We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel - food cold” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Hotel

Save Saved
You added Shanghai Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shanghai Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.505 Wulumuqi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #366 of 3,790 hotels in Shanghai
Bridge of Earn, Perth
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel - food cold”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a pleasant hotel which we stayed in for 3 days as part of our "Highlights of China Tour" with Travelsphere. Very central for our excursions each day.

The hotel was kept very clean could you could see it was in need of refurbishment.

The only meal (which was included in our stay) was breakfast.

A fair selection of food but alas the plates were cold and the food only luke warm - so it soon was cold as well,

Beds firm but linen on them top quality.

Staff at reception were helpful with information.

You get a better deal exchanging Stirling in the hotel than in U.K.

Room Tip: Never mind a good room ask for a fried egg at breakfast -at least it will be hot !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    110
    73
    19
    4
See reviews for
15
30
21
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of days as part of a group tour of China. Our room was comfortable enough but plagued with the lingering smell of smoke which is so common in Chinese hotels.
The food was a bit hit and miss. Items which ran out at breakfast took an age to be replenished and sometimes didn't get done at all. The tea and coffee were lukewarm at best.
We had one meal there in the evening which was just about passable. It was served on a 'lazy susan' and there wasn't enough food to go round all those seated at the table. Many of us missed out on several dishes and requests for more food didn't produce any response.
Lots of choice of hotels in Shanghai so unless you are on a group tour, I would look elsewhere

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked this hotel as it is in the walk distance away from a hospital we need to pay a visit to. It claims to be a 4-star hotel and I am sure its location in the old Shanghai city, the park and villa view and the cleanness of the room are living up to the standards. However the hotel manager may have set up some wierd rule -- eg. one room key for one ID card, which means, if I want to check in and ask for two keys, I need to either take my wife's ID with me or have to go to get my wife's ID.

The doormen are well dressed, which is good, but they don't mind speaking very loudly. I asked once for a taxi but the doorman "gently" pointed me to the road nearby and said there are plenty of taxis on the road. I was expecting he woud go out and bring in a taxi for us. Ningbo food on the first floor was another disappointment.

This hotel is exactly the typical state-owned hotel. If you can be tolerant of the above, it is a very good choice for a) the location; b) the price, US$160 for executive room; c) the cleanness of room and floor.

Lastly, don't forget to try Sophia's Private Kitchen around the corner. And travel with the assistance from AmyExpress private chauffeurs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

Very old and shabby hotel, especially the lobby. The staff and the concierge don't speak any english and are very timid with foreigners to say the least. Or perhaps the communist spirit is alive and well in this ancient hotel. The area has nothing of entertainment value.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
529 reviews 529 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We stayed three days in 2005, my wife became addicted to the noodles for breakfast, personally I found the buffet amazing and put on weight.
Dine in the restraunt below for a great evening with the local Chinese who treated us as honoured guests.

Room Tip: Again ask to see the room prior to accepting, the first we saw had many mal functions in the bathroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Country
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Nice entrance to the hotel, and you can walk to a small park only 5mins, turn left out of hotel. If you walk further, as we did then you can walk all the way down Nanjing street and onto the bund, you can always get the metro or a taxi back.

Room was nice, clean, although the smoke smell was still there, as with all hotels in china it would seem. The disappointment was the breakfast, the food was cold, the room was freezing the air con was like a gale force wind. The fruit, cereal and yogurt was good and that it about all I ate. If you don't like spiders and cobwebs do not check out the floor or corners of the room, not too big on cleaning here. Other then that it did the job for a couple of nights towards the end of the trip, if I was to return I would not stay here, but try to stay a litle closer to the bund. Although you can walk to the acrobats show, and there is a buddist temple within walking distance.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seatte
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed in this hotel twice. Both times, my rooms were nonsmoking. The second room was quite shabby compared to the first with a frayed and dirty carpet. The beds were quite hard. My even number room was quiet, but my odd numbered room had a lot of traffic noise. The included breakfast was fairly diverse, and palatable if not great. The location was nice, adjacent to the French quarter, where there are lovely bakeries and good coffee.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shanghai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Hotel

Address: No.505 Wulumuqi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #366 of 3,790 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanghai Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip DaoDao, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Shanghai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.