We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service combined with Excellent Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goodfellas

Goodfellas
Waitan, No.7 Yan'an East Road, Huangpu District, Shanghai, China
021-63232188
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 12,686 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Service combined with Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This Italian restaurant in the Bund of Shanghai is a must for all those Italian food lovers! Gio is an exceptional host and her personal touch along with her bubbly personality makes the dining experience exceptional! The goodfellas salad is highly recommended and the freshly made pizzas were excellent! Definitely worth a visit in Shanghai!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    95
    17
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Faultless.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

A wonderful meal. It's a shame I have to come to Shanghai for the best Italian food I have ever had. Very reasonably priced in a very expensive neighbourhood and wonderful ambience. Unlike many places, you feel so at ease and no expense is spared in making the food.

You are a credit to Shanghai and the restaurant business as a whole!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Exceptional dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were cynical of whether we could find good Italian food in Shanghai, given our exposure to Italian food in Melbourne. We were very happy with the quality and taste, amazing food, good sized portions, fresh and cooked to perfection. The ambience of the restaurant was superb, just the right amount of tables, the right hustle bustle that makes you feel at home. We had an Australian shiraz followed by an Italian red, both were very easy on the palate and great with the food. Staff were warm and welcoming. There was no one smoking which is a rarity in China, so that added to our joy. But above all, the highlight was the maitre d, Gio,who turned a pleasant meal and evening into a great experience. This is what differentiates a good restaurant from a great one. And Goodfellas is great! We will be back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best Italian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Small restaurant directly across the street from our hotel--Waldorf Astoria. Owner is super friendly! From Italy! Please, please get their lasagna. You will never, ever in your lifetime have a better lasagna! All their dishes are great but their lasagna is to die for! Enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cosy ambience with attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Gio has a very good personal touch, she almost able to master your appetite to recommend the food that fit you. The food are very good for both myself and my guest. The menu and wine list are so comprehensive, you would not really able to find it in Shanghai which comes with reasonable price, some more at the Bund area. The restaurant deserves its praises at TA, I will certainly come again and recommend to others.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goodfellas also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Goodfellas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goodfellas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.