We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with a capital L” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund to your Saves list
Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   No.19 Gong Ping Road, Shanghai 200085, China (The North Bund)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Luxury with a capital L”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

My husband and I finished our 3 week visit to China at the Banyan Tree. It's the best hotel we've ever stayed in. It's fairly new so the taxi drivers aren't familiar with it yet and there is a lot of building work going on, but it really didn't affect our stay. Just make sure you take a hotel card with you to show the drivers when you want to return. The taxis are cheap as chips! The breakfasts are fab, service is attentive and the facilities are second to none. If I tell you that the toilet seat lifts itself when you enter the room - it gives you an idea of the standard! There is an enormous bath tub with a TV in the wall and a view of Pudong, which is an experience in itself! I can't recommend it enough! The Restaurants serve spectacular food and the rooftop bar Topps- serves great cocktails, with stunning views across The Bund.

Room Tip: All rooms have fantastic views and amazing facilities, the more expensive rooms are on the higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your nice comments, we are delighted to read that you like the hotel and enjoyed our services and facilities. Corner rooms with bund view and taking your hotel address card are definitely key tips to advice. Thank you!
We all look forward to welcome you back!
Best wishes,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    20
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
12
25
6
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Earlier I told that no one in clear mind will spend a holiday, especially a romantic vacation in Shanghai. I take my words back!
This time we did not manage to escape from Shanghai to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We decided to find a nice hotel and spend a weekend there, to change the atmosphere and have some carefree days.
We had two primary objectives:
• To have the Shanghai Pudong skyline view from the window(s)
• To have a Jacuzzi or a large bathtub
We found several possibilities, but everywhere was some “but”. Finally we visited the Banyan Tree, to see by ourselves that they have what we want.
WOW
The room we found fully fitted to our requirements. There are so-called “Romantic pool” rooms in the hotel. It is a really large room with an incredibly big panoramic window – you can see the river and Pudong – believe me, it is an awesome sight. Do not be afraid that the hotel is only 12 floors high. It stands in the first line and nothing disturbs the view. As I understood, all rooms overlook the river, and there are some of them which have a round view on the river and the Bund.
The pool is situated right in the room. This is incredibly comfortable and cozy. It is an around 3 meters long bathtub, wide enough and half a meter deep. Well, you can not really swim in it, but can get a lot of fun, especially if you are not alone. This is a unique opportunity to have an incredible rest in the warm water, watching night Shanghai, listening deep bass ship’s hooters and drinking wine.
We just spent a weekend without walking anywhere except some restaurants.
I have to say, Banyan Tree is not a hotel, it is a resort. This you understand from the first seconds being inside. Quiet, cozy and relaxed. Welcome drink, comfortable seats and courteous personnel. We really did manage to have a rest of Shanghai during this weekend in Banyan Tree.
The hotel has a large facility with a real swimming pool, spa, rooftop bar and restaurants of course. But if you once want to go somewhere do not forget to ask to call for a taxi. Friday evening it can be problematic, the city is busy. My tip is, if you don’t want to wait any more, just go outside, one quarter away from the river on the big street, Dongdaming. There you are a free hunter and your chances can be higher.
This part of the river side is already developed, but still very quiet and abandoned. You can nicely walk to the Bund from your hotel, it will take 15-20 minutes.
Some tips from us for guests:
Be prepared to speak with a taxi driver then you want to come back to the hotel from anywhere in Shanghai. The problem is that Haiping Rd is very small and drivers do not normally use navigation but only memory. Take a card on the reception to return easily.
If you want to have an excursion to Pudong side, do not lose your time and money in a taxi, be a bit local – use the ferry. It is 1 minute walk from the hotel and goes to the opposite side of the river every :00, :20 and :40 minutes. You can see it from your window from the left side.
Get familiar with the control system of the pool in your room first. It is very simple, but to avoid any worries during your stay just ask a maid to show you everything in the room.
And very important to notice: relax and enjoy!
Psss, laowais! It is the best internet in Shanghai in this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have the Shanghai skyline view. But my opinion is “higher is better”.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Dear value guest,

Thank you very much for your detail comments, we are thrilled to know you that you had a wonderful time and that you enjoyed your oasis room and our hotel facilities.

We truly hope you will enjoy many more wedding anniversaries with Banyan Tree!

