We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yuyuan Bazaar

Yuyuan Bazaar
No.269 Fangbang Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
021-63559999
Improve this listing
Visit Yuyuan Bazaar like an insider
Private Tour
$115*
and up
Private Tour: Zhujiajiao, Oriental Pearl Tower...
Ranked #7 of 490 Shopping in Shanghai
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Yuyuan is a bustling marketplace set in an old Chinese neighborhood with traditional architecture and shops selling everything from dumplings to kitsch. A great place for people-watching and picking up Chinese souvenirs, and close to the nearby Yuyuan Gardens.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I visited here on a wet afternoon on my way back to my hotel so it was not as crowded as I imagine it gets but I enjoyed wandering around this place. The shops and eateries were quite charming and largely unique and not as tacky as I had anticipated. There were one or two "Mekkahs of utter tourist tat" but for the most part it was more antiques, clothing and handicrafts. Just wandering around looking at the buildings is enjoyable and the gardens are gorgeous.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    230
    111
    19
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Touristy yet fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

You can find some beautiful and unique handicrafts there, be prepared to bargain hard and know in advance what you are prepared to spend. Be fair without being taken advantage of.
Yu Garden is a little piece of heaven, so quiet and beautiful. Be sure to visit first thing in the morning before tour groups. The fee is 30rmb. There are two temples around to visit as well.
It is touristy, but all places touristy are nice to visit! Have fun!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Nan Xiang Restaurant is Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

There is a steamed bun establishment (Nan Xiang) which seems to be local favorite in this market as they form a long queue line for the dumpling.

However, don't bother go to their restaurant which is located in second+ floor. Service is horrible (took forever for the order to arrive), place is dirty, and we eventually had to spent 400 RMB for 4 persons drinks (orange juice and chinese tea), 2 dumpling baskets (each containing 6 small dumplings), 4 soups, and small cold fish.

Realized that this is way overpriced when we went to other eateries the next day where we only pay 700 RMB for a feast of 11 persons (drinks included).

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great place to hangout, gardens are awesome, beware of scams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The Yuyuan Bazaar is a great place to hangout, shop, or eat. Lots of people having fun. The gardens are nice way to escape the madness if only for a moment. Beware of scam aritists as it seems as if they are attracted to this place for the sole purpose of taking advantage of unsuspecting tourists. Avoid ANYONE trying to befirend you for no apparent reason other than because you are you. Be smart. Have Fun!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

As an Expat living in Shanghai for the next few months, I want to get out and do some shopping. This is an excellent place to shop for souviners and gifts for friends and relitives. But do not be to egar to pay the price marked on the item you want, unless money is no object to you. After my trip here in Feb 2013, I was a bit fearful of being taken advantage of, as I was at the Jade Buddha Temple Gift Shop. This time, was different, I was not so "stary-eyed" and better prepared. The garden area opens at 8:30 am, there is a cost to see this garden (goning there Monday with my husband). The Bazaar shops are free, but do not open until 10 am. i had gone to this Bazaar in the afternoon back in Mar (my first visit to Shanghai), it was VERY crowded. This time I went just as the shops were opening, the crowd was much smaller and making my way thru the many shops was a breeze! I used the "willing to walk away" apporach and was able to purchase 6 pair of pearl earrings, a lovely 4 strand pearl necklace (watched as they strun the pearls, GREAT experience) 3 nice silk scarves, a set of wooden chop sticks, a few nice pieces of jade ( one lovely Rabbit key chain for myself), 3 "jade" laughing buddha's and a snack. All at great prices too! I had such a great experience I am planning another shopping trip next week! If you go: go early in the morning, know what you want to pay for an item, be willing to walk away if the price is to high (as there is another shop down the way who is selling the same item), stay away from the street "hawkers" (you can get better quaility and price at most shops), be selective of the shops as not all have quality items, do not allow yourself to be led into any shop you do not want to go, and most importantly do not be afraid to say no. The street hawkers may require several NO's, I had to get very firm with one fellow. Happy shopping my friends, hoping you have a WONDERFUL shopping experience at the Yuyuan Bazaar!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yuyuan Bazaar also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Yuyuan Bazaar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yuyuan Bazaar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.