We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com LuxuryCollection
and 9 more sites!
Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   12 Hengshan Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China (Hengshan Road)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
At least 20% off Suites
Ranked #23 of 3,560 hotels in Shanghai
Palm Springs, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel and would highly recommend it and will definitely stay there again. The restaurant is great for breakfast, but would not recommend it for dinner. The gym is nice and you get free wifi, except it drops as you move from one area to the next and you have to re-accept the terms and conditions. It was a pain, but at least it was free.

Room Tip: I was there on twice in October and one room had a view out to the exterior and one had a view with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review and feedback on your recent stay with us, we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have lived up to your expectations. Your compliments and encouragement will enable us to further motivate all of us here to continue to strive for higher and better stands.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Twelve at Hengshan.


Yours sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    32
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
12
9
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Beautiful architecture, the hotel itself is in a oval shape, a nice idea, but still not enough natural light. Being an oval also means one has to change lifts to get from rooms to restaurants and conference rooms. The left side of the hotel lobby (facing the check in desk), stunk like sewage though. Right side is ok though (was in room 331).

Incredibly huge rooms with nice esthetics. Free beer and soft drinks. Nespresso and tea making facilities. Washlet was a nice touch. The finishings in the bathroom is quite similar to the finishings used at most St Regis hotels; however, whoever was their contractor was could have done a better job so that plugs in the sinks don't leak or threatened to be loosened when one removes his/her charger. When I closed the bathroom door, one of the wood panels on the ceiling shifted and I can't reopen it fully. Minor stuff, but since this is the Luxury Collection, should have done better. The rest of the room is nicely decorated in modern minimalism.

Food is where everything falls apart. Before I came here, I had heard from two individuals who do not know each other that they got food poisoning after dining at the hotel. I stayed away from all uncooked food, but still had some stomach trouble. Having seen how the staff rolled out the food to the conference venue, I sort of realised why food safety might not be something that they are keenly aware of. I picked up a pretzel from the deli as a snack and that was so tough that I wondered how many days this baked good has been sitting on the shelf - I couldn't even pull it apart. That was a waste of RMB 22!

Service on the whole was not fabulous - staff will just tell you to go take the lifts on the right without indicating where they were exactly. And since the lifts are hidden (and there are no signs), I couldn't find it when I first arrived. Catering staff will just roll out their cart and make you make room for them as you cross the lobby or hallway - that was a bit shocking as I've never seen catering staff wheeling out their carts through the lobby.

We had drinks at the outdoors terrace on the 5/F one night. 30 mins after we've ordered our drink, and only after when two people had gone in and asked where is our wine and cocktails, were the drinks delivered. Apparently, they had to go back down to the 1/F to get the drinks!

Gym has nice equipment, but strange set up with some weights outside and some in a smaller room that was probably designed for private training. But air circulation in the gym was very poor.

I would probably come back here due to SPG points, but the Langham Xintiandi is definitely better value (if you don't mind the pink!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai.

First off, thank you for taking the time to send us the feedback and I would like to extend my apologies for the unpleasant stay experience that you have encountered during your recent stay with us, there is no excuse for the fact that we did not live up to your expectation.

I have looked into the matter and have begun retraining and coaching our relevant associates to ensure that proper procedures and standards are thoroughly understood and followed, your comments and suggestions will also serve as reminders so that similar instances will not occur in the future.

Again, please accept my apologies for the unpleasant experience and I hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to the Twelve at Hengshan.


Yours sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in late September. This is a second review of the hotel since I stayed here in April 2013 also. Rooms and hotel are nice - bathrooms are quite nice. Breakfast buffet and fitness are very nice. My only quibble on this stay was that I did not think the staff were as accommodating as my previous visit. Service was incredible in April, and I would say pretty good this time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for one night. Apparently this is a new hotel which was only open last Dec. The room was quite good and you get everything you expect and the pool is also good. Also the location is quite good.However I found out the hardware was not that great. First house keeping, the rubbish left by the previous guests were not cleaned , second the quality of food is just about average, third some staff is lack of training especially iro Gym and Pool. Having said that, the concierge was quite helpful. May come back again,

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

New Starwood property, trying to be a boutique hotel, but a bit too large to succeed. Lobby resembles an office building, and rather soulless, but luxurious and perfectly situated for subway station (next door) and booming Xu Jia Hua commercial and shopping district.