Looking forward to welcome you very soon!

Best wishes,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENGLAND
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

1. The hotel is relative new I think it was less than a year's old by the time we stayed so all the facilities and rooms were new and nice
2. The view of Shanghai CBD was magnificent
3. A special mention of the big bath tub - it was such a blessing to be bathing with a view of Huangpu River and the CBD
4. The location was not the most convenient and it might be hard to be located by foreigners
5. The staff whilst very friendly, seem inexperience, although I do believe that they would get better with time

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your time writing your review, we are very pleased to read that you liked the hotel. We open our doors in October 2012, so its nearly 2 years old. We have noted your comment about the service, which we appreciate and we will take serious actions accordingly.

We all look forward to welcome you again, and we believe next time you will experience an improvement!

Thank you once again and all our best wishes!

Best regards,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We spent 5 nights at the BanYan Tree Shanghai in May 2014 after 3 weeks independently touring China. A Panorama Oasis with Romantic Pool Room had been booked and it was truly great until we saw the Gand Bund Suite the day after we checked in and upgraded immediately. This Suite is definitely worth staying in. Everything about it is superb from its location with spectacular views through to the design, furnishings, comfort, great space and light. The hotel staff were excellent in every way and could not have been helpful. The meals we had and the service in the restaurants were also excellent. The open Roof Bar is a great place for a few drinks in the early evening to watch the sun set and the lights of Shanghai come on. If we return to Shanghai we will definitely stay at the BanYan Tree again and we can strongly recommend it.

Room Tip: Corner suites are spacious, very light and sunny and have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Mr. Michael C.
Thank you very much for staying with us and writing your generous comments and advises for future guests.
We are thrilled that you had a great stay and we look forward to welcome you back, hopefully in the near future.
Best wishes,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The room was beautiful, most service staff tried to please except for a few gloomy looking ones.

Food at the Chinese restaurant was good, housekeeping did a really good job keeping the room really clean which is amazing given the size of the room.

A slight negative is that the swimming pool requires a swimming cap as part of the attire and the hotel sells it at an exorbitant price.

Overall, still a good impression of the hotel but would be looking at someplace else for our next stay. Just not enough positives to entice.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Value guest,
Thank you for staying with us and taking your time to write your kind feedback.
We are delighted to read that you had a nice stay and we have taken note about your comments of our pool regulations, which we will discuss again with our management team. We are very sorry for this inconveniences.
We all look forward to welcome you back, hopefully in the near future.
Best wishes,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potchefstroom, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We travelled China during June 2014 and ended our tour in Shanghai at the Banyan Tree on the Bund. What an experience..... from the professional services that picked us up from the airport to the staff that cleans and prepares our room for the night. The décor, design, layout, location, technology, amenities and service received was excellent. Mike Chi at the Concierge desk assisted us not only with information on what to do and see in Shanghai, but also with services that were not really expected from him - but still he exceeded our expectations. The rooms are so spacious and tastefully decorated with areas that can be relaxing with breath taking views of the Bund. The best view of Shanghai at night is either from your room or from the bar on the roof of the hotel. The closest metro station is approximately 150m from the hotel. I would gladly recommend this establishment to any traveller that wants to feel "special" and that does not want to be in the centre of Shanghai. Thank you ! We will definitely make use of the Banyan Tree Group for our future stays.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Value Guest,
Thank you for your time writing your review; we are all delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay and that you like the hotel. I have shared your generous comments with our associates, with a special mention to MIchael Shi our concierge.
We truly hope you continue to choose Banyan Tree hotels for your next holiday destination!
Best wishes,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Lovely New Year's eve celebration. Stayed two nights, brilliantly designed, huge rooms overlooking the Bund. New property. Everything was perfect! Keep doing the good job guys! I will come back for sure.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YvonneDeSuner, Manager at Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear Ms Hara K.,

Thank you for your reviewing our property! We are delighted to hear you had a good time in NYE, we truly hope to welcome you back soon!

Thank you once again!

Best wishes,
Yvonne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund

Address: No.19 Gong Ping Road, Shanghai 200085, China
Location: China > Shanghai Region > Shanghai > The North Bund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 3,934 Hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund 5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banyan Tree Shanghai On The Bund, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.