comfortable and a good size. The Cafe serves food which is edible and a good mix of western dishes. Something does go a bit wrong with room service though so I wouldn't recommend that. Also, the hotel is in a great location, over the road from Jing an temple and the shopping Mall, close to the park, and right next door to the much more expensive Hilton. Personally for value for money you would struggle to beat this hotel in Shanghai!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castellon de la Plana, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice hotel,centrally located,undergroud station very close...fitness centre and swimming pool undr renovation, but they dont tell you when you make the reservtion.I booked via intrnet directly with the hotel...they never mentioned the renovation they were undergoing sinceFEBRUARY!!!!! They dont even mention it in their website, i dont think it is fair especially when the pool and the fitness center were two of the main reasons why i book a room in this hotel

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the motorway
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a nice business hotel located in the Puxi, Shanghai in the junction of Yan'an Road and Huashan Road. In the heart of CBD walking distance from the office towers, shopping, ample food variations and an fascinating temple. The MRT Line 2 and Line 7 station at Jing An Temple is a 5-7 minutes walk.

The rooms are at par with star rated business hotels with an wide breakfast buffet offering. Around the corner [walking towards Huashan Road side] is Lawson, a 24 hour convenience store.

If all of these was not enough, there are few pubs accross the street on Huashan Road to destress after a days work. The pubs are open late till 2 am. There are good choices of girls to cozy up with lady drinks.

Couple of massage parlous around. The one behind the hotel is a good one.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Yan'an Road. The view will be better than the back, looking at some roof to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
國際貴都大飯店, Marcom Office at Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valued guest:
Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Equatorial Shanghai and your comments regarding to the stay.Please feel free to contact us if you have any requirement on your future stay. We will do our best to assist you in everyway possible.
Thank you and look forward to be at your service soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Equatorial Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Equatorial Shanghai

Address: No.65 Yan'an West Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #169 of 3,841 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Equatorial Shanghai 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Equatorial Shanghai is ideally located in the central business district of Puxi. A superior first class hotel fully renovated from top to bottom. 507 guest rooms and suites, a wide range of food and beverage outlets, extensive recreational, meetings and convention facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Ctrip DaoDao and Venere so you can book your Hotel Equatorial Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Equatorial Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.