We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never been in a hotter hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanghai Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Shanghai Hotel to your Saves list
Shanghai Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   No.505 Wulumuqi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China (Jing'an Temple)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #369 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
3.5 of 5 stars 266 Reviews
Melbourne
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Never been in a hotter hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I know that Chinese people do not like the cold too much but they sure jacked up the heat in this hotel. We used to carry a jumper and coat with us until we got to the lobby, then pulled them on just as we walked out the door! Admittedly it was winter so it was cold but wow was it hot in the main lobby and halls of this hotel.
The rooms were good, a tad above small and under medium! Very comfortable, not the usualu hard as heck bed but a medium hard one. Internet was good but expensive, bathroom was quite large, clean and fresh.
Breakfast, as is the want in class hotels in China, was quite excellent. Still no good with coffee though :).
The mini bar rates are about 25 times the going rate that you can buy the same items for locally. Just walk across the road to the little convenience store and 600ml coke is about $0.15cents Aussie, as opposed to a 350ml can in the room at $5.00 Aussie!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    123
    87
    23
    4
See reviews for
16
34
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed here on business for 6 days. The hotel is well situated in central Shanghai and Taxi fares were minimal to anywhere in the City. The Hotel is a little tired in places and if you stay at the back of the hotel beware of the early morning call at 5.30am. The Hotel that backs onto this hotel empty the glass bottles into a bin and even though i was on the 17th floor it still woke me every day. The Reception staff not very helpfull due to the lack of English being spoken. Duty Manager caleed Jeff was excellent!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

Of the 5 hotels I stayed at in China, this one is by far the worst. I'm not one to see things on the negative side. It does serve it's purpose as a place to sleep at night......that's it. Its' good days are by far gone and some renovation could definitely brighten things up here (new carpets, wall paper). The rooms are ok but the bathrooms are extremely small. Low water pressure in shower. Free breakfast buffet is very poor. Run out of fruits, toaster that takes no less than 5-7 minutes for a toast, soggy hashbrowns. No Wifi in hotel. Cleanliness of lobby bathrooms is poor. I wouldn't stay here again and advise you to find a better alternative.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mernda, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of our tour. I would not say here again. The location was good, but that is all that is positive about this hotel. Check in was o.k. as we were the only ones (hubby and myself) around reception at the time. The room was just yucky. The walls, carpets, curtains and furniture were just filthy, dirty stains on the chair's upolstery, marks over the walls. The whole room needs a good makeover, strip it and start again. When my husband was checking out 1/2 way through attending him, the receptionist left him to deal with a chinese man, then once she finished with him came back to my husband. No time for Westerners. Breakfast was o.k. if you wanted cold food, baked beans, eggs, etc all cold. As I said nothing positive about this hotel apart from the location, check out other hotels in the area if you can, we couldn't because of it being part of the tour. Oh yes, one more thing,buy yourself a pair of earplugs you'll need them

Room Tip: One word - DIRTY -
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

This is a nice hotel!
The room was fairly large with a huge king-sized bed...really massive!
I had a comfortable shower with hot water and nice ammenities.
I was surprised at the cleanliness and quality, a very good hotel, and
not a bad value at 598rmb.
English level of staff is okay...not great...however,
I recommend it for the location and overall quality.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2010

This is a state run hotel, and the staff speak little English and seem to have little regard for foreign visitors.

The rooms were a good size and had free wired internet (no wireless), this is China though so some sites such as Facebook and Youtube don't work (a VPN solves this problem if you can access one. The BIG problem with the rooms is the noise, the windows do little to keep the noise out, and the area itself is very busy!

The breakfast buffet had a comprehensive selection but the quality was poor, everything seemed to be cold and soggy.

Generally extras were a rip off, the business centre wanted to change 10 yuan per page for a print out (£1), minibar and hotel restaurants were similarly ridiculously overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

The stay at the hotel was good. The room size was decent but not big. The best part about the hotel was its breakfast buffet offering a wide variety of options even to people who are pure vegetarian. The hotel is located in a nice area and the best part for Indians is the presence of restaurant Tandoor in the close vicinity of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shanghai Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanghai Hotel

Address: No.505 Wulumuqi North Road, Jing'an District, Shanghai 200040, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Jing'an Temple
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #369 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shanghai Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Shanghai Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanghai Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.