We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to sleep, but not much else” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shanghai Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shanghai Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.505 Wulumuqi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #399 of 3,843 Hotels in Shanghai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to sleep, but not much else”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in this hotel as part of our excursion to Shanghai, and it was a good value for what we paid, but I wouldn't say it's anything above average. The room was very spacious and quite clean, with there being plenty of room in the bathroom as well (a welcome change from European hotels). The cleaning staff was very friendly and quite courteous, but they were the exception unfortunately. The front desk/concierge had no maps of the city, nor could they access the internet from their computers to provide guidance/insight to any tourists traveling outside of a large group (as we were). The breakfast was mediocre, and the service staff in the breakfast room seemed upset that they were there/at work.

Some benefits (other than the room)- free wifi in the lobby area, which was pretty fast. Additionally, there were no problems grabbing a taxi if needed, and the Jing'an Temple stop was within 10 minutes walking distance. Again, some kind of map would have been helpful, to help non-Chinese speaking guests.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    112
    78
    19
    4
See reviews for
15
30
23
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in October. It was an unplanned stopover due to a large bungle by our travel agent in Australia. Check-in was not a problem and we found our way to our room quickly. It was clean and with ample area to put our luggage. The shower was large enough for us and also very clean.
We decided to have a late lunch and travelled to the top of the building where a restaurant was located. This was a mistake. Not only was the food poor but the service was the worst we have had anywhere. The young waitress spoke no English and was very busy either texting on her phone or trying to beat her personal record on some game that had been installed into it. A roll of her eyes and a look toward heaven was what we received when we dared to ask for a fork to eat with and this took some time to convey to her. The only time anyone took any notice of us was when we got up to pay and even then there was an argument about who might work out the account. Very expensive it was too for what I am sure was cold leftovers from yesterday. Needless to say we didn’t go back.
The reception staff did the best they could with the limited English they spoke but it became a stressful affair if we required anything other than check in and check out and again there was no tourist information in the foyer area. We tried to ask about tourist information but gave up and found the good old hop on, hop off bus stop located not too far away and we went from there.
Aside from the odd fight between the taxi drivers out the front of the hotel it all went well.
Breakfast was plentiful and there was a good variety of Chinese and western food and sometimes it was warmish. I should point out that the breakfast area was not in the same area as the restaurant on the top of the building and I am not sure if that was even a part of the hotel. I would like to think not.
The hotel didn’t seem to be located near to anything other than a temple and to be honest I would not be bothered returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Earn, Perth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a pleasant hotel which we stayed in for 3 days as part of our "Highlights of China Tour" with Travelsphere. Very central for our excursions each day.

The hotel was kept very clean could you could see it was in need of refurbishment.

The only meal (which was included in our stay) was breakfast.

A fair selection of food but alas the plates were cold and the food only luke warm - so it soon was cold as well,

Beds firm but linen on them top quality.

Staff at reception were helpful with information.

You get a better deal exchanging Stirling in the hotel than in U.K.

Room Tip: Never mind a good room ask for a fried egg at breakfast -at least it will be hot !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days as part of a group tour of China. Our room was comfortable enough but plagued with the lingering smell of smoke which is so common in Chinese hotels.
The food was a bit hit and miss. Items which ran out at breakfast took an age to be replenished and sometimes didn't get done at all. The tea and coffee were lukewarm at best.
We had one meal there in the evening which was just about passable. It was served on a 'lazy susan' and there wasn't enough food to go round all those seated at the table. Many of us missed out on several dishes and requests for more food didn't produce any response.
Lots of choice of hotels in Shanghai so unless you are on a group tour, I would look elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked this hotel as it is in the walk distance away from a hospital we need to pay a visit to. It claims to be a 4-star hotel and I am sure its location in the old Shanghai city, the park and villa view and the cleanness of the room are living up to the standards. However the hotel manager may have set up some wierd rule -- eg. one room key for one ID card, which means, if I want to check in and ask for two keys, I need to either take my wife's ID with me or have to go to get my wife's ID.

The doormen are well dressed, which is good, but they don't mind speaking very loudly. I asked once for a taxi but the doorman "gently" pointed me to the road nearby and said there are plenty of taxis on the road. I was expecting he woud go out and bring in a taxi for us. Ningbo food on the first floor was another disappointment.

This hotel is exactly the typical state-owned hotel. If you can be tolerant of the above, it is a very good choice for a) the location; b) the price, US$160 for executive room; c) the cleanness of room and floor.

Lastly, don't forget to try Sophia's Private Kitchen around the corner. And travel with the assistance from AmyExpress private chauffeurs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Very old and shabby hotel, especially the lobby. The staff and the concierge don't speak any english and are very timid with foreigners to say the least. Or perhaps the communist spirit is alive and well in this ancient hotel. The area has nothing of entertainment value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
543 reviews 543 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 178 cities Reviews in 178 cities
287 helpful votes 287 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed three days in 2005, my wife became addicted to the noodles for breakfast, personally I found the buffet amazing and put on weight.
Dine in the restraunt below for a great evening with the local Chinese who treated us as honoured guests.

Room Tip: Again ask to see the room prior to accepting, the first we saw had many mal functions in the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanghai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Hotel

Address: No.505 Wulumuqi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 3,843 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanghai Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shanghai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;