We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultraviolet the world top new restaurant in Shanghai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet

Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet
18 the Bund (Meeting Point), Shanghai 200070, China (The Bund)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12,460 Restaurants in Shanghai
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: The Bund
Description: Conceived by Paul Pairet for over 15 years and opened in May 2012, Ultraviolet is the first restaurant of its kind uniting food with multi-sensorial technologies in order to create a fully immersive dining experience. A single table of ten seats only. A dining room of high-end technology. A 20-course "Avant-Garde" set menu. All guests sit together. The experience unfolds as a play. Food leads. Each course is enhanced with its own taste-tailored atmosphere: lights, sounds, music, scents, projection, images and imagination... And food.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ultraviolet the world top new restaurant in Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ultraviolet, an experimental new restaurant opened in Shanghai by the French chef Paul Pairet, whose aim is to deliver a multisensory eating experience that goes beyond the mere taste of the food. Served in a dining room that more closely resembles a movie theater, with 360-degree video screen walls, surround-sound speakers and high-tech overhead lighting, each dish is accompanied by a carefully choreographed set of sounds, visuals and even scents, all intended to create a specific ambience to enhance the flavors of the meal.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    3
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels Belgium
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Having worked in the Hospitality industry and luxury Gastronomy all my life, I'm happy to say that I have had the opportunity to taste delicious food all around the world. Yet, Ultraviolet has been the absolute crescendo, the best gastronomical experience ever.
We have known Paul Pairet from his days at Jade 36 and were immediately fascinated by his skills and creativity. We followed him many times at Mr & Mrs Bund where Paul and Fabian continued to surprise us with incredible dishes and a great atmosphere.
We were waiting with them for several years for the opening of Ultraviolet and travelled from Brussels to Shanghai for the experience at table 102.
We were simply amazed about the best culinary experience ever and join the accolades of prior reviews.
Paul, so good to know you. You are the best!
Paul Tribolet
Former Senior Vice President, Food & Beverage Starwood Hotels & Resorts

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Its one full night of exquisite culinary fun ride...well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I'll spare the description of the experience, but suffice to say that it is an experience that excites your five senses. We had over 20 courses, and after every course, you are looking forward to the next course. From the presentation, taste, and smell of the course, all the way to the music, and images that accompanied the course is well choreographed and superb. Well worth it but you need to book way in advance!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Words fail.....sensory delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Everything written about this experience is an understatement. We had the honor of being Table 88 .... Very lucky # in chinese culture... No luck involved in the epicurean experience...all skill and preparation. Every detail has been thought through several times to approach perfection... Including impeccably professional service that deserves applause. Fabien, our host, guided us through the introductions of each service and participated with the serving team. Everyone was served simultaneously and presented with a map of the origins of the ingredients and the best method of experiencing the dish. An unforgettable, truly intimate sensory experience fusing sound, visual, taste and smell. The intimacy of 10 diners made it a "family affair" with strangers.
1) worth the wait (for seating to be available)
2) worth the ¥
3) worth the anticipation (exceeds expectations)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Unique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

What else can I say? Different from any other place, surprising, delicious, exquisite....
Worth the experience.
A night (6 hours!) to remember.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet also viewed

Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ultraviolet by Paul Pairet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.