We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They don't know customer service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of New Century Hotel Shanghai

Save Saved
You added New Century Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Century Hotel Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1111 Liyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200081, China (Sichuan North Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,153 of 3,738 hotels in Shanghai
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“They don't know customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This hotel is not as cheap and the service is not good. They charge you to use their internet wifi and then they tell you it is 1 yuen per minute and when you want to stop using it they don't know how to deactivate it so they charge you as if you had used it the whole day.

Their English sucks and they are not able to help you.

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in CHINA!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
14
10
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Positives: Location in the city, hardly 10 minutes drive to city center, and Nanjing Street, etc. Very friendly staff, Spotless clean room and toilets, Close proximity to the subway and public transport was speedily arranged by hotel staff, The best feature I liked was the most comfortable bed!
Negative: We were 2 colleagues travelling together but were given rooms in 2 different floors for which we had to change left from lobby level to go. Becomes inconvenient. Another point which was disappointing was the breakfast, though the hotel provided with quite a lot for choice but labeling wasnt done properly and with a vegetarian travelling with me, it became tough to understand. The breakfast staff was somewhat confused which made the matters worse.

Overall: Value for Money, close proximities to all local amenities, markets, public transport. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We spent three nights in this hotel and we had a pleasant stay. The room was big and clean and was situated in one of the top floors of the hotel, so we had a great panoramic view. The breakfast in the morning was good and wide.
The location of the hotel is about 30-40 minutes walking from downtown, and not so far from the TV tower and the Bund.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

My husband and 2 kids stayed in New Century for 7 nights, the word "New" is very misleading. The lobby smelled like smoke due to cigarettes, the carpet in the hallways were very dirty, and the bathroom had mold in the corners. The breakfast buffet was average and definitely was not something you would want to eat for 7 days straight. The bed was rock hard.

The location was o.k. if you are looking for something that's not city center, its a five minute walk to the subway or the bus stops which makes convenient if you are looking to save some $'s by staying a bit out of the city center.

One or Two nights in this hotel is bearable but anything over i wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2009

The grand lobby does not live up to its promise. Breakfast was a total shambles on a busy morning because of lack of seating, poor quality food and even worse service. It gave a glimpse of Communist era attitudes. When I asked where the spoons were, a woman behind a counter just pointed to the middle distance. The bread and pastries were stale.
The rooms were fine, but the broadband internet cost 100 yuan a day- far too much. many good hotels provide free internet in rooms.
Our clients reported very poor room service in terms of waiting time and food quality.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

This review is part of our tour of China which we booked and arranged through China Direct (www.chinadirect-travel.co.uk) and travelled during 12th to 26th October 2009. Part of the package was that we always had a tour guide and taxi at our disposal, were met at all our destinations, transported to hotels and also then picked up and taken to points of interests, railway stations and airports. Not knowing any Chinese, we found this service absolutely brilliant in a country where English is not widely used or conversation is extremely difficult in the majority of situations.
The Best Western New Century Hotel, 1111 Liyang Road, Shanghai is most certainly a very good 4 star hotel in our opinion. We have stopped in many 4/5 star hotels all over the world and think 4 stars is well justified in this case. We were given room 2803 on the 28th floor which was spotlessly clean roomy, comfortable and hand a good view over the city.
Some of the negative comments I have read about this hotel make me wonder if these people are on the same planet or even stopped at the hotel I am reviewing. Do they expect every country to be the same? Do they want beefburgers and lager for every meal? I’ll agree there is a McDonalds within 50 yards of the main entrance to this hotel if you wish to use it - but better still just across the road (a further 50 yards) is an excellent Chinese restaurant, where we had really good meals on two seperate nights. The staff don’t speak English but the menu is comprehensive, is also in English and they will not like to accept tips. If you take a five minute stroll up the road there are hundreds of shops an array of different restaurants and all sorts of interesting sites to feast your eyes on.
I think the majority of Europeans go to China to experience the culture and experience something different (we certainly did) if you try to make conversation, have a smile on your face then you will find the Chinese to be extremely friendly with and fantastic sense of humour and you finish up having a great laugh with them, even though you are the butt of the joke.
We never ate in the hotel other than breakfast, which once again was extensive with everything you could imagine, (very similar to all the hotels we stopped in), only complaints I would make would be: 1. that they would not do an omelette or scrambled eggs but you could get as many fried/boiled eggs as you liked. 2. Could have done with a few more staff to clear tables and re-set them as at times it gets busy.
Also, we never used the bar facility as we would rather eat and drink elsewhere as I’m sure most travellers already know that hotel bar prices are always much, much more than a normal bar or supermarket prices.
We found the hotel to be modern, spotlessly clean in all the public areas and all the staff to be courteous, polite and efficient.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Century Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.1111 Liyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200081, China
Location: China > Shanghai > Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#249 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Hotel Shanghai 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your New Century Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Century Shanghai
Best Western Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Century Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.