We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Harbour Service Apartments

Save Saved
You added New Harbour Service Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
New Harbour Service Apartments
3.5 of 5 Apartment Hotel   |   No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments) (Yu Garden)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 3,560 hotels in Shanghai
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“GREAT value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

2 couples & an adult & a baby, this is not like luxury apartment but very clean & practical and offers what a family travel needs. The 3 bedroom apartment comes with 2 double rooms & 1 single room, both the common bathroom and the master bathroom comes with a bathtub. It's convenient to have a washing machine in the apartment when travelling with a baby. The location is great, apparently this noodle shop across the street is actually a local favorite, shopping malls at Huaihai Zhong Lu is just 15 minutes away by foot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    269
    53
    14
    7
See reviews for
173
61
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was a gem of a find, around the corner from the famous Shanghai shopping street "Huaihai Road" and within walking distance to other attractions such as Yuyuan Garden & Nanjing Road, and train stations. The local streets are also filled with cheap and authentic Shanghai cuisine and many convenience stores. The apartment itself was clean, modern, very spacious and being on the 24th floor, we had a fabulous view of Shanghai City so we saved ourselves a trip up Pearl Tower. The apartment floor we were in was a "no smoking" area which is a huge relief from the smoking that was pretty rampant everywhere else (including indoor places). The buffet breakfast was good and the swimming pool was fun for the kids. The gymnasium was also well equipped.

Definitely would recommend it to anyone visiting Shanghai.

Room Tip: High floors great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed for one night and booked a very roomy one bed apartment. The location is good (all my business meetings were within a 10 - 15 mins walk from the hotel) - with easy access to the city's efficient subway system. The apartment itself was starting to show its age (except for the brand new kitchen and modern bathroom), but nothing fundamentally wrong with it. Wired internet connection worked fine (no wifi). Decent enough gym. The price I pad was very reasonable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Spent 6 days in Shanghai weather was great sky was blue.
We arrived in Pudong airport and made it through customs around 9am without a hitch. Spent an hour in the airport working out how to get to the hotel. After talking to a helpful person at the metro help desk took the metro train on line 2 to Peoples Square and changed to line 8, one stop to Dashijie station, up escalator out through exit 2 turned left exiting out on Jinling road, 3rd street turning left into Yongshou road and we were there! Easy to say and do without dragging 2 heavy cases LOL.

Anyhow we checked in early around 11am and were given room 701. The room turned out to be a little low for a view so we asked to be moved to a higher floor, which was accommodated by the helpful desk staff with a move to room 1501. Both floors were supposedly non-smoking floors although unlike the earlier room 1501 it smelt like a smoking lounge. We complained to the helpful desk staff once again and housekeeping fixed the issue with a quick spray of air freshener. Well this really didn't fix the problem but luckily we were able to open the window (swing out type) which made the room bearable after half an hour or so. We did not bother to complain about the smell again which stayed with us for the duration of the stay as we did not want to loose the view if we were to be moved again.

On a brighter note during the move we inadvertently left a diamond ring on the bathroom sink. We were relieved to find out that it had been handed in, thanks to the honest cleaning staff :)

On the whole the apartment was good value for money, and positioned very well for sightseeing. If you are looking for a swanky hotel with porters and room service this place is not for you, but if you are happy to go down to the pastry shops and restaurants located in the streets below and have terrific food cooked in front of you from the street vendors this is a great hotel.
For checking emails on our smart phone, wireless internet was available in the lobby where there was a couch or two to sit on.
A laundry service was available in house or for better value in the back streets not far from the rear of the hotel; there is a laundry in a shop front. The cost of a full plastic bag of clothes washed and ironed cost 130rmb ($20 AUD).
One breakfast was included in our room charge so the breakfast manager allowed us to use our date stamped vouchers on the same day hence skipping breakfast on alternate days.
Things to do; Era acrobatics show was awesome, must go to the top observation deck of the Shanghai trade centre (bottle opener). For an unusual present go to Tanzifang.

In closing we were happy with the hotel and the location was great as it was close to the metro.

Room Tip: Higher the better. Some rooms smell of smoke even though they are non-smoking rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Had built some expectations based on reviews read earlier, so I was a little disappointed.

The apartment was of decent size, but seems a little old and dusty. The air-conditioner looked really old too, and was not cold enough. The weather was cool when we were there in October, but I felt really warm in the apartment. So i'd imagine it must be really bad in summer!

Not all cabbies knew the place too, even with precise address (I speak fluent mandarin), so I'd imagine it might be a bit tricker for foreigners who don't speak mandarin to find the place. It can be quite dark at night too.

As this is a service apartment, and not a hotel, don't expect too much help from the staff, in terms of luggage or with tips around the city. I didn't find them very friendly or helpful.

Also, wifi was available only in the main lobby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Great hotel , very good value for money
Not in the center but a short ride by the metro to everywhere you need to be in shanghai .
A family with 2 children can take the 1 bedroom apartment one child can sleep on the sofa and one on an extra bed
The hotel is newly renovated and very clean and comfortable
Will stay here again when in shanghai
Only complaint - no wifi in the room

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

The appartments are in themselves acceptable, clean and with great views. Be certain to check and confirm your booking before you arrive. We booked five months before our holiday and on arrival were told we had no room. Eventually (after several hours) we were offered an upgrade which turned out to be quite nice, however two days later we were ordered to move into a room of the class we had booked. No problem you might say but this was after a full day sightseeing at about 21.00. I asked if we could move in the morning. The answer was simple NO.
We were at no time offered an apology for the inconvenience.
To sum up. Good location but very poor attitude and crap customer care.
I hope this may be of use and save you the same problems.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Harbour Service Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Harbour Service Apartments

Also Known As:
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Shanghai
New Harbour Serviced Apartments Hotel
Address: No.88 Yongshou Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200021, China (Formerly New Harbour Serviced Apartments)
Location: China > Shanghai > Yu Garden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#44 Family Hotel in Shanghai
#124 Business Hotel in Shanghai
#210 Best Value Hotel in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — New Harbour Service Apartments 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully combines the elegance of hotel living with the comforts of home. this apartment-style Shanghai hotel offers a refreshing respite from the flurry of activities in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your New Harbour Service Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Harbour Service Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.