We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Temple Of the Town God (Chenghung Miao)

Shanghai Temple Of the Town God (Chenghung Miao)
No.1 Yicheng Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
021-63284494
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Private Tour
$68*
and up
Private Tour: Yuyuan Garden, Chenghuangmiao...
Ranked #59 of 1,305 things to do in Shanghai
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Every Chinese city once had its Temple of the Town God, the central shrine for Daoist worship. Shànghai's version dates from 1403 when local official Qín Yùbó, who had been posthumously designated as Shànghai's patron town god by the Míng Dynasty Hóngwu emperor (A.D. 1328-98), was finally honored with his own temple, though it didn't take on its present name until 1929.
chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

There were just people everywhere, but what an amazing experience. Love all the little shop they had to offer. My husband and I went into a small eatery and got some noodles and dumplings. A little hard ordering our food (we deployed a combination of pointing and nodding), but the food was good and dirt cheap. We went into many of the little shops and had our share of bargains (well, maybe we've been had, but we thought it was a bargain). As we walked around, we even bought some Jack Fruit from a stand. We saw two men opening this large spiky fruit and was so curious that we had to try some. My husband didn't like it and I thought it tasted weird, but...what a great experience.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    227
    97
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Northwest
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“The place to go if you want cheap imitation goods.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Title says it all. Be prepared for crowds, touts and high prices. 10% of the initial asking price should be what your paying to most goods (although sad to say, I would suspect that the opening price will be determined by the color of your skin and how well you speak the local dialect). If you don't get what you are looking for, just walk away and a tout will start hounding you to negotiate. The further you walk, the lower the price. Why? Because there are probably 50 other shops here that carry the same pile of junk who are willing to sell them for cheaper.

* there is a Starbucks located in the interior court yard and fee washrooms in larger restaurants (does require climbing up 3 flights of stairs to access the ones that we found).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Must visit at least for once!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Great location for food and sightseeing - great place to take some nice photo. Over price for shopping. Very crowded throughout the day especially weekend. Must visit if you are first time in Shanghai.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Cheap shopping”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

the main attraction of the temple is actually the shopping area nearby.
Wholesale market n souvenir stalls aplenty.
Prepare to bargain to as low as 10% of indicated price.
All fakes n cheap stuff.
Interesting to observe what is available n the intrresting building structures.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Crowded! But fun”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a review of the shopping area only. Honestly, it was so crowded on the Sunday morning we visited that it was hard to realize there was a temple there.

Tons of shops, touristy and less so. It was the first place we went in Shanghai after visiting the walk by the river to see Pudong, so the amazing crowds were fun. I think there are places that are more fun to shop (see some of my other reviews) but this is worth seeing because of the water and bridges. We didn't eat here, but it looked to me like there were some good dumpling restaurants. There is a McDonald's if you are feeling desperate.

Do NOT buy camera cards from the vendors there. Mine was a counterfeit. (No kidding, I know.) I was in a bind and was willing to try one. Just save your money.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanghai Temple Of the Town God (Chenghung Miao) also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Shanghai Temple Of the Town God (Chenghung Miao)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Temple Of the Town God (Chenghung Miao), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.