We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and good value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greek Taverna Milos

Greek Taverna Milos
PuDong New Area Fang Dian Road 1188 Nong, XiMaLaYa Center 1-4 b1 Floor 151-148a, Shanghai, China
021-60470510
Improve this listing
Ranked #578 of 12,561 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Good food and good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Pudong location behind Radisson Blu Century Park hotel
Good service, reasonable prices.
Food was not fantastic but good by China standards.
Great moussaka and lamb kebabs
Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not so great experience at the Greek taverna (Thumb Plaza location)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My wife & I had read good reviews of this chain of Greek restaurants in Shanghai that we decided to try it. We went to the Thumb Plaza location (199 Fangdian Rd) and our experience was not very positive. This was a Sunday afternoon, great September weather and the place was empty. This should have been our first clue. We ordered Gyros and appetizers, only to be told they had no pita bread. Imagine a greek restaurant without pita bread. We said OK, as they offered rice instead. However, we were disappointed with the main dishes. The chicken was dry and over cooked. It appeared it had been cooked for a couple of days. The pork chop was average.

Maybe we picked the wrong date or the wrong location, but based on our experience, we are not coming back to this location. This chain is part of the Enjoy Shanghai list of restaurants so we thought we'd have a decent meal but instead we were underwhelmed by the quality and freshness of the food. Our advise is try other greek restaurants or try a different location. Hopefully your experience will be better.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

This restaurant serves delicious Greek food and wine. The staff is nice and friendly.
I've heard complaints of slow service but we were served quickly every time we've gone.
The food is very tasty and aromatic.
The wines are reasonably priced. The portions are smaller than I expected, but it's enough food. Don't you worry. You'll be stuffed.
The lamb is good, as is the seafood.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful piece of Greece”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Conveniently located on a pedestrian mall, you may dine in or out. The dining room is charming, service is attentive, nice wine selection with good prices, and the lamb chops are to die for! We will return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great chain of Greek restaurants in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Several restaurants in Shanghai including one near the fabric market and one in the French concession.

Very good quality food, pleasant ambiance with very Mediterranean style decor. Some venues even have outdoor terraces where you can dine.

Not cheap compared to local food in Shanghai, but very well executed food and good service, good variety to Chinese fare so would recommend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greek Taverna Milos also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Greek Taverna Milos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greek Taverna Milos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.