We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious apartments on nice location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Harbour Service Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added New Harbour Service Apartments to your Saves list
New Harbour Service Apartments
3.5 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments) (Yu Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 3,976 Hotels in Shanghai
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Spacious apartments on nice location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The rooms, although a bit boring, are clean and spacious. We had some troubles to ask for a fourth bed but after that was arranged we had a good stay. Breakfast is good and enough western choices including omelets etc. The swimming pool is large and gym enough. Location within 5 minutes walk of subway and 1 hour with moderate traffic jam on both airports.

Room Tip: Let goed op bij vragen om extra bed als je met vier bent, denk aan keukengerei als je wil koken
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    285
    54
    16
    7
See reviews for
206
65
32
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Location proximity to see sights,use Metro, walk to restaurants is well situated. Building is 3 Star. Front desk struggles with English. Safe and secure. Groceries close by. Kitchen is not stocked at all...not even any cutlery! That said, there are oodles of places to get quick food for breakfast (yogurt, fruit, breads, cappuccino , latte), lunch and dinner within 2 blocks! Super place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from elevators. Hallways smell of smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The New Harbour Service Apartments are a great value in overpriced Shanghai. The apartments are newly-renovated and spotlessly clean. We are a family of three (couple and 13 year old child) and we were able to stay comfortably in a 2-bedroom apartment. Everything worked well -- A/C, TV, Wifi, hair dryer, microwave, refrigerator, etc. There's a laundry room in the building but it's not cheap (almost $10 to wash and dry a load). The location is very convenient. There are plenty of restaurants, convenience stores and grocery stores in the area. There's a subway stop right down the block. 10 minutes' taxi ride to Yu Yuan (also called Cheng Huang Miao) and walking distance to Huai Hai Road. Also not far from People's Square and the Bund. This is the ultimate in value accommodations in Shanghai.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasir Ris, null, Singapore
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We stayed in this one bedroom service apartment for 3 days. The apartment is very spacious, clean and really looked like a home with fully equipped kitchen which include microwave, large fridge, kettle and sink. Over in the living room there's a dining table with 2 chairs. The sofa in front of tv is very comfy. The bedroom comes with a queen size bed. The mattress is hard and I find it's good for my back. It's reasonably priced. The location is near a halal restaurant, within 3 mins walk and it is easy for Muslim people. Nearby the apartment, there's a row of small shops selling fruits, eateries, clothing, etc. Only not so good is the apartment opposite this place where their local people are staying. You can hear them shouting all the time. It's a bit noisy. The location is also quite close to Shanghai Museum and other shopping centres. Even though it is quite a distance, but we managed to walk to the Bund.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times.We stayed for 5 days in July to end our four years of living in China. It is well located, well priced and very comfortable. We stayed in a 3 bedroom, plenty of room for our family of five. The girls swam in the pool several times a day as it was quite hot. We walked to the Bund, People Square, Nanjing walking street, Nanjing Road fake markets (580 Nanjing Road) and YuYuan Gardens. Rooms are spacious and clean with comfortable beds.

Room Tip: Higher floors are very quiet. Ask for non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Beautiful view on the upper storey, the room was clean and very spacious.
The hotel is conveniently located near the Nanjing road, and not to far for a walk to The Bund.
We really enjoyed it, positive experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I stayed at the New Harbour serviced apartment for 4 nights. It was initially difficult to find but was very centrally located and we walked everywhere from there. The apartment was basic but perfect for a family, spacious and clean. It was very well priced. We didn't pay for the included breakfast which didn't seem to be good value. There was an ATM in the foyer which is handy. the pool area was not glamorous but fine for a quick swim. I would most certainly stay here if I was to return to Shanghai.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Yu Garden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#111 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#168 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Harbour Service Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.