We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very creative dishes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Je Me Souviens Restaurant

Je Me Souviens Restaurant
No.663 Jiujiang Road,5 floor, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China
+86 21 6120 7657
Improve this listing
Ranked #78 of 12,562 Restaurants in Shanghai
4.5 of 5 stars 41 Reviews
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Cantonese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Je me Souviens is a Cantonese Fusion restaurant which strives to create an innovative dining experience based on perfect balance of healthy food from reliable sources.
Sanya, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very creative dishes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is the most special restaurant Shanghai. Very creative dishes, each dish is like a work of art. Great dining experience! Very memorable! Thank you!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    10
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A must in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Can be easily missed, but it's worth the effort (it's on the 5th floor of the Theatre building). Really good food! The Chinese Manager speaks very good English, went with his recommendations on menu choices. Very well presented food. All in with beers was c £30 for 2. All the staff were attentive and made you feel welcome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Je Me Souviens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We saw reviews of this on Trip Advisor and decided to try. Not the easiest place to find - and the cavernous lift is far from attractive, but we were delighted to have made the effort. The food, basically Chinese with some western characteristics, appealed to me and my Chinese wife (not a unique experience, but quite unusual!). The service was really good, friendly and knowledgeable. The food was beautifully presented and the prices were really reasonable given the quality.
Some of the dishes (and the rice) might have been a bit hotter when they arrived at the table - but we ate ate everything with considerable relish! The cold dish - eggplant in a beautiful sauce - was really special!
We will return!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“A Canadian owner and outstanding Chinese and Western Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The restaurant is actually very conveniently located close to People Square and parallel to the busy Nanjiang East pedestrian shopping street. It is on the fifth floor of an old theatre building, and yes, the elevator taking you up is pretty shabby. But the service is excellent once you step inside. We were taken care of by Eric, the owner and general manager, who grew up in Toronto, Canada. The menu is bilingual, and many dishes have photos so it makes it easy to pick. You can go "completely Chinese" with exotic dishes such as bullfrog and fermented mushrooms, or you can choose a tamer version as a Western guest. We opted for Angus beef cubes over vegetables, which were delicious, stir fried shrimps with cashews served in little edible baskets, and Shanghai fried noodles. Not very adventurous, but all very tasty! The best came at the end: we tried the special house dessert, little chocolate mousse balls infused with ice wine, served on crisp sesame crackers and caramelized banana slices. Really outstanding! Don't miss it! And great value for the money.
The decor of the restaurant is a bit stark, but the service warm and friendly and makes up for it. All the servers spoke a little bit of English, which made the visit very easy for us. A real pleasure!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Because of previous Tripadvisor Reviews, my wife and I tried Je Me Souviens for a weekday lunch in Shanghai. We both recommend the restaurant, although I would have given it four stars (instead of the five stars she thought it should rate . . . . ).

Although the restaurant is on the fifth floor of a building, it is easy to find. The major street names (such as JiuJang) are posted on the street corners in both Chinese and English, and the number of the restaurant (663) was posted outside the building in big letters. Then, when you enter the building, you face to your left and take the large brown freight elevator up to the fifth floor. The elevator then opens right into the restaurant.

The service at Je Me Souviens is very attentive. We were greeted with a smile, seated immediately, and offered hot towels. The waitress then took our drink orders while we perused the menu. She also offered us some complimentary fruit, which we said we would take at the end of the meal.

We ordered two small plates of Singapore ribs, an order of Prince Fried Rice, an order of tofu with crab meat, and a couple of beers. The ribs and the rice were outstanding. The tofu had a decent flavor to it, but the mouth feel was not right to us. We are used to tofu that is more firm, and this was quite soft, like jello. So we couldn’t eat much of the tofu. Still, with the fruit we had more than enough to eat, and the all-in price for the meal was only 187 yuan (about $30). After the meal, the waiter brought us another hot towel, and the head waiter (who spoke excellent English) also came over to ask as about our meal. I explained that the tofu was not right for us, and he said he understood, and that this was a traditional Chinese dish, and perhaps he should say something about that to any future Western visitors who might consider ordering it.

The Je Me Souviens also accepted our Visa credit card for payment. I wasn’t sure if they would, but the head waiter noted that the card would probably work because of the embedded chip, and it did work.

Overall, then, we got plenty of good food to eat, with truly outstanding service, and so we highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Je Me Souviens Restaurant also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Je Me Souviens Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Je Me Souviens Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.