The hotel has a "boulevard" of shops, but despite being open for 10 months most are empty, adding to the "office" feel

Top floor (6th) rooms have nice courtyard feel.

Restaurant (Western on 6th floor) accessible only via separate lift in lobby. Reasonable food, standard hotel fare.

Will stay again, staff helpful but under training

Quite expensive for a "Sheraton" @ rmb 2300/night. There is good free wifi without password throughout the hotel.

The "Japanese intelligent toilet" is very good!

Room Tip: Higher is better, and balconies aren't much use and steal space from rooms, so no need
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed in September for a business trip. We had a conference at the hotel.The hotel arranged for the transportation from the airport. The driver called ahead when we were approaching the hotel so check in was a breeze, completed in the room itself. Everyone was very friendly and accommodating. The room was quite large as was the bathroom. I loved the coffee/espresso machine. The toilet was a trip as others mentioned, although I could not figure out how to turn off the heat. The food and service was very good. The breakfast buffet had several options to choose from accommodating all types of preferences for food. The only complaint was the wifi. I had troubles using it with VPN together. At the end of the trip I discovered hard wire accessories in one of the beautiful lacquered boxes that I could have used. During checkout, I realized that I had left my phone in the room. Someone was kind enough to go search for me without any issues at all, brought my phone down to me. Overall great stay.

Room Tip: rooms facing the courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai.

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your review and feedback on your recent stay with us, we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay and that we have lived up to your expectations. As to the problems you mentioned, our team will take effort to improve service and will provide you with a better experience when the next trip takes you back to Shanghai!


Yours sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This newly built low-rise hotel, about 9mo. old at the time of this review, boasts beautifully finished rooms with great comfort and gadgets. From a toilet seat hat welcomes you with open arms (no kidding, the lid just opens for your as you approach) to the JBL iPod clock (4 series compatible), to the surround sound from a great flatscreen Samsung, to the wonderful WiFi service free throughout, it made for a wonderful stay. Everyone went out of their way to welcome you. Specifically, i would like to recognize Virgina (concierge), and Frank from the front desk staff - keep up the great work!

As you head for breakfast, be sure to check out the outside seating area. Although service lacks, it's a wonderful retreat to start your day.

This location does not lack restaurant options. Whithin walking distance, and For a fun and western-like atmosphere, check-out Shanghai Brewery for a great beer (they had my Duvel - Belgian) and OK sports bar food.

This was a nice change from my usual stay at JW Marriott. I recommend you give it a try, it will not disappoint.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankBai, Manager at Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Greetings from the Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai.

It is such a pleasure to see your great review shared on Tripadvisor.com. We would like to express our gratitude to your compliments on our staff and facilities. Your compliments and encouragement will enable us to further motivate all of us here to continue to strive for higher and better stands.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Twelve at Hengshan.


Yours sincerely,

Johnny Mathis
General Manager
Twelve at Hengshan, A Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai

Address: 12 Hengshan Road, Xuhui District, Shanghai 200031, China
Location: China > Shanghai > Hengshan Road
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 3,560 hotels in Shanghai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in vibrant Shanghai’s cosmopolitan area, Twelve at Hengshan is surrounded by restaurants, cafés, boutiques, galleries, and restored art-deco buildings. Experience a haven of urban chic on the renowned tree-lined Hengshan Road. Traditional Chinese hospitality melds with contemporary amenities. Work out in our state-of-the-art health club, enjoy a refreshing swim in the heated indoor pool, be pampered in the spa, and savor authentic Cantonese and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Starwood APAC, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Ctrip DaoDao, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Twelve at Hengshan, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Shanghai to your Saves list