We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Quality/Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baoan Hotel

Save Saved
You added Baoan Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baoan Hotel
No.800 Dongfang Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200122, China (Lujiazui)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #396 of 3,734 hotels in Shanghai
Genova, Liguria, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality/Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good & clean hotel nearby a shopping center with several restaurants. 10 mins taxi away fm Pudog - Lujiazui. Quality/Price excellent.On average staff gentle & kind. Spent there 10 days . i was on a biz trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    45
    21
    5
    1
See reviews for
2
2
Solo
0
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Clean rooms, nice lication, close to Pudong Airport (about 40km), not very efficient staff so chech-out takes time. I recommend for bussiness travel. Also price is not very high for center ofShanghai.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have stayed for 4 nights in this 4 star hotel at a very good rate. It was my first time in China so I can't compare it to other hotels in Shanghai. However, for my standards, it is a very decent hotel, clean at a very good location. Room had a medium size, with a basic mini bar a good selection of tv channels. Wifi was not available in the room, but you could connect via an ethernet connection. So not so bad anyway. At the loby area you could have wifi for devices like mobiles and tablets. The personel was very polite and with good english skills.

The breakfast was also quite basic. Not a big variety, however the fact that you could had scrumbled egges station was good.The hotel has a small gym, a sauna facility and a Karaoke bar. You can reach the "Bund" by walking but make sure it is not a very hot and humid day because it is about 45 minutes away.

Across the street there is a big mall with many restaurants and that is very convenient. You can find local cuisine, korean, japanese, western even burger king and Costa Cofee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I booked excecutive Floor and they put me there but did not offer any excecutive service. When i asked they told me i m the only guest on the exc. Floor so they cannot open the lounge etc. So they charged me but no service. If they would have told me when i checked in i think it would be not problem but charging me for 2 nights and get me normal floor service is very bad. So i left for the Supreme Tower Hotel around the corner. Also the breakfast is very poor at the BaoAn.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

This hotel does not leave memorable memories, but for the price I paid, around 80 euro, the quality/price ratio was excellent. It's located very close to Intercontinental hotel in Pudong area, in proximity to some nice and expensive shopping malls. Breakfast is modest but, again, it was included in price so no complain. Internet is available at a charge but I often found it very slow. There is a gym opposite the restaurant but it looked a bit depressing and almost always empty. If you are on a budget it's an excellent choice but don't forget to negotiate the price as the initial quotation was the same ad the luxurious Grand Melia hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

Nice hotel, good gym and spa, nice coffee place nearby

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Comfortable hotel in a reasonably convenient location - near the # 2 subway line in Pudong- across the river from the Bund and downtown Shanghai. Reasonably large and well appointed room, comfortable beds and standard amenities. Plenty of hot water and good water pressure. In room internet charges are by the minute. Good air conditioning and room ventilation.

Breakfast buffet is good and served in a pretty atrium area complete with Koi pond.

For those who need US food chains, there is a Starbucks around the corner and a Burger King across the street.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baoan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baoan Hotel

Address: No.800 Dongfang Road, Pudong New District, Shanghai 200122, China
Location: China > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#81 Spa Hotel in Shanghai
#367 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Baoan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baoan Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baoan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.