We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the excitement came slowly , steadily and lasted !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   111 Pudong Road (S) Pudong, Shanghai 200120 , China (Lujiazui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #1 of 3,974 Hotels in Shanghai
duesseldorf
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“the excitement came slowly , steadily and lasted !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Whenever you travel to Shanghai, you expect to live in the 80tth floor with a killer view to future down-town. Well - arriving at the Mandarin felt a bit lit disapointing, since the building is not high at all.
But already at the reception you meet some of the lovliest people who welcome you to the hotel. The Mandarin has just opened - so I expected some typical "start-up-problems", but hey - everything worked to my highest satisfaction. The hotel feels cozy, homely and the staff knows you by your name within 1-2 days.

Intresting was, that you feel cozier and cozier from day to day. It might have to do especially with the well-thought through rooms. They simply thought about everything. You can operate the TV easily (certainly you have experienced those other remote controls that require a 3 months driver license before being able to operate watching CNN news).
They do have multi-country plugs - so yes American, European, Brittish electronics all are entitled to receive the juice from the wall. The desk has a variety of plugs to enter the entertainment system, TV etc with your own electronics. And the best thing: the master OFF switch is a real master OFF switch. 90% of all hotels in the world either dont have one or pretend to have one...once pressing it...there is normally always one or zwo lights still on ...normally its always the light in the hallway and that freaking floor lamp (which always comes without a switch). Instead of crawling along the cable lines for 20 minutes...in this hotel its simply that one big OFF buttom. All I am saying is: function is perfect. THANK YOU, HOTEL !!

The highlight is the giant bath tub ... it must be good for 600 liters of water ... it can take an hour to fill it up, but it was the place I came back to take a bath almost every night. I normally never take baths - I am more the shower type of a guy. Even the bath tub came with a water-repellant TV remote contro that was swimming in the bubbles and replaced easily the rubber duck.

The club floor, the meeting rooms - it was all up to expectation. The place was very much in the centre of the city and despite the missing height of the building - it was a great place to stay.

Room Tip: view to the TV tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    455
    53
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
60
120
35
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Sophia and I truly enjoyed being pampered by the legendary MO service and luxury facilities.

We started at 12:00pm at Fifty 8 degree restaurant filled ourself with juicy steak and a class of Italian wine at lunch, following by relaxing massage at tranquil ambience of spa.....after the treatment we spent hours in the relaxing lounge drinking warm tea enjoying the view in the garden where all the Bamboo trees in front of us, feeling peace and content with our mind:) by 5:00 pm we swim to enhancing our energy in the stylish contemporary designed swimming pool:).

At last, we cannot resist to pamper ourselves spent a little money going home with few shopping bags, great body product and MO spa bathrobe, the quality of the material has a very soft touch to our skin:), so we remember this luxury journey at MO Pudong each time we were the bathrobe:).

A true sanctuary of luxury and relaxation journey ! Strongly recommend to choice MO Pudong on your travel list for both business or residence to stay! Rebecca Herbst

Room Tip: Majority serviced apartments and hotel rooms are facing Hang Pu River, so, book and request, so easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Incredibly comfortable rooms. Beautiful restaurants, pool and spa. Great service. This is the place to stay. One of the best hotels in the world. Each day of my stay the staff found another way to make my day special. Service so good, even my jet lag was erased.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the hotel twice with our 2 kids on our recent trip. The hotel is spectacular with several five star restaurants, spa, gym, swimming pool, cake shop and above all the unparalleled service by the staff. All the meals were spectacular as well. We have never ever received this level of detailed service at any other five star properties. The staff took care of minute details for our family needs, especially kids, so we would feel comfortable.

We truly enjoyed our stay both times and will remember it for years to come. We want to thank the staff for accommodating our requests and taking extra special care of us.

You have raised the bar for others to match. Way to go!!!

We will surely be back.

Room Tip: The river view is great as well as the city view. We tried both during our 2 visits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Pudong, Director of Communications at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear NarulaM,

I’m glad to hear that you have had a wonderful time with us and have been impressed by the legendary services rendered by our colleagues. Meanwhile, we very much look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Shanghai and to our hotel again. Thank you and take care.

Yours sincerely,

Selina Chan
Director of Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had the opportunity of staying at the Mandarin Oriental Pudong during the week on business and then again on the weekend with my wife on pleasure. Both stays were fantastic - The property is stunning, service is impeccable and they hotel is definately raising the bar for 5 star service in Shanghai. The spa and pool is a MUST visit! Super friendly and can do attitude of the staff was very refreshing and made a huge difference to a hotel stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Pudong, Director of Communications at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear AmanGupta1976,

I’m delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. Meanwhile, we would like to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Selina Chan
Director of Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

An oasis. Unparalleled level of thoughtfulness. Great communication between staff from the top down. Everyone is well informed and well trained; even the guard in the parking lot who pointed us in the direction of a lovely walk. Everyone smiled, looked us in the eye, and asked to be helpful when appropriate. We felt at ease, we felt relaxed, we felt taken care of.

