We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, nice breakfast, so so room: still a Bestwestern, for better or worse” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New Century Hotel Shanghai

Save Saved
You added New Century Hotel Shanghai to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Century Hotel Shanghai
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.1111 Liyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200081, China (Sichuan North Road)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1,156 of 3,740 hotels in Shanghai
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good location, nice breakfast, so so room: still a Bestwestern, for better or worse”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Book the hotel in the last seconds. It's now under the Bestwestern brand, which is supposed to be a high-end luxury 4 star hotel in Shanghai (BW also have a couple of 5 star hotels in China). The price is not bad but through a friend's company. Walk in price would be twice as much. The location is pretty good. It's located not right at the city center but 2-3 subway stops away. Itself is about 5 minutes walk to the Hailun Lu station for Line 4 & 10, a great advantage. Line 10 directly goes to the HongQiao airport.

The lobby is grand, like many other 4+ star hotels in China. The elevators are fast and higher floors have dedicated ones. The rooms are of good size including a regular sized bathroom. The room is pretty quite and the curtains keep the room dark even in the afternoon. The room is relatively clean except for the carpet, which is typical for Chinese hotels.

The breakfast is amazing. Definitely a 4+ star level buffet.

The good part ends here, unfortunately.

First, the internet is wired and cost 100 yuan/day, that's more than most US 5-star hotels rates.

Secondly, the beds and bedding are the worse than any 3+ star hotel in US, at least those I stayed.

Third: the gym opens at 10am and there's no pool.

The service is okay and its staff speaks good English. It also have shuttles goes to the subway station and a few other places nearby (I didn't use it).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    31
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
14
10
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

We call before book the hotel online, ask room reservation if the price include the breakfast, they told us yes, when we checking in, the front desk also confirmed its included, tell us just show the key before breakfast.
When we go for breakfast next day, they told us that breakfast is not included, we ask the front desk, they said our room do not included breakfast, we have to pay for that. they do not care what the customer say, money seems is the most important. they have plenty of reasons.
Very poor service. Liar hotel.
Is that the BEST WESTERN HOTEL management?

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocomoke City, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

The New Century Hotel was centrally located in the nothestern part of the city. Very easily reached from Metro Line #4 Hailun Rd. After getting off the subway use exit #7, hotel will be almost directly across the street on the left. Entrance to hotel is down Li Yang road. The hot buffet breakfast was great with eastern and western style food. There was an ATM in the lobby that exchanged virtually any type of currency into Chinese, with a fair exchange rate and no fee. Rooms were clean and comfortable, with everything a regular traveller would need. We had some difficulty paying with a Best Western Gift Card, but it all worked out. Some language barriers at front desk if you do not know Chinese, but they were most accommodating. Metro stop across the street made it easy to get anywhere in the city....cheaply, kiosks are in English.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

Arrived at hotel in the evening and walked into the lobby through a cloud of smoke. The people at the counter could speak little to no English. I asked where breakfast was and was directed with a point of a figure. We went up to our room and two lightbulbs were out and the shower was super tiny. The bed was like a rock and the floors were dirty. The room has an overall mildwe smell. I attempted to log on to the internet, but had no success so I called downstairs and was told they could not help. Needless to say, I checked out within 30 minutes of check in. I have stayed in numerous 4 star hotels in China and this was by far not a 4 or 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

This hotel is not as cheap and the service is not good. They charge you to use their internet wifi and then they tell you it is 1 yuen per minute and when you want to stop using it they don't know how to deactivate it so they charge you as if you had used it the whole day.

Their English sucks and they are not able to help you.

Worst hotel I have ever stayed in CHINA!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2010

Positives: Location in the city, hardly 10 minutes drive to city center, and Nanjing Street, etc. Very friendly staff, Spotless clean room and toilets, Close proximity to the subway and public transport was speedily arranged by hotel staff, The best feature I liked was the most comfortable bed!
Negative: We were 2 colleagues travelling together but were given rooms in 2 different floors for which we had to change left from lobby level to go. Becomes inconvenient. Another point which was disappointing was the breakfast, though the hotel provided with quite a lot for choice but labeling wasnt done properly and with a vegetarian travelling with me, it became tough to understand. The breakfast staff was somewhat confused which made the matters worse.

Overall: Value for Money, close proximities to all local amenities, markets, public transport. Will definitely come back

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We spent three nights in this hotel and we had a pleasant stay. The room was big and clean and was situated in one of the top floors of the hotel, so we had a great panoramic view. The breakfast in the morning was good and wide.
The location of the hotel is about 30-40 minutes walking from downtown, and not so far from the TV tower and the Bund.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New Century Hotel Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Century Hotel Shanghai

Address: No.1111 Liyang Road, Hongkou District, Shanghai 200081, China
Location: China > Shanghai > Sichuan North Road
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#249 Luxury Hotel in Shanghai
Hotel Class:4 star — New Century Hotel Shanghai 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your New Century Hotel Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Century Shanghai
Best Western Shanghai

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Century Hotel Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.