We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel, modest prices, excellent value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Metropole Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.180 Jiangxi Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #560 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 136 Reviews
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Budget hotel, modest prices, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is not a luxury hotel but it is excellently located and priced at about 1/3 the cost of similarly located, more up-market hotels. We stayed 3 nights at a room on the 9th floor. The package included breakfast, hard wired internet and a fruitjuice/soft drink complimentary minibar. The room was clean and well appointed with excellent lighting and a small but adequate bathroom with good hot water, nice new, clean linen and plenty of good quality toiletries. Breakfast was average, but if you stuck to cereal/eggs/bacon/toast ypu could start your day very nicely. Staff were friendly, tho the usual shy, nervous attitude of local staff had to be overcome with some friendly greetings and conversation. We arranged a taxi to the A/P and got a very nice , clean taxi with an excellent driver. For the budget traveller, with reasonable expectations, the Metropole is the genuine article, I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher quality rooms on the upper floors appear to offer good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    59
    43
    15
    11
See reviews for
18
17
17
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bat Yam, Israel
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Been there for a week. The hotel have 2 advantages: nice look from outside and central location.
Rooms are big, but very dated and not clean. Beds are rock hard as every place in China.
Cleaning is limited. No wi-wi in rooms. Service is not friendly.
Bund is close by as well as a shopping street Nanjing don lu

Will not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I and my family found this hotel is very suit for us. It's just walking distance to the majorshopping street and also the bund.

We stayed here for 5 nights and found our rooms were well cleaned and looked a bit modern than in the pitures.

Breakfast: My package didn't included it, but it you walk only 1 block up from hotel to the bund, there will be couple for local restaurants at the corners. Those are sanitary though.''

If I'll come back, I'll choose to stay here. Recommend!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanpur, India
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a day in Shanghai. The location is perfect with the Bund area very close. The main shopping area of East Nanjing Road is also closeby. The down side is no conceirge facilities in the hotel and the rooms are dated with not so clean carpets. Since i was there only for a day hence for me it was the best option. Though had problems locating the hotel from the metro station.

Room Tip: See if you can get a bund facing room on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Davao City, Philippines
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel location is superb. Everything you need is at close proximity. A 24-hr convenience store is situated right across the road. Nanjing road, the Bund, Custom House, and East Nanjing Station is all 5-10mins walk away from the hotel. There is also at least 3 bus stops for the Sight seeing bus (30RMB for 24hrs hop on hop off) close by. The hotel also has a very safe "Left Luggage" section where you can leave your bags if you plan to go to another city or have a late flight. On our return stay from Zhangjiajie, I mistakenly booked the wrong date and we arrived very late at night a day before our booking. Vivian (front desk) was on duty that night and she was really helpful to accommodate us even with the mistake. She speaks perfect English as well. Yes the hotel is a little outdated but all the basic necessities are there. Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goyang, Gyeonggi-do, South Korea
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Well this was my first stay at this hotel.This place has the best convenient location for the 'very-first-time traveler to Shanghai' like me. Walking distance to Waitan and East-Nanjin metro station was so so convenient. Famous travelling spots, such as Xintiandi or Taikanlu, all close by Line#10. And, though this hotel located near by the main street, it was quiet and you might can hear a pear of a bell from the bund. I'm not sure it always rang out, but i heard at 7a.m.
I stayed in a single room. Television didn't work and hair-dryer wasn't equipped (available on request at the reception!), the temperature control didn't seem to work well for both the room and the shower. It has a bath tub, seems not clean.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I booked a deluxe room from the 18th to 22nd October. The photos on the websites paint a far better picture of this hotel than will be experienced. My room (and the whole hotel) had the air-conditioning dissabled even thouth the temprature was 25 deg. Celcius , when I asked reception why they said it was hotel policy for that time of year and not to worry " just open the windows", yes there are plenty of windows, however there are also plenty of moscuitoes which kept me awake at night. The traffic noise never ends as the taxi drivers passing the hotel are very fond of using the car horn all times of day and night. The big clock on the bund chimes on the hour and every 15 and 30 minutes all day and all night, making a good nights sleep impossible unless you are a very heavy sleeper.Expedia did not indicate on their website that there was no air-con during certain times of the year, otherwise I would not have booked there.

The reception staff are not at all friendly, the carpet in my room was forming waves and very dirty looking, shower water pressure was not good either, however the room was otherwise acceptable.

On the positive side the location near the bund is good. There are a few good restaurants nearby (Grandma's) and a great bar (Captain Bar) with excellent view of the bund skyline and river located on the rooftop of the Captain Hostel, which is just a block from the Metropole towards the bund on the right.

I enjoyed Shanghai and will go back again but I will not be staying at the Metropole next time !

p.s. Its a huge city so make sure you get your destinations written in Chinese for the taxi drivers as they don't speak english.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: No.180 Jiangxi Middle Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200002, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #560 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropole Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful art deco hotel opened in 1934 and we apologize to you since we closed her in 2014. The hotel will be totally renovated on the inside and in 2016 rise again as the flag ship of the new Jinjiang MetroPolo mid-scale Hotel brand. In the meantime may we recommend you to the new boutique MetroPolo Classiq Hotel Off Bund, 98 East Nanjing Road; make your reservation from July 1st 2014.Please come by and see us. We will let you know when this glorious hotel can reopen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanghai Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.