We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mexico Lindo

Mexico Lindo
Unit 39, Lane 3338 Hongmei Lu | Hongmei Pedestrian Street, Shanghai, China
021-64659336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #716 of 12,499 restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: Mexican
Description: This is an excellent Mexican Restaurant in Shanghai. It is located in a popular expat area of the city.
Restaurant details
Description: This is an excellent Mexican Restaurant in Shanghai. It is located in a popular expat area of the city.
Shanghai
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

到目前为止我吃过的最好的墨西哥菜啦,非常的好吃,新鲜,分量也刚好哦。我听说墨西哥人有个说法“看看... Next time i will have to try Maya. I have heard it is good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    2
    6
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Visited this restaurant while in Shanghai and it is a fun time! The band is fabulous and they like to karaoke with the guests. The crowd if very fun. If you're American, I think you will enjoy. We have friends living in Shanghai and they took us for dinner; they are regulars there. We had a great time!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and margaritas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We always return here as we get great service, food and good value on drinks.
The girls are always friendly, food is tasty and good selection.
They usually have live music, so this is nice combined with a drink or 2.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Avoid Mexico Lindo's "Taco Tuesdays"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We live 1.5 hours away from Hongqiao, so it was kind of a big occasion for us to make the trek out for lunch at Mexico Lindo. Was expecting a gigantic feast for their "88rmb All You Can Eat Taco Tuesdays" promotion. Instead, what we received was soggy soft-shell tacos with just a few morsels of meat sprinkled in. NO beans, NO rice, NO lettuce, NO salsa, NO cheese.

So for our next platter we ordered the fish tacos. Again: NO condiments inside the taco shell, only a few dry chunks of grilled fish meat mixed with some parsley. Disappointed, we pointed to the savory picture in the menu of a taco dripping with cheese and beans. The waitress inquired with her manager, then informed us that the tacos only look like that if you order it as a main course meal. The promotional "all you can eat" tacos are, apparently, a totally different variety of food at Mexico Lindo. Avoid!

Conversely, my mates ordered the 65rmb lunch set burritos and were greeted with big fat burritos, which they seemed to enjoy. Nonetheless, these also contained absolutely NO cheese: either Mexico Lindo are skimping on an expensive ingredient or the chef ran out of stock that day and thought we wouldn't notice. I know Chinese don't like cheese, but to foreigners this is an essential and vital ingredient in Mexican cuisine; please don't try to cheat us!

What was nice was the free and unlimited chips and salsa - something Cantina Agave doesn't offer.

3-stars down the middle for Mexico Lindo, nothing special and not worth the long trip out to Hongqiao for.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I totally love this place, tasty and filling food, yummy drinks. It's not pretentious at all, so keep it in mind if you are planning sth grand. Mexico Lindo is a perfect cafe to spend some time with your friends while enjoying nice drinks. By the way, Wednesday night is ladies' night so Margaritas and other cocktails for free!
Live music after 8 p.m.
P.S. The waiters understand and speak English.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexico Lindo also viewed

Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
 

Been to Mexico Lindo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexico Lindo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.