And, to be honest, the experience felt singular particularly because it was happening in Shanghai, a city that strives but regularly falls short in the service department. Often there is a missing link or um, ten, but stunningly not here.

Craving a drink we had years ago at the MO bar in New York, we casually asked a staff; soon thereafter the head of F&B came us. We had a pleasant chat with her about delicious cocktails. That evening at dinner the wait staff of Fifty 8 Grill were well informed of our preference for cocktails and appropriately thoughtful in their recommendations. Later, the talented bartenders at Qi Bar presented us with the Asian pear based cocktail we asked after. They had been testing recipes all afternoon to great success.

Our butler Sally tended to us with grace. There was a small issue with our room’s air conditioner during a routine test of their fire alarm system, but instead of marring our stay, the issue further proved how graceful the MO Shanghai team is. The on duty manager Viki fixed our problem with speed, courtesy, and know-how. There was no hesitation in her thoughtfulness.

Delicious Chinese food at Yong Yi Ting, traditional, worth the price, flavors lead by the ingredients not oil and MSG. Well-sourced steak and fresh sides at Fifty 8 Grill. Comprehensive room service menu and good delivery for breakfast. Dirty martinis at the Club during cocktail hour.

The pool is beautiful, well ventilated. Their gym is spacious, well equipped. The sauna and changing rooms relaxing, clean, with a good flow.

Apart from their sub-par oatmeal (easily forgiven!), what a memorable weekend we had.

The team at MO Shanghai should be so proud of their work. They are empowered to lead with thoughtfulness and at every turn this proves successful.

Room Tip: pearl tower suites lovely for longer stays in particular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have been in this hotel last week and I must log in to rave about this excellent hotel in shanghai. It may be the best serviced hotel in shanghai, actually it must be. The service is just flawless and truly mandarin oriental level. I have been stay in Peninsula, Ritz-Carlton, Waldorf and Park Hayat in shanghai before, to be honest, only this hotel provides service that matches international five star level. Actually I was quite surprised by such brilliant service because I am Chinese and I didn't expect them to treat me like foreign customers, this may sounds weird, but it is true in shanghai, some five star hotel just treat differently between local and foreigners, for example, Ritz-Carlton is really bad in this way.

So, if you want to experience truly friendly staff and brand new hotel facilities, definitely go for mandarin, it is as good as the ones in Munich and London. They also have welcome pastries in the room which is really delicious.

However, the location may be a bit hidden.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MO_Pudong, Director of Communications at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear happy goose l,

Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review about your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai. We are delighted that you compare us with the best hotels in Shanghai and we are truly humbled by your kind comments. We are pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay and your kind comments about our team are truly motivating and crucial to our ongoing success. We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental Shanghai in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Selina Chan
Director of Communications
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai

Address: 111 Pudong Road (S) Pudong, Shanghai 200120 , China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > Lujiazui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3,974 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai 5*
Number of rooms: 362
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the east bank of the Huangpu River, amidst the dramatic skyline of the Lujiazui financial district, Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai redefines luxury waterfront living in Shanghai. With an unrivalled location, legendary service and world-class facilities, the 362-room hotel and 210 fully serviced executive apartments are poised to become Shanghai's most desirable address. The hotel features 318 spacious guestrooms and 44 suites and is also home to the largest and most expensive Presidential Suite in Shanghai, spanning 788 square metres with a sky garden terrace and magnificent river views. The 210 luxury furnished apartments - from studio to three bedrooms - are Shanghai's only fully serviced riverside residences, and are designed to offer the ultimate in luxury and comfort. Chef Richard Ekkebus of the two-Michelin starred Amber at The Landmark Mandarin Oriental, Hong Kong, will preside at the hotel's Fifty 8° Grill, and Shanghainese celebrity chef Tony Lu will be at the helm of Chinese restaurant Yong Yi Ting. All-day kitchen Zest, Qi Bar, Riviera Lobby Lounge and The Mandarin Cake Shop complete the essential dining options for business and leisure. The Spa at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai offers guests Mandarin Oriental's renowned signature therapies and advanced beauty and holistic wellness treatments within a soothing Zen oasis. Additional recreational facilities at Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai include a fully equipped Fitness & Wellness Centre with a Kinesis wall and Maya Fit virtual trainers; a 25-metre indoor swimming pool; and a thermal bathing facility. The hotel is also perfectly placed for exclusive meetings and conferences in Shanghai. A selection of multi-functional event spaces includes a Grand Ballroom hosting 500 guests, an Oriental Ballroom for 250 guests, plus eight versatile meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Ctrip TA so you can book your Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental Pudong, Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.