We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Exactly 'Chinese' but Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Acrobatic Dome

Shanghai Acrobatic Dome
No.549 Yanan Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200000, China
021-62550801
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 1,309 things to do in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Not Exactly 'Chinese' but Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

If you have ever seen an acrobatic performance, this will be similar but with enough 'new' acts thrown in to make it interesting for all ages. I found myself holding my breath during several acts (especially the motorcycles spinning in the ball cage) - every time I thought they were 'done', the athletes added another area of complexity to their stunts.

The audience was predominately tour groups - seating was by large tables (on stair-styled raised platforms so that all seats - including the ones in the back - had a view) which meant that people with their back to the stage had to turn their chairs around in order to see the show.

A visually stunning group of athletes and athletics!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    96
    22
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stuff...kid loved it too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

ERA show is superb...lesser only than CHIMELONG circus...superb execution and totally entertaining..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville, NJ
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good show by talented performers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This show didn't disappoint. Although many parts of the performance were similar to what we had seen elsewhere, you can't not appreciate the skill and hard work that these athletes displayed. In fact many acts were unique and deserved the sore hands we experienced from our clapping.

The seating arrangement of the theater was good and there is probably not a really bad seat in the house. Also, good bathrooms downstairs.

We were surprised to see that the performers were not the very young gymnasts that we were used to seeing in the Olympics. I understood that these shows are typically staged by the talented students from the sports schools that are not talented enough to represent China on the world's stages. Pretty damn good anyway.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Typical acrobatic performance but truly talented performers. I agree with other reviews, there isn't really a bad seat. I will say the VIP seats really were front, center and very close up so if you enjoy that - go for it! We took the Metro from Nanjing East - only one switch, very easy and when you come upground from the metro at Shanghai Circus, the huge building it right there. You buy tickets downstairs but our hotel called before (it was a Sat night) and reserved two tickets for us. We paid the 300 and were pleased with our seats. Enjoy!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuttack, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

On 4th April I had a chance to go there to the show. It was average. I found nothing very special in this show. However 3 or 4 out of around 22 varieties can be said as excellent. Sitting arrangements were average. Since there were no breaks in between and it is inconvenient to go out of your sit to get something refreshing for this long time of show, I felt somewhat bored. No complimentary soft drink arrangements were there. If you have spare time only, in Shanghai you can opt for the show.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Acrobatic Dome also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Acrobatic Dome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Acrobatic Dome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.