We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Luxury Place for Dimsum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wei Jing Ge at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund

Wei Jing Ge at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund
No. 2 Zhong Shan Dong Yi Road Waldorf Astoria Club 5F | Huang Pu District, Shanghai 200002, China (The Bund)
021-63229988
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #413 of 12,496 restaurants in Shanghai
Price range: $0 - $250
Cuisines: Chinese, Dim Sum, Seafood, Shanghai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Bund
Aalborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Perfect Luxury Place for Dimsum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We're dimsum lovers, so we thought we would like to give this one a try. They had an all you can eat special on weekends. It was quite expensive though, I remember it was around 200 something plus tax, and not include drinks, and the tea itself cost around 60 yuan plus tax. So at the end we spent 500+ for a dimsum lunch, so it was quite expensive, but it was also really good. The place is very cozy, not crowded as normal dimsum places (no wonder why). We ordered the normal lots like xiaolongbao, the shrimp dumplings, siumai, blackbean ribs, wonton, and some others. They all tasted really good, but at the end, it was a bit too expensive to be put as our regular place to go.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    7
    6
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb dim sum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Located in the wonderfully restored old building of the Waldorf Astoria Shanghai, I found this place by chance when browsing thru SmartShanghai for a brunch place.

Ambience: Reminiscent of a Chinese village home, with a modern twist. Comfortable, but families with kids can be noisy (reminds you of a dim sum place ambience)

Service: Superb. The wait staff were professional, offered prompt refills, plate changes, polite, and very obliging. Spoke very good English. They were also very polite to the locals

FOOD: I was here for the dim sum brunch. Innovative dim sum selections on-side with some old classics. Whilst the Siu mai (pork dumplings) were very average, the rest were great. I especially loved the Cod fish with nuts dumpling- melt in your mouth cod with a unique combination of black olives and pinenuts.

The prawn dumplings were also divinve, as was the fine cod-fish congee.

Another fantastic item to note was the sea duck-egg custard tart. I alone had five of these. The egg custard was unlike any other, combined with the flakey pastry...yummm

Finally, dim sum isn't good without quality tea. The jasmine tea I had was very good, although at a price of 48 Yuan.

Will I go again? In a heartbeat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Not so healthy...waste of money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant is on the attic of the Waldorf Old building on the Bund, but there is no view because all windows are in the ceiling. We ate there because we arrived late to Waldorf, and did not know where to go. The restaurant is huge but we were the only people there except for the table of 3 drunk russian businessmen shouting all the time. Fortunately there are isolated cabins in the restaurant where we moved.
Actually it was better to remain hungry. The food was all in fat and oil the fresh scallops appeared to be minced and mixed with flour. Aubergines were all soaked and saturated with oil. The fresh fish was all in fried fat grey colour the airplane food quality. Even Chinese vegetables were overoily.
We paid more than 200 us dollars for two, including two glasses of house-wine.
The worst Chinese restaurant on the Planet.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Shanghai brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

If you'd prefer tea to champagne and dim sum to pork and eggs, this is a hidden gem in the Shanghai branch world. Wood-panelled old school ambience and delicious food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a mistake”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The hotel was so nice that we decide to try the Chinese restaurant. What a mistake ? Service, food and price were all terrible. The supposedly fresh grouper came from the freezer. The cold dishes were worst than street food but at Waldorf price. The rest of the dishes were just so so and the service despite the rest. was less than quarter full was slow. We finally got our rice after we were almost done. DON'T EVEN TRY. There are better food around the corner at 3 and 5 on the Bund.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wei Jing Ge at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund also viewed

 
Shanghai, China
Shanghai, China
 

Been to Wei Jing Ge at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wei Jing Ge at Waldorf Astoria Shanghai on the Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.