We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very affordable and safe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Seagull on the Bund Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Seagull on the Bund Hotel to your Saves list
The Seagull on the Bund Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.60 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #343 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 229 Reviews
Olanta, South Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Very affordable and safe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed here with a group of Americans on a study trip at Thanksgiving, 2006. We felt very comfortable and safe at the Seagull. Our visit was to examine educational practices of Chinese schools and community centers. The entire stay was 4 nights. All was clean and comfortable in the spacious rooms. We didn't eat here except for breakfast which was reasonably Western in content. There are Tai Chi performers outside on the plaza that is just outside the breakfast room. The views are superb--the Bund and skyline are spectacular from this vantage point. All plumbing was working well and easy to decipher.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for staying at The Seagull on the Bund Shanghai. We are delighted that the hotel met with your expectations. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Shanghai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    108
    47
    23
    14
See reviews for
17
39
15
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I just got to this hotel and it will be our one an only night. The hotel is old and the staff is rude and NOT helpful at all. The rooms are incredibly small, old, and ugly! They are in really poor state, the bed is hard, you get the feeling of being sleeping on the floor, makes you wonder why do they even bother to put something that I wouldn't call a bed. We booked this hotel by mistake, and seriously it was a HUGE mistake, the bathroom has a leek suuuupeer annoying, they DONT have WiFi! How can they call themselves a 4 star hotel! I try to get us an upgrade, and the ladies from the front desk just said that they were full, on a tuesday? They gave me the impression that they just didn't want to help us out... What kind of hotel refuses to give their guests an upgrade! We were willing to pay...
The TV doesn't work, our window view couldn't be worst. This hotel has made my first visit to Shanghai a living HELL. DONT STAY HERE. 4 stars??? The only thing I would give them is an ending point.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and I would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience during your stay with us. This should definitely not happy and I have addressed these issues to the department heads and associates. Please accept my sincere apologize.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I never know that I can get a very nice view room with a very good price here!
We had a riverview room facing The Bund and Pearl Oriental Tower.

The Bund is just a walking distance and if you plan to have a cheap trip around Shanghai, you can opt for a CitySightseeing bus at The Bund area.

The receptionist here can speak English :)
Room is very clean and decorated in European style.

I will definitely come back here again!
Very good deal!

Room Tip: Ask for a riverview room, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We appreciate your recommendation of the Seagull on the Bund as the choice hotel to stay, and we certainly look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Nothing wrong with the hotel room at all. Clean, efficient and professionally-run place, at a reasonable price considering the proximity to The Bund (10-minute walk). If you're a photographer the views are pleasant enough, but windows that don't open fully mean you have to shoot through some dingy windows if you want to get a decent angle.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments and it is good to see that our hard work is paying off. Please do contact me whenever you plan to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Chose this hotel and location for the value and the views. Shanghai itself was a thrilling experience as I tried to keep everything on a Budget. Since I arrived early, I walked from Nanjing East to the Bund, and took that all the way to the Seagull. You can see it on your left and side approaching the Bund and notice the older style building compared to other buildings in the vicinity. The staff is plentiful in the day but they lack urgency to help or assist or to be friendly. Customer Service lacks here! The great part is that the room and views of Pudong and the Bund is fantastic. It makes up for the rudeness of the staff at the Bell Desk, the front desk, and concierge. Ive always felt safe here and having couple of convenience store across the street and down the road is needed to get water, snacks, and drinks. The views at night along the River is a must!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing The Seagull on the Bund and your comment! We will strengthen the rectification of the quality of service, and strive to provide guests with quality service and experience. We look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Very happy with the location of the hotel as it was just around the corner from the wonderful sights of the Bund.
We did not have a river view which you should ask for when booking but did not care about the view as we could experience the Bund first hand. Of course the view would be preferable but not essential.
This hotel is,on face value, ok with good sized rooms. However our bathroom had large areas of rust around the bath which was very offensive for a so called good hotel. Toiletries selection very good. Breakfast is nothing exceptional but adequate.
Hotel is certainly in need of a complete refurbishment but is ok for the price considering the location.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view as this can make up for the Hotel looking tired.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki C, Director of Sales at The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing The Seagull on the Bund and your comment! We will strengthen the rectification of the quality of service, and strive to provide guests with quality service and experience. We look forward to having an opportunity to serve you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here for 6 nights in June, when on a business trip.
Room was fine, good selection of toiletries in the bathroom. Comfortable beds. 2 English speaking channels on the flatscreen TV. The building itself shows signs of wear and tear here and there, but overall fine. Breakfast not very good. The best thing about this hotel is the location. It is right on the Bund, with fantastic views of the Bund. Easy to get to the various places in town, taxis are right outisde. Staff very friendly and helpful. I am considering this for my next trip to Shanghai.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Seagull on the Bund Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seagull on the Bund Hotel

Address: No.60 Huangpu Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200080, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
#192 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Seagull on the Bund Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Seagull on the Bund Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seagull On Bund Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Seagull on the Bund Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.