We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little oasis in big Shanghai” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Garden of Contentment (Yugarden)

Garden of Contentment (Yugarden)
No.137 Anren Street, Huangpu District, Shanghai 200010, China
021-63260830
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #15 of 839 Attractions in Shanghai
Type: Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A classical garden complete with period style buildings. The Garden was created by Pan Yunduan a Government Officer for his family finishing in 1577.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful little oasis in big Shanghai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Thanks to a great tour guide, we saw this amazing historical set of old Chinese buildings thoroughly but efficiently. The day was grey and drizzly, but we still saw some amazing stone carvings as well as the natural stone monuments the ancient Chinese valued so highly. A definite must if you want a taste of China before it became so industrialized and overcrowded.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    978
    866
    304
    40
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frydek-Mistek, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice complex of Chinese gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The garden is very nice place in the heart of Shanghai and you can see so many interesting buildings, secluded places and trees. This place is usually crowded but really worth it. The best time to visit is the morning before the travel coaches coming.
Recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaughan, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A jewel within old town of Shanghai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

The charm is forever there and intact despite of the ever increasing hustles and bustles outside. Good job the local government protecting this ancient, southern Chinese style garden dating back to 16th century. It is of typical southern Chinese style garden with ponds with gold fish, zigzaging cobbled paths and covered walkways and bridges through bushes, flowers and trees. Just fascinating. It is within easy reach of public transit such as subway and bus. it is walkable from the Bund, the waterfront of Huang Pu River filled with skyscrapers.Child's memory was vividly brought back for sure...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Fantastic few hours of beauty and greenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Yes, it can be crowded, but worth it - and much more than a garden, it's really the complete estate dating back hundreds of years. There are multiple buildings to see and acres of gardens, ponds and art. It was our first stop with our private guide and we're happy we had a guide, since we saw a great deal more than we would have noticed on our own.....the different types of architecture of the different dynasties, all the Chinese sayings that are incorporated into buildings and gates, all the architectural details that tell so much about old China and old ways of life. You'll get more out of it with a guide, but even if not, it's a beautiful introduction to Chinese traditions.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Very nice and quite place in the city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This garden is situated about 15 min walk from the bund. It is one of the most beautiful garden I have seen. It is better to go there with a guide p in order not to miss all the sights. There are a lot of tourists there but the roots are made so, that it doesn't bother. You should definitely spend several hours there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Garden of Contentment (Yugarden) also viewed

 
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
Shanghai, Shanghai Region
 

Been to Garden of Contentment (Yugarden)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Garden of Contentment (Yugarden), